Jae's Blog

EOS VS GEO Review

Posted in EOS, GEO by Jae on April 22, 2010

Aside from my love for false lashes, I’ve also got something for contact lenses, especially with those that have got eye enlarging effects.

I’ve been wearing contact lenses for about 3 years now and I’m completely in love with two brands: EOS and GEO but EOS more than GEO XD See, the big questions have always been ‘what the difference, which is more comfortable, how long do they last’ etc.

I’m not sure if anyone’s done a comparison between the two before but here’s my version of it 🙂

Today’s comparison is between EOS King (Brown) and GEO Angel Brown.

EOS on the left and GEO Angel Brown on the right!

You’ve probably already noticed that the EOS lenses are a little larger than the GEO Angel ones – it’s a whopping 14.5mm.

They both have a flowery brown print in the middle and black ring round the rims.

Brown ring: EOS < GEO
Black ring: EOS > GEO

GEO’s got a lot more brown in it compared to EOS, but then again, when inserted into your eyes, the both of them look pretty much the same. Keep in mind that EOS is larger though, so the comparison might not be exact. 🙂

Notice that the EOS one looks a lot fuller? The GEO lenses can be clearly seen, but the EOS lenses are partially hidden by my lids. They’re really big. -grinning-

And just because I can, I’m going to throw in this picture of me with lenses only in one eye

-laughing- We all need some help sometimes, babe. (We’re real girls, not airbrushed images on magazines! And quite honestly, I’m damn proud of that. 🙂)

The lenses are meant to last for 12 months, but I don’t risk it and switch them out after about three to fours months. They get uncomfortable after that anyways and it sure beats having to get a new pair every month.

Now, comparing the both. Which is more comfortable?

I’ve worn GEO for about two years and I can honestly say that it’s a lot stiffer than EOS…. And it dries out really quickly, but not quickly enough for me to have to constantly use eye drops, of course. My secret? Drop a drop of artificial tears right before inserting them, and another drop after. It moistens your eyes right before the lenses hit your eyes, so it slows down the rate that your eyes dry out – It’s worked really well for me so far.

I confess, I don’t follow the rules and only wear them for six hours. I sometimes leave them in for up to 12 hours, which is a very bad habit that I’m trying my hardest to kick. 

And oh, when you’ve got them in your eyes, remember that artificial tears are your best friend. You don’t want to be caught constantly yawning now, do you? XD I’m using Refresh and again, the ones specially for contacts.

I’ve heard of some people using the normal Eyemo and such but honestly, I don’t want to try because I’m kind of scared that it will damage my lenses. 

If that bottle is too big for you to tote around, try the mini version! I think they’re so cute.
 

Contact Lens Care
Always use contact lens solution to wash and soak your lenses. DO NOT USE WATER!

Contact lens solutions contain saline which mimics the chemistry of tears. It’s sort of tricking your eyes into thinking that it’s a normal thing. Water doesn’t contain saline, so it’s going to sting – I use Complete Multi-Purpose Solution!


It’s actually the only one that I can use, the rest of the solutions make my eyes hurt a lot and I’m not sure why. i’ve got a few other brands sitting around, barely used cause my eyes are stubborn and spoilt.

Always remember, lenses are delicate and they need to constantly be soaked or they’ll just dry out. (Yeah, you guessed it, I know because I’ve tried. Argh, silly me, I forgot to put them back into their case.)

Eye Care
I’m not an optometrist, but you and I both know the most basic rule of wearing contacts.

1) Always seek professional advise BEFORE buying any contact lenses.
You need to find out if contacts lenses are suitable for you at all.

2) If it stings, hurts and/or makes your eyes feel uncomfortable in general, stop wearing / completely remove the lenses immediately.

3) Always wash your lenses before and after every use.
You brush your teeth everyday right? 🙂 Same thing here, they need to be kept clean.

4) Never go to bed with your lenses!!!!!
Your eyes, need to breathe and these lenses often inhibit oxygen intake, potentially causing long term damage. Sleeping with your lenses in also increases the risk of developing infections because of the protein build up. I tried before and it wasn’t pretty, after sleeping in my lenses for a two days straight about twice a week, I developed pink eyes and couldn’t use lenses for a really long time – I had to wear GLASSES! Imagine my HORROR AND PAIN! I swore never to make that mistake again.

5) Wear the right degree of lenses.
You don’t want to worsen your myopia.

6) Extended wear is not recommended.
I’m trying to kick the habit too! Join me!

7) Give your eyes “off-days”
So here’s the thing, as might as you need a break, your eyes do too. Don’t suffocate them everyday! >_<

8) WEAR AUTHENTIC LENSES

On that note, before I end this review, I just want to say that it is very important for you to be wearing authentic lenses, babe… It’s not worth the money if anything is going to happen to your peepers because of incorrect use of lenses or fake lenses…

Now, to help with that, if your lenses came from the right place and in a glass bottle, it should appear with this sticker.

And of course, depending on where your lenses were imported from, it may come in a blister pack. 

Do refer to THIS link for further information and equip yourself with the right knowledge. Ask your supplier if you are unsure about the authenticity of the product.

Please take care of your eyes! >_< They’re precious and will follow you for life, so don’t risk it okay? 🙂

Tagged with: , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rina said, on July 9, 2010 at 12:52 am

    may i noe the manufacturer of candydoll powder?where did u buy it?

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 10, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      Hey dear!
      I bought mine directly from Japan!

  2. […] goes from really dark blue  on the left to purple and then pink? If you compare this with my previous post on the lenses, you’d see that the one in my previous post starts from light […]


Leave a Reply

