Jae's Blog

Diorshow Extase Mascara + Canmake & Dolly Wink Mini Haul!

Posted in Canmake, Dior, KOJI, Makeup, Product Launch by Jae on February 8, 2010

Today’s post is super image heavy cause of my haul from Watsons! Was shopping a little at Ngee Ann City and Bugis today and somehow found myself there…

This has got to be my longest post yet! -laughing-

Update #1:
Dolly Wink RESTOCKED EYELASH CASES AND PENCIL LINERS AT NGEE AN CITY! GRAB GRAB GRAB! They’re completely out of #1 and #2 though. -kicking myself-

I finally caved in and bought myself the lash case! It’s 8.90 SGD and SO CUTE!

 

It’s just a pink plastic box with a print on it but I just had to have it, so there! -laughing- I debated with myself for two weeks before buying this! [Yay, my lashes have a home now!]

Update #2:
Canmake has a new display [and price] for their pressed blushes! Now at only 12.90 SGD each, you can buy as many as you like without breaking the bank! ♥ The offer will only last till 28 Feb, according to the staff! 🙂

Good god, it’s so pink, who could resist?! This picture was taken at Bugis’ Watsons but I spotted the exact same display at NAC that afternoon but because I had to rush off, I couldn’t snap pictures.


Check out the spin wheel! You have to spin the wheel with the little arrow to get to the blush you want. 

It’s their take on the classic blush sample display which I found it to be interesting but kind of irritating when the metal pans got caught in the cardboard groove and you’re in a rush to try the blushes out. 

Ah yes, the also released a new blush colour~ PW25. It’s supposed to be limited edition, by the way!

Didn’t get a picture of the swatch because swatches don’t usually show up on my skin. PW 25 is kind of orangey but pinkish at the same time. I can already see how easy it would be to overdo it because when I tried a small amount on my hand, it turned up a really bright colour. I’m still tempted, nonetheless, because it’s LE, haha, you already see the pattern don’t you.

Ah yes, PW-20. Don’t be fooled by how robust this colour looks in the pan, it’s actually a very very frosty pink. The metallic sheen is very obvious for this blush so it’s perfect for those girls who want a dolly look.

And oh! They’ve got the Nudy Glow lipgloss in #5 now! I didn’t manage to get pictures because there were people crowding around the display. I’m planning to grab #02 and #04… I might pick #05 up just to try though! It’s only 17.90 SGD now, down from the previous 19.90 SGD!

But yes, now, to my haul:

It’s their cream blush is no.5 [shimmery pinkish-orange, a little similar to NARS Orgasm but not quite] and their pressed blush in PW-16 [frosty orange]!

The cream blush was on 20% sale and the pressed blush is 12.90! 

I couldn’t resist the orange after seeing how the girls from Egg and SCawaii use it! I’ll definitely be doubling back to Watsons for more blushes though! They’re so darn cheap with the sale going on now!

Update #3:
I promised a review on Diorshow’s newest mascara so here it is!

The sample came is this nice silvery tube that is perfect for popping into your handbag on your way out because it’s so small! The packaging for their sample gets two thumbs up from me~~~

It has the Fairydrops Mascara wand, I call it, the bubble wand. It basically means you’ve got funky bubble-like humps on your wand that’s supposed to help with application.

I don’t really see a point in it honestly, other than it being a novelty. Some girls have claimed that it helps coat their lashes better but it didn’t make much of a difference to me. The wand head for this sample was kind of large and cumbersome too, so I had to be really careful not to hit my nose bridge while applying the mascara. I haven’t tried the retail sized version though, so I can’t comment on that 🙂

I coated my upper lashes in a horizontal zig-zag fashion with two coats of the formula to get this:

The formula is touted to volumize and does not contain any fibers in it so naturally, it doesn’t really lengthen. [Thank god. I hate fibers because they are hell to clean up and crap when they get into your eyes -shivers-

I had little clumps that I had to remove so I took points off but otherwise, it’s quite an ordinary mascara. [Yes, I’ve been through Canmake, Maybelline, Fibrewig, Majolica Majorca, Estee Lauder, Anna Sui and god knows how many others, and yes, I’m saying it’s quite ordinary for me.]

The good thing about this mascara is how light it felt compared to my usual Maybelline one but then again, whether or not that’s just psychological, I haven’t got a clue, so I’ll be trying this little one out again soon. [My beloved Volum Express, that I have been using in all my other EOTDs for lashes, usually kind of weighs my lashes down quite a bit so my natural lashes look a tad… Straight after application.]

Extase has pretty good staying power though! I applied it at about 11 plus before I headed out – Just a little earlier than when I sent my tweet out; which according to twitter was 11 hours ago. I left it on till about 11 plus and this was what it looked like. 🙂

-laughing- I don’t know about you but aside from the fading bottom liner, it doesn’t look very different to me.

During the course of my day, my eyes watered because of dryness and wasabe [Wasabe got up my nose. No, I will not try that again.] which didn’t make me a water-tap but it’s more tears that I would have normally produced and this baby stayed on strong. So it’s got my approval for “durability”.

edit: Top marks for durability. During a water tap session at the movies, this mascara stayed on strong and didn’t so much as bleed on me, my eyes looked perfectly fine when i stepped out, no one would have guessed I was bawling inside.

It was pretty easy to remove though, by the way. It didn’t cause as big a mess as my Maybelline…. A little more stubborn, but it came off with a little bit of rubbing with the Q-tip; then again, since I use Clinique’s Take The Day off so what isn’t?

♡♡♡ Diorshow Extase Mascara ♡♡♡ 

✔ Length: 3/10 [They’re just alright. Not lengthening, really.] 
✔ Volume: 5/10 [Nothing fantastic, comparable to my Maybelline Volum Express.]
✔ Ease of application: 8/10 [Nothing difficult about them, honestly. They’ve got an interesting shape though!]
✔ Reusable? Yup, till 4-5 months later [In my case that is]
✔ Economical? In my humble opinion, nope. It’s retail version is not very much larger than this sample and would burn a hole in a wallet. I’m sticking with my Maybelline. 

Verdict:
Nothing truly special aside from the wand [that I wasn’t impressed with] and “weightlessness” which I’ve got a sneaky feeling is because it does not give superior volume to begin with. 

If you’re big on waterproof mascaras though, this is definitely the way to go and it’s really great if you stay out for long period of time! It DOESN’T SMUDGE. OTL

As for me, I’m not a very big Dior fan, so there really is nothing there to make me feel compelled to pay a premium, really; and because I have no more money to blow, I’m passing on this for sure.

Hoo! That was a long post! Haha, hope you enjoyed it~! Spring heart soon!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Danielle said, on February 9, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Good wrap up… Love your blog 🙂 keep updaing! -likes-

    • Flitter Jae said, on February 10, 2010 at 4:59 pm

      haha!
      Hey Danielle~ Thanks very much! Do come back to visit soon!

  2. […] Dolly Wink False Lashes Case The review The verdict: YOU NEED IT! >_< It’s so cute, I have to go get me another […]


Leave a Reply

