Jae's Blog

MAC Art Supplies Launched!

Posted in MAC, Product Launch by Jae on April 9, 2010

Yup. See what I mean when I say that MAC’s going a tad nuts with the collection pushing?

It just got put out this afternoon at Tangs Orchard, love.

Now on to my review.

Art supplies is made of 2 parts and 3 lines.

Part One: Eye Makeup
(Line 1: Pearlglide Liners
Line 2: Greasepaint Sticks
)

Part Two: Lipstains.
(Line 3: Lip Markers)

I caught a glimpse of the lip markers but they hadn’t put it out yet and I had been waiting for over 2 hours. 

First up, the Pearlglide Liners:
The formula for the Pearlglide Liners is completely awesome. It’s really soft and extremely creamy so I’m quite sure I won’t have a problem with tugging on my lids. Tried smudging them and they stuck fast, really good staying power, in my opinion. I’m just not sure about the colours.

(Normal sunlight)

From left to right: Undercurrent, Petrol Blue, Designer Purple, Industrial, Blackline, Almost Noir
(Under direct sunlight) 

Undercurrent:
Egyptian green. I swear. And I don’t know why, but it looks like something I would see at Aries. It’s got yellowish glitters in it and is just… Green.

Petrol Blue:
Navy  blue with dark blue glitters. Why I was initially crazy over this colour, I now have no idea. It’s pretty, but not OMG.

Designer Purple:
Royal purple with pinkish glitters. It’s very pretty, but I don’t see how I will be able to use it on a day-to-day basis. Reminds me of the colour of grapes in cartoons.

Industrial:
The only truly unique shade. Although a lot of people have said it looks teal, it’s not. In fact, it’s a few different colours depending on the lighting. It can reflect lilac or almost turquoise blue, I’m very tempted by it but I’m not really sure if I’ll but able to carry it off.

Blackline:
Black with yellow. I’m not kidding. It kind of looks like someone squished a bumble bee and pushed it out as a colour for the collection. The glitters are goldish but the black is not pure black. 

Almost Noir:
Purplish red with similar coloured glitters. Hmm. I’m really liking it but I’m not sure if I’ll look like I’ve got a black eye because most purples don’t work for me.

Overall:
Hmm. I was really excited about a few of the colours but they didn’t really end up jumping out at me so I’m quite disappointed. A lot of them didn’t look half like some of the swatches online and hmm. I think I might get Industrial and that’s it. 

Removal was pleasantly easy with Clinique’s Take the Day off for Eyes and Lips. 🙂 No tugging and such with it, BUT the glitters were still there. =.=|||

========================================================

Mmm. Now, on to the Greasepaint Sticks.

From left to right: Charred Mauve, Below Ground, Zinc Zone, Dirty, Greengrease, Uniformly Blue, Brown, Now, Slickblack

Supposed to be applied with a brush to your eyelids as a base, they are extremely soft, by extremely, I do mean extremely – it’s almost a little oily at first.

Charred Mauve:  
Burnt purple. I’m serious and it’s not really glittery… I’m not sure why. 

Below Ground:
It’s a nice metallic lightish brown, but I’ve got an eyeshadow that looks just like that from my KATE Diamond Cut BR-1, so I’m not buying this.

Zinc Zone:
Ah, some people really like this shade, but I’m not a fan. It’s gunmetal grey, definitely true to this description. It’s really metallic so go easy on the application. 

Dirty:
Easily one of the best colours of the collection. It’s a true pewter grey with a little bit of a purplish undertone… My darn iPhone couldn’t capture a better picture of it…

Greengrease:
One word. Huh? It’s black with green hues in it. Almost like when you apply a cream liner all over your lid and blended green eyeshadow into it.

Uniformly Blue:
Another one of my “wanted to have but not so sure now” ones. It’s a lot more black than blue, but just enough blue so that you can see it. It’s like a… Greengrease in blue. 

Brown, Now:
Yup. It’s brown alright, it’s a reddish sort of brown, kind of like the reddish terracotta clay I used to have to work with. 

Slickblack:
Why anyone would want to buy this, I haven’t got a clue but it’s just jet black and nothing you cannot achieve using any gel liner. Heck, even my Loreal one would do. 

Overall:
Thing is, they go on creamy but will dry and if you’ve got really dry lids? You might wanna watch out with this one some of the colour will definitely show lines and creases and during application, be sure not to over apply because this formula will cake when dried.

And oh, tip? Don’t ever squish the top of your GPS or you’ll really have trouble trying to fix it because of how soft it is.

Which ones am I getting? Dirty, for sure and I think that might actually be all.

And yes, removal for this product was also very easy. Just a little swipe with my Clinique Take the Day off for Eyes and Lips and voila, all off. 

-laughing- oh man… And I was so hyped about the collection… One more time, I’m an NC30~~~~

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Charmaine said, on April 9, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I got Undercurrent & Zinc Zone today! Undercurrent is very similar to one of their liquid liners but I prefer this one! Yes, I’m one of the people who loves Zinc Zone! XD

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 9, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      XD Ahhhhh, I love undercurrent… I’m rolling over trying to find ways and means to justify my getting it. XD

      • Charmaine said, on April 9, 2010 at 9:38 pm

        XDD What do you intend to get other than Undercurrent? I think just using Undercurrent on its own might be to loud, but pairing it with a black pencil liner first then drawing Undercurrent on top & blending will tune down the loudness.

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 9, 2010 at 9:58 pm

        Haha, I actually don’t exactly plan to get any other of the rest… They just don’t speak to me much… XD And actually, I think that it might just work great alone as an outer corner liner… So it would stand out and help the “peekaboo” colour effect… =X I might do a quick etod with that when I head out to buy one…


Leave a Reply

