Jae's Blog

BIORE Cleansing Oil Cotton Sheets

Posted in Biore by Jae on March 5, 2010

How long has it been since I last did a skincare item review? XD

I found this while out shopping for makeup removers at Watsons with my partner [Yes, I am a die-hard Watsons fan because they sell good stuff at good prices. Well, most of the time.] and while I understand that it’s been out on the market for a few months now, I haven’t seen too many reviews of it and besides, I just saw it on last month’s issue of POPTEEN so XD I HAD to try it.

I did just buy the smaller packet to try though! XD It was only 2 SGD +.

Just a little note that today’s post is extremely image heavy. =X

That’s the packaging of this product! Don’t you just love the pink packaging?! It comes in a double sealed sort of package.

You first have to tear the packet open and then remove a second packet that’s resealable! -adding points already-

There are 10 sheets in every Biore travel sized packet and the sheets come out presoaked in makeup remover but:
1) They were not drenched and dripping wet so I’m loving it. They were moist enough to wipe makeup off comfortably.
2) They didn’t feel the least bit oily.
3) They left no oily residue on my fingers or eye area after I used them! [Unlike my Clinique TTDO]

Which kind of makes me wonder if they really were soaked in oil based cleanser but ah well – the sheets are awesomely thin and gentle on the skin [No, they didn’t feel like sandpaper, thank god] so I didn’t get the usual “Red Eye Syndrome” after using them. 

My eye area is crazily sensitive and all you have to do is roughly handle it for just 2 seconds and it will flare up in protest. And it’s not just limited to the exterior eye area – Even my actual eye is a touchy piece of business.

They do smell really nice though… Not quite a flowery or citrus scent per say but kind of a mix of the two.

But anyway, here are some process pictures! The “before” shot!

Now, this was taken right after I removed my false lashes, because I didn’t want to push this cleansing wipe too far but bear in mind that my false lash removal only involves two swipes of the cotton bud on each lash line and should not affect anything else on the eye, so my eyeshadow is still intact -pointing at the darker outer lid-. 

So I went ahead to try the wipes and after one swipe, the result on the sheet is shown below[Yes, I keep my nails filed down. 😀

And the not so impressive results on my eyes.

Now, the reason I put up this shot is because the product promises to “remove all makeup instantly, even waterproof masacara with just one swipe”. Ah, false advertising, how we loathe thee.

The eyeshadow came right off, but most of my eyeliner and my mascara stayed on [I used Estee Lauder’s Projectionist today! XD Told you I’d go back to give it another try.] so I had to keep wiping and wiping and wiping. So my sheet looked like this after that:

Hardly just one wipe, I’d say and even then, this was the best I could do:

I had a hard time with the lower mascara today… [I NEVER have problems with it cause it’s MM. And Clinique’s TTDO + MM = Total disintegration] but I decided not to write it off so quickly and try again.

So, in terms of how well it could really remove mascara? It’s this good after holding the sheet to my eyes for about half a minute:

Pretty impressive, I’d say. But that didn’t mean I didn’t have to go in with another round of my Clinique’s TTDO so, hurm. I’m glad I didn’t really splash out too much cash on these wipes.

It did well with the eyeshadows, for sure and maybe even with a little of my eyeliner, but in terms of mascara, you’re going to need a lot more than just one swipe, love.

♡♡♡ BIORE Cleansing Oil Cotton Sheets [Travel Sized] ♡♡♡ 

Softness: 9/10 [Definitely soft for my skin.] 
Packaging: 8/10 [It’s a pretty pink with a thoughtfully designed resealable packaging!]
Performance: 6/10 [It worked, but special emphasis was given to mascara removal during advertising and the results were rather disappointing, in my opinion.]
Live up to its claims? Not quite.
✔ Economical? Considering I bought a travel sized one, I guess so.

Verdict:
It was an okay product for those who are in a rush but you will still need to do a throughout cleansing session when you get home/the chance to because they can never replace really cleansers.

Impossible , in my opinion, to remove all traces of makeup with this unless you plan to use up about 4-5 sheets for your whole face.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

