Jae's Blog

Majolica Majorca – Perfect Automatic Liner (BK999) Review

Posted in Majolica Majorca by Jae on April 21, 2010

So enough of launch updates and all that jazz and onto one of my newest LOVE product! (XD Literally, cause my partner bought this one for me XD)

This is the Majolica Majorca’s Perfect Automatic Liner in BK999, which is a pure black liquid liner. (Yes, the very same Japanese company that churns out Gothic themed advertisements and almost NEVER is on sale. Then again, it’s by Shiseido so hurhur.)

There is another one in the same range that contains glitter, so do be careful when you purchase 🙂

So it comes in a really nice plastic packet vs the usual hard plastic + cardboard behind and kind of feels like a packet of (eye)candy and yup, actually, it is.

At 24.95 SGD per tube, this is one of Majolica Majorca’s best selling liquid liners because of its ease of use and its great payoff. Yes, being BK999, it’s absolutely black and pretty darn good compared to my previous K-Palette Liquid Liner.

Tear the packet open and out pops a typical cylindrical tube of love.

In an effort to prevent the drying out of the liner before it gets to you, the tube is not fully connected when you first get it. You have to pull this little safety ring off and holding the tube vertically, compress the whole tube. It should somewhat snap in place.

Now for the cute part, pull the cover open and you’ll find a totally white tip that’s quite hard and will not be suitable for immediate use. You’ll have to “break” into the tip by placing it at an angle on any hard surface and pressing down gently so that it “breaks” into a softer tip. It’s part of their quality control, I’d suppose.

Now, get to the other end of the tube and peel off the round “security tape” around it. See, you’re going to have to twist that end so that the ink will flow out and this also happens to be the part I hate because I ALWAYS twist it by too much and get excess product at the tip.

Argh, what a waste of liner. I wish they’d show the inside of the tube or something so I’d know when to stop turning.

Hmm… The best part is how soft the tip is… It goes on really comfortably because of how broad and soft the tip is. This doesn’t mean that the line isn’t precise, in fact the tip is far easier to control than K-Palette.

The payoff… Mmm. As much as I’d like to say that’s jet black, it isn’t and frankly, I personally haven’t tried a liquid liner that has given me a jet black finish from one single stroke so I’m going to cut this liner some slack. It definitely is a lot more comfortable though, so I’m not complaining. The one on the left shows just one stroke and the one on the right is four strokes – the colour was washed out by my iphone and it’s actually a lot blacker than it appears to be here.

It takes about four strokes to get completely jet black and -laughing- I’m not surprised at all. I tried this this morning on my upper lid and went over it with my gel liner in the classic Japanese magazine style so I can’t really comment on its staying power but on my hand, it passed the dry rub test with flying colours.

The wet rub test…. Not so much. XD But then again, they’ve never advertised it as waterproof or rub proof so I wouldn’t go swimming with this.

Removal wasn’t anything crazy at all. Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. -grinning- Then again, as I always say, with Clinique’s Take the Day Off remover, nothing is difficult to remove.

♡♡♡ Majolica Majorca – Perfect Automatic Liner (BK999) ♡♡♡ 

Quality: 8.5/10 [I really like the tip and for a drugstore brand, the liner’s not bad!
✔ Ease of application: 8/10 [These are great!]
✔ Reusable? Yup, for sure!
✔ Economical? Depending on your budget, this might or might not meet your needs… But I’d say it’s a pretty good liner!

Verdict:
If you’re keen on a liner with a good comfortable applicator, this is it. The brush is gorgeously precise without feeling like a knife running along your lid. In terms of colour, it works well but it’s nothing particularly outstanding. 🙂

Would I repurchase this? I might, depending on whether I find a better one before I run out and I think I might.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Serene said, on April 21, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Mac’s Penultimate will give u jet black in 1 stroke =)


Leave a Reply

