Jae's Blog

The MAC Haul (Extended)

Posted in MAC by Jae on April 18, 2010

-grinning- Now you’ll be able to see my purchases in all their glory. -laughing-

Ready? Here we go~~~~

A quick rundown of what happened: Got to Merchant Court, realized I was at the wrong place, rushed to Merchant Square, got there later than expected, queue was already really long, met Serene, managed to get in with the first round of buyers.

The whole room was split into two sides, one for MAC and the other for Origins! No prizes for guessing which side was more crowded! Everyone packed towards the MAC tables so much that it became exceedingly difficult to move and breathe… It was very well impossible for anyone to move at all, frankly. The room turned stuffy after a while, which makes me wonder if the venue was suitable for the sale (?) Lighting was white fluorescent but there was good natural light for swatching so that part was good.

The product were mostly from the 2008-2009 collections with appearances of products from lines like Warm and Cozy, Style Warrior, Style Black and Dsquared.

Prices were very reasonable but because of the range of products were so limited, I’m not sure if the sale would have appealed to a lot of other girls, here’s a list of what I remember:

1) Eyeshadow: Haunting (MAC Peter McQueen), Buckwheat (MAC Naked Honey), Rated R (MAC Love That Look), Smoke and Diamonds (MAC Starflash) and some orange shadow.
2) Pigments: Mutiny (MAC Naughty Nauticals),  Cocomotion (MAC Rushmetal), Reflects Rust (MAC Rushmetal)
3) Glitters: Fuchsia, Gold 
4) Mineralized Skin Finish: Porcelain Pink (MAC Color Craft), Sunny
5) Blush: Style Demon
6) Shadesticks: Warm and Cozy… And I can’t remember the rest >_< Sorry!
6) Greasepaint Sticks: V (MAC Dsquared) , Greasepaint Stick (MAC Style Black)

Want to see what I got? =D

Yes, the ever popular Porcelain Pink MSF!

Whee~ Summer Rose~

Ah yes, and I picked up Style Demon~~~

Buckwheat and Haunting!

Solar Bits: Bronzescape~

Solar Bits: Scatterray

TLC in Fuchsia Fix

Greasepaint Stick (OMG FROM STYLE BLACK)

V! XD

My total purchase came up to 144SGD altogether and that was with me being disciplined. The prices were pretty reasonable, with MSFs going at 20SGD, Greasepaint Sticks at 15 SGD, eyeshadows at 10 SGD, so on and so forth!

The MAC staff were really friendly and forthcoming about helping people get there items and if it went for this really sweet girl at the eyeshadow table who helped me grab the greasepaint stick in V, it would all have been out before I could ask. She walked over to the other side to ask the other staff for it! I didn’t get her name but thanks so much, dear! And there was another staff with cute shorte hair and a blonde stripe down her fringe who was at the MSF side who helped me get Porcelain Pink! I was squashed at the back and couldn’t get to the table, so I half yelled for it and she had to reach under the other hands to get the product to me… I’m so sorry I was rude, talked over the crowd and didn’t thank you properly…

Thank you so very much for helping me out! 🙂

In all the chaos, they could still find the strength to smile and help people out… I can’t say I’m not impressed because the faces of a lot of the staff would have soured by the time half the first wave was done with their tables.

All in all, it was an AWESOME experience (One more time, thanks again Serene~) and hehe, I did make a few friends too!

MAC ROCKS!

Tagged with: ,

36 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Serene said, on April 18, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Most welcome! have fun playing with the * new toys*!

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

      XD Indeed! >_< I'm trying the MSF out for the first time tomorrow!

  2. nicole said, on April 18, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Hi Jae, can i check with you how do you girls know about the MAC sale? 🙂

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 18, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      Hello Nicole!
      Most of us found out through friends who have connections with Estee Lauder and it went around mostly through word of mouth actually… ^_^
      Estee Lauder usually only has one MAC friends-and-family sale a year, if I’m not mistaken… So after this, I don’t think there’ll be another one till next year…
      I’ll post here if there will be okay? 🙂

  3. Serene said, on April 18, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    the Porcelain Pink MSF. I have been using it quite often sinced I got it months bk… works as a good highlight! by the way does my falsie look weird on eyes when u saw me on Fri? That was like my 3rd time using only =P

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 18, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      XD I was planning the same thing! Cause it’s such a pretty light pink… The sheen would be perfect as a highlighter! And no they didn’t~~~~~ You’ve gotten pretty good at it babe! They looked really natural actually.. Which brand were you using? 😀

  4. Serene said, on April 19, 2010 at 12:01 am

    I was using Model21 no.7 the pair that you sent me.Now I’m thinking of searching for a box of it… but i guess its not easy cos many reputated blogshops dun carry them cos they are not drama enough.
    ya for Porcelain Pink…I think it will look too frosty if we layer it too much to use it as a blush,you can use it over matte blushes too =)

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 19, 2010 at 9:03 am

      >__<

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

        O.O Where did all my text go!? >_<
        I meant to say that yeah, most blogshops stock no.4 instead because it's longer.
        And haha, yup! I tested it yesterday and got a light reaction… I'm going to try it again today!

  5. Serene said, on April 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    ya i have a friend who adores no.4 cos its natural for girls with very short lashes… light reaction? u r allergic to porcelain pink?

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 21, 2010 at 7:26 am

      Hey babe!
      So sorry for the late reply, I think my wordpress’ been acting up too. =X
      XD I can’t take no.4! It’s still too long for me… It makes me look like I’ve got little sharpies at the ends of my eyes… And >_< unfortunately… I hope I'm not though, so I'm goingt o give it another try today… MSBs work for you?

  6. Serene said, on April 20, 2010 at 10:51 am

    U replied something? cant see your text

  7. Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 10:12 am

    yup! so far have tried MAC Mineralised Skin Finish,Mineralised Skin Finisgh Natural,Mineralised blushers,eyeshadows….all works good on my skin

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 21, 2010 at 10:50 am

      LUCKY YOU! You know, some girls got breakouts because of the MSFs… >_< And XD which eyeshadows have you tried so far anyway?

  8. Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 10:57 am

    have tried Polar Opposite,Love connection,pink split.am selling the latter 2 away cos I hardly reach for them.I was told Solar Bits has some mineralised formula in them too… you might wanna do a test first…by the way I thought we got the same solar bits in Scatterray? urs is dazzleray instead? color looks similiar from the pot though

  9. Flitter Jae said, on April 21, 2010 at 11:37 am

    XD you bought so many from the sale?! I regret not getting rated r…. T_T
    The solar bits are fine on me! and haha, no love, we got the same one!
    I got bronzescape as well though!

  10. Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    no no… some are bought at Mac counters,just giving u the list of things I have tried from Mac that is mineralised =)

    Solar bits are pretty! I cannot take bronzey colors though…think cos of my skintone… its not on the warm side

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 21, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      XD I’m not a fan of their mineralized range… XD Bought porcelain pink mostly to try it out~

      And YEAHHHH! They’re SO pretty! I REALLY like scatterray cause of how gold it is~~~ -in love- XD

  11. Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    yea scatterray’s gold is more light champagne not the yellow yellow kind… its pretty! if i’m not wrong… mac seldom comes out with solar bits…. tats why previous sale the gals were expecting to see it but didnt….

    The mineralised skin finish natural is very good though……it gives an airbrush finish

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 21, 2010 at 3:29 pm

      Yeah… XD I really like the way it turns on the eyes! heh heh heh, I wonder if they’ll have stuff from Art Supplies at next year’s sale. =X

      • Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

        They might…. seem like Art Supplies isnt selling very well…. i was expecting some sold out …. but none so far

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 22, 2010 at 8:27 am

        XD I’m hoping they won’t! Hehehe, I’ll grab ALL when they go on sale =X
        Though, yeah, it’s quite strange because the colours are pretty… Maybe cause people can’t see themselves using so many colours =X

        XD INDUSTRIAL~~~

  12. Serene said, on April 22, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I believe many people still do not know how to use the GPS….& it takes speed blend too =)

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm

      -laughing- tell me about it. I do hate the rush especially when I use it as an upper liner, I’ll get dried bits falling down sometimes. =.=||| Sigh.

      • Serene said, on April 23, 2010 at 12:03 am

        Fallen bits isnt as bad as a badly done patch on the lids…lol~ I do not have oily lids hence gotta blend it in lightning speed if not I will need to remove it & redo everything.I use a sponge tip for more precise blending

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm

        Oh my goodness… I HATE that feeling! >_<especially when everything is already done except my eye makeup and I'm running late? OTL
        I use a brush for the GPS… But that's only because I use it mostly as an eyeliner… XD
        Did you go down to tangs to swap your plastic containers today?! They're giving out 5sgd vouchers!

  13. jasmine said, on April 23, 2010 at 11:49 am

    HI DEAR 😀 HAHA chanced upon your blog and ehhh i was the mac girl at the eyeshadow table going nuts while everyone was asking for the shades they wanted! xD HAHA.

    • Flitter Jae said, on April 23, 2010 at 2:23 pm

      HEY JASMINE!
      AHHHH! I get to thank you properly now!
      Thanks so much for helping me out at the table! I’m in complete love with the GPS! XD
      Did everything sell out that day?!

      • jasmine said, on April 23, 2010 at 5:30 pm

        hahahah no probs ^^ LOL er the eyeshadows and sticks etc was sold out like super fast and all, sheeshhhhh. i left early though i didn’t stay till 8, could only work till 4.30 so i left then. hahaha. awesome, didn’t know you were the smashedpostbox LOL i kept seeing you around mac_cos lj and sg_beauty!

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 23, 2010 at 8:30 pm

        It must have been really hard for you, having to handle so many people! -laughing- The first round of sales cleared out the stock?! Whoa!

        I really admire how you handled the number of people at the table -faints- I think I would have freaked out really badly! Thanks so much for grabbing the GPS for meeee! XD ahhh, it’s fast becoming a permanent must-have for my eye makeup!

        Aww dang! You didn’t manage to grab one?

        Oh oh, could you convey my thanks to your other colleague by the way? >_< The girls with the blonde stripe down her fringe…

      • jasmine said, on April 23, 2010 at 11:18 pm

        eh i dont exactly know her, so.. :S hahah i was just a part time staff at the event! xD
        thanks!! the crowd was insane srsly!!!! no i totally forgot about it! HAHAHA. i got some other stuff thoughhhh so life is still good ;D yknow i think i can still rmb how you look like! HAHA.

      • Flitter Jae said, on April 24, 2010 at 7:42 am

        Haha! aww dang! The GPS is really awesome but it does smell funky… Especially V actually =X Hmm. I think it’s got to do with the formula!
        And XD really?! Aww… I think I remember how you look like too! Haha, ponytail at the back with the black hoodie!

  14. jasmine said, on April 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    btw OMG i should have totally grabbed one for myself ): crap.

  15. Serene said, on April 23, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hi Jasmine! hehehe I’m Jae’s friend….I was at the sale too! Love MAC…am waiting for your blog sale!!! =D

    • jasmine said, on April 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm

      HAHA OMG HI, i think i’ll post it up tonightttt! ^^

      • Serene said, on April 24, 2010 at 12:30 am

        Pls do! =D


Leave a Reply

