Jae's Blog

Maybelline Volum Express Cat Eyes Mascara [Waterproof]

Posted in Uncategorized by Jae on March 25, 2010

Ah yes, the one I bought 5000 years ago but never got down to using. This is a review of Maybelline’s Volum Express Cat Eyes Mascara (Waterproof) <— No, it’s got nothing to do with my spelling, XD It’s really spelt “Volum”.

I’ll let you onto a secret right now, I’ve never been able to truly go through a single tube of any of my mascaras till the end but I’ll keep getting new tubes when they come out just because. -laughing-

Here’s what it looks like in the tube. I’m totally in love with the zebra stripes (Though I don’t get the connection between zebra stripes and cats, but hey, it’s Maybelline, the company came up with “Colossal Volume” + a purple and yellow tube, I’m not going to question.)

And the pink on the tube is so classy, I’m such a sucker for pink.

This is the wand of the mascara… Notice how the bristles are really short and almost stumpy? Yeah. Hurhur, it doesn’t do anything for length this way. And I’m not sure if you can see that the wand has two rows of bristles, one row running parallel down each side of the wand.

The mascara effectively sits in between the two rows of “teeth” so that when you brush the mascara on, you get a huge gunk of the stuff on your lashes, which brings me to the next point about the mascara’s formula. The formula is extraordinarily creamy which is sort of bizarre to me because I don’t curl my lashes but this mascara feels like it could weigh my lashes down… It didn’t, but it felt like it could. XD


I put this mascara on at 7.45AM and did it clump? Yup. Like crazy. I swiped it on and went “Yikes!”. Yup.

The mascara didn’t really load the formula onto my lashes evenly either. Eek!

BUT and a huge BUT, it gave pretty good volume, considering most other formulas just coat… Then again, seeing how gunky it is, it better. XD Oh oh, yeah, a side note? Most Japanese models use this mascara on their lower lashes instead 🙂 I might try that soon.

Did it smudge at the end of the day? Nope. -laughing- Actually, most of my smudging comes from my eyeliner every time, so really, most mascaras don’t smudge. I didn’t run a water tap test on this mascara today though.

Was it difficult to remove? Yup, it’s almost exactly like my Majolica Majorca mascara except that this mascara comes off in little long lash line structures (which essentially means that there was a lot of it on my lashes. Enough for it to form a case of some sort around each lash, which is kind of scary when i think about it.) It was a lot less messy and a lot more volume than my Estee Lauder one though!

♡♡♡ Maybelline Volum Express Cat Eyes Mascara [Waterproof] ♡♡♡ 

✔ Length: 0.5/10 [Wow, completely zero lengthening.
✔ Volume: 7.5/10 [It’s actually quite impressive!]
✔ Ease of application: 7.5/10 [The wand head isn’t too large, but the initial shock of the formula kind of made me wary.]
✔ Reusable? XD you kidding man? Of course!
✔ Economical? -laughing- I got it on sale so yup!

Verdict:

Now, I don’t know why exactly they chose to call it a “Cat Eyes Mascara” cause uh, I don’t really see the co-relation between the two but this mascara is pretty good for volume.

If you are not comfortable with relatively thicker formulas though, you might not exactly like this… It’s a waterproof mascara and after my round of walking since morning, I think I can safely say it’s got pretty good staying power. Do take note before you buy 🙂

Tagged with: ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] And my original review of this mascara can be found HERE! […]


Leave a Reply

