Jae's Blog

Helena Rubenstein Lash Queen Mascara: Feline Blacks Waterproof (01 Deep Black)

Posted in Helena Rubenstein, mascara by Jae on May 7, 2010

Helena Rubenstein (or more affectionately known as HR) ~~~ XD Yes! I finally got my hands on one of these too!

Okay, first and foremost, the mascara was (and actually still is) advertised to give “intense length and volume” and “24 hour wear”. To put it to the test, I wore it everyday for three days and here comes my review!

Okay, I’ll confess, I’m just such a sucker for packaging. The leopard prints were screaming at me so I had to get it but but but but but, check it out! The formula isn’t at all bad. Like, at all. And the best part? It doesn’t come with other additives for length and such, just pure mascara formula, so that’s a plus 100% for me.

Twist the cap and out comes the brush.

The brush comes rather large but with how well it coats every single lash, I’m not complaining. You see, for the past few years, I’ve been on the hunt for a mascara that coats accurately without making my lashes look spidery and looks like I’ve finally found my answer.

And oh, when you twist the cap back on, it will actually close with sort of a small click, it’s really thoughtful of them cause I know I’ll half twist my mascara wands in sometimes and forget about the rest or something… Now I know to wait till I feel the click.

And oh yeah, I bought the waterproof version of this mascara and when they say it’s really waterproof, they MEAN it’s waterproof and really, I can vouch for how waterproof it really is: Two water tap sessions and it was still on with zero smudges, runs etc etc etc, no I’m serious, babe. It’s stubborn as hell on my lashes and even with dabbing with tissues and all that? It stuck fast.

And oh oh oh, no such thing as funky smells. You know how some mascaras smell even after you’ve replaced the wand in the tube because of the formula that’s already on your eyes? This one doesn’t smell, like at all. XD

I’ve been wearing this mascara for three days straight now and I’m sold. I don’t know how to tell you but really, it DOES. NOT. RUN and is totally incredible.

I took these picture when the day was out and I was home and ready for my shower.

*** NOTE: ONLY ONE COAT APPLICATION

No kidding.

Thing is, it doesn’t give volume like DEJAVU’s lash knockout but somehow, it just makes my lashes look “mascara-ed”. 

I’ve just got one peeve with this product though, remember I said it stuck on despite my water tap sessions? Uh, yeah, removal was a real pain in the butt even with Clinique’s Take The Day Off and that really is saying something. I had about three coats on yesterday with super gorgeous volume but it also made my removal time triple as well… Somehow it just sticks and doesn’t want to come off.

I’ll try again tonight and keep you updated okay? -laughing- I’m going to use Shu Uemura’s Cleansing Oil tonight and see how it goes!

♡♡♡ Helena Rubenstein Lash Queen Mascara: Feline Blacks Waterproof  (01 Deep Black) ♡♡♡ 

✔ Quality: 7.5/10 [It’s a fabulous waterproof mascara but not a great formula overall, I think] 
Volume: 6.5/10 [It wasn’t that good. >_<]
✔ Ease of application: 8.5/10 [The brush was on the large side, but by rotating it , it was easy peasy.]
✔ “Waterproofness”10/10 [No, I’m not kidding! It’s the best one so far!]
✔ Reusable? XD yeahhhh
✔ Economical? Well, it would once again depend? Because it’s not available in Singapore, so you’ll have to import it and… =X Shipping always kills.

Verdict:
If you’re looking for a mascara that won’t run or bleed or give you panda eyes in general, this is it. Note though, that it doesn’t quite bump volume up to insane levels, so don’t have your hopes up too high before you use it 🙂 I like it overall because I’m paranoid about panda eyes so I’m going to stick with this mascara! 

Tagged with:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Serene said, on May 7, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    wow! the application is very even too… despite the big wand it comes with! Maybe 3 coats & you can choose not to use falsies already =)

    • Jae said, on May 8, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Hey babe!!!
      Haha, yeah it sure is isn’t it?! I’m really liking it!

  2. Yoshie said, on May 8, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Is there any mascara you recommend for lower lashes? ><

    • Jae said, on May 8, 2010 at 9:34 am

      Hey dear!
      Hmm… I now use HR XD… Are you looking to volumize or lengthen? =D

  3. Yoshie said, on May 9, 2010 at 12:01 am

    2 in 1 i guess? (><)I’m considering whether to get fairydrops. Haha.

    • Flitter Jae said, on May 9, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      Mmm… I’m not sure there’s one that can do a really solid job of that right now… I haven’t tried anything that lengthens extremely well and volumizes… Unless you don’t mind using two? >__<

      WA! My entire comment kena chopped off and I’m retyping now! I think for volumizing, I’ll definitely recommend Lash Knockout… (Only cause it doesn’t run XD) But removal can be tricky so XD Clinique’s Take The Day Off all the way! But for lengthening, I haven’t really tried leh dear… So sorry…

      And ahhhh, Fairydrops! There was a fair bit of hype about the product a while ago but it’s died down with the latest KISS ME Heroine release… (Psst, I’m going to try that one soon. XD)

      • Yoshie said, on May 12, 2010 at 6:50 am

        Ahahaha~ Will be waiting for your review on that! Itsumo arigatou ne! ❤

      • Flitter Jae said, on May 13, 2010 at 10:47 am

        heh heh! no worries~~~~


Leave a Reply

