Jae's Blog

Candydoll Loose Powder

Posted in Candy Doll by Jae on March 10, 2010

Designed by POPTEEN model Tsubasa Masuwaka, the Candydoll range includes items such as lip concealers, lip glosses, blushes [5 shades] and of course, the item everyone is after, mineral loose powder.

Now in two shades [one of them is limited edition], the one I will be reviewing today is #1, the permanent version =D

The elusive Candydoll powder is the best loose powder that I have ever used! Too bad that it’s only available in Japan… My partner got me a pot from Tokyo last year and I’ve been hooked ever since.

Now, the loose powder comes in transparent pot with a screw-on, glossy black and white striped lid.

It also comes with a really soft applicator that has an almost velvety texture and no plasticky smell at all. The black strip is a satin ribbon strip for you to slip your fingers under to make application easy.

I really have to apologize for the dirty applicator… I’ve used it a fair bit before actually and it’s one of the staple items in my makeup bag. It’s FABULOUSLY soft and comfortable on the skin with no scratchy feeling… I usually apply the powder with the applicator, but I do default to my Ecotools Blush Brush sometimes when I don’t want to have to pat my face continuously.

The classic sifter jar because they are so awesome! -grinning- Make sure you shake the pot gently from side to side to bring some of the loose powder up before tapping your brush into it!

Look closely at the picture and notice that the powder is extremely fine so the texture of the powder is really really soft. Have you tried using Maybelline’s mineral powder before? Okay, take that experience and soften the powder by about 10 times and you’ll get Candydoll.

Additionally, because it’s mineral powder, it’s actually good for your skin.

As for oil control, this powder does a very good job. I can put it on at about 11 am and leave it on the entire day. Keep in mind that I’ve got combination – oily skin and I’m very touchy about shine. I might need to touchup in the middle of the day at about 5PM if the weather is hot, but other than that, my skin stays shine free.

I haven’t gotten reactions with this loose powder before either, no clogged pores, no nothing [I remove my makeup with Shu Uemura’s cleansing oil] it’s completely insane and it had me really surprised because I’ve got extremely sensitive skin then reacts to a lot of things. 

Unfortunately, it only comes in this shade for now [if you don’t catch the limited edition one that is, and even then, that’s mostly a shimmer powder rather than a loose foundation powder] but it does blend into the skin quite well so -laughing- it really isn’t much of a problem… It’s meant to fit your skin colour whatever it is but… If you, like me, are an NC30 or fairer, you’ll have absolutely no trouble with it.

Which brings me to my next point, coverage.

If you’re looking for a powder that gives heavy coverage, I highly recommend Heavy Rotation and not Candydoll. Candydoll gives good coverage but it will not help with very red or irritated skin. It does give perfect finish though!

Jae’s Tip:
Try patting the powder all around your face a hundred times for a completely shine free look. 

So, now for my final round up:

♡♡♡ Candydoll Loose Powder ♡♡♡ 

Oil Control: 8.5/10 [This loose powder wins all my others hands down.] 
Coverage: 7.5/10
✔ Packaging: 9/10 [I’m a sucker for stripes and it does have that gorgeous applicator that’s completely awesome.]
✔ Performance: 9/10 [It’s the best I’ve used so far.]
✔ Live up to its claims? For sure.
✔ Economical? Hmm… It’s 1640 Yen and only available in Japan… So yes, I do suppose that in comparison to many other loose powders, it’s quite economical.

Verdict:
It doesn’t clog pores, it has awesome oil control and great texture, what more could I ask for?! -laughing- 

Tagged with:

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] please choose registered mail.Please note: ✔ To read my own review on the loose powder, head HERE. ✔ There only is one shade for Candy Doll's loose powder, limited ed not available. ✔ […]

  2. Candydoll batch anyone? « Jae's Blog said, on March 30, 2010 at 10:21 am

    […] To read my own review on the loose powder, head HERE. […]

  3. rina said, on April 26, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    yes!!candydoll powder pls!

  4. […] ♡♡♡ Candydoll Loose Powder ♡♡♡  […]

  5. Dt said, on November 5, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Can you let me know when you’re taking orders again?

    • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm

      Hey Dt!
      Most definitely! 🙂 I’ll put you on my mailing list okay? 😀

  6. faye lu said, on February 25, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    great review!!! best you’ve ever used <== big call!! now i have to try it. thanks for the review x0

    • Jae said, on February 28, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Hey faye!!!
      Haha, -nodding- indeed! Well, it’s ranking did fall after I tried Chacott though! XDDD
      Do swing by my Chacott reviews to take a look too okay? 😀 It trumped Candydoll in terms of oil control on my skin and I LOVE that one XDDD

  7. genevieve said, on March 14, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Hello! Is the candydoll loose powder shimmmery??? Thanks!

    • Jae said, on March 15, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      Hey Genevieve dear~!
      Haha, not for this one, love! There’s the precious powder version that is though! 😀

  8. Jouyee said, on April 28, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Hi chanced upon your site and would like to know are you selling any of the cosmetics stated in your blog? Do get back to me thanks!


Leave a Reply

