Jae's Blog

Hada Labo Product Launch! (In stores 20 May!)

Posted in Brand Launch, Hada Labo, Product Launch by Jae on May 17, 2010

And once again, wordpress deleted my entire entry… Sigh… Looks like the previous one was just not meant to be…

How’re you going, babe?! -laughing- My god, I’ve been running around all week and guess what?! I finally got my hair coloured for a change! I’m so pleased with my hair colour and the staff at the salon were so friendly and sweet too! I’ll be heading down again, maybe I’ll do a review on the location? Hmm… That does sound like a good idea, doesn’t it? Anyways, I’ve got some good news for you if you’ve been trying to look for a moisturizer that’s easy on the pocket: Hada Labo’s range is coming to Singapore and will be launched at all Watsons stores islandwide REALLY soon!

I’ve tried two out of their five products from the SHA Moisturizing Range that I was given at the launch and so far so good…

****Please note that the products used in this piece were sponsored by HADA LABO (ROHTO PHARMACEUTICAL CO. JAPAN) but will not affected the honesty of my writing 🙂 Do feel free to contact me should you have any questions.

Before I dive head-in to my review, I have to say I really like the eco-friendly bag they gave us at the launch. >_< Most companies give out paper bags and what with my recent saving of plastic cosmetic bottles to recycle, I’m beginning to think more and more about recycling all my old plastic and paper product containers. 😀 I might actually do a little something related to that soon!

Hada Labo’s been in the market for about six years now and has a total of three ranges in all namely the SHA Moisturizing Range (My favourite, and my biasness is already showing), the Arbutin Whitening Range (As the name suggests, it claims to whitening your skin while moisturizing) and finally, the AHA/BHA Exfoliating Range (It’s a peeling range of sorts).

Out of all three ranges, I tried products from the SHA Moisturizing Range and the Arbutin Whitening Range during the launch and found that the Arbutin Whitening Range (Especially the Whitening Milk) is a lot heavier than the SHA Moisturizing products… Hmm… All ranges are supposed to be suitable for all skin types (Yeah, my alarm bells went up at this) and all ages – So according to the reps that I spoke to at the launch, anyone can use the products primarily because it’s got no “unnecessary additives”.

Their “miracle” ingredient is something called Super Hyaluronic Acid (SHA) that’s supposed to be able to capture more moisture and have increased absorption rate.

I’m a skeptic at heart and I’ve got naturally sensitive skin so I’m usually very cautious about changing anything in my skincare routine but after using their products, hmm. I think I did well to give them a chance.

I was given five products in all: Super Hyaluronic Acid (SHA) Hydrating Lotion (22.90 SGD for 170ML), Milk (22.90 SGD for 140ML), Mask (21.90 SGD for 4 sheets), Wash (12.90 SGD for 100g) and Essence [Haha, sounds so SK-II, doesn’t it?!] (30.90 SGD for 30g) Yeah, no worries, you read that right, it’s ML for the lotion and milk and grammes for the wash and essence. I guess they sell the those two by volume? 

The Arbutin Whitening Range has the exact same products, except that it’s got Arbutin in it. -laughing away- I can’t believe I just did that. They go for the same price too, by the way and according to the reps, you don’t have to cross the products at all… If you just want moisture, go for the SHA range, but if you want whitening + moisturizing, then try out the Arbutin range. I personally haven’t tried it on my face but when I tested the products out at the launch, they felt just that little bit heavier. 

In any case, on to my review! Out of the set I was give, I decided to test out the more popular Lotion (They apparently sell one bottle every four seconds?) and the variation, Milk.

1) Super Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Lotion (22.90 SGD for 170ML)
This product is supposed to work like a toner but with moisturizing properties.
It pours out as a clear liquid but when I applied it on my face, it changed to have a somewhat gel-like consistency. It went on really smooth and I couldn’t detect any smells till I finished applying it and it started to take effect. It wasn’t a very strong smell anyway, actually but it smelt like the typical… Gel? Almost like dipping laundry into plain water, wringing it dry and sniffing it after… Something like that but very much lighter.

About half a minute later, there was no more stickiness on my skin or any “filmy” feeling, in fact, it very well felt like I had splashed water on my face and allowed it time to evaporate. I’ll attribute it to my skin absorbing everything but this was damn impressive because I had no tightness, no red spots, no irritated nose, no nothing but a great smooth feeling on my skin when I ran the back of my hand down my cheek and that’s crazy stuff because I actually felt like my skin had been moisturized. That’s just mind blowing to me because my skin usually reacts very badly to new products and I know right away that it’s rejecting the product when my skin turns very tight (showing a lack of moisture) or when it starts to peel after a day (showing that… Well, it’s spoilt, fussy, not happy and wants its Chanel back) but eh, with this one, no such thing.

The most important thing? No stickiness, no smell, no allergies. A+~ I actually like it. :X

2) Super Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Milk (22.90 SGD for 140ML)
As the name suggests, it’s a hydrating milk and is supposed to work the same way that the Hydrating Lotion works but richer.
True. Very very true because it’s too rich and sticky for my liking… (From a liquid that’s thicker in consistency and looks like milk, duh) It took about half an hour before I felt my skin was a little smooth – it was still a little sticky and I didn’t have the same feeling I had with the Lotion.

Like the lotion, no smell and the consistency changed the same way but the stickiness and the time it took to get absorbed turned me right off and yes, when I went out that day, it was very humid and I could really feel the product on my face.

Oh, by the way, I tried using both the lotion and the milk together and needless to say, I won’t do that again.

 Jae’s Final Verdict:
-laughing- YES I HAVE A FAVOURITE PRODUCT OUT OF THE RANGE! And it’s the Moisturizing Lotion~~~~ Catch it when it hits WATSONS ISLANDWIDE on 20 MAY 2010!

****Please note that the products used in this piece were sponsored by HADA LABO (ROHTO PHARMACEUTICAL CO. JAPAN) but will not affected the honesty of my writing 🙂 Do feel free to contact me should you have any questions.

Tagged with: ,

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Serene said, on May 17, 2010 at 11:03 am

    cool~ u went to the launch? i have been using it for afew years…damn good for hydration! but sadly prices are kinda marked up in SG…. =(

    • Flitter Jae said, on May 18, 2010 at 7:16 pm

      Hello dear~~~
      XD I’m actually liking it as a moisturizer now =X I might actually switch to it permanently…. =X

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jess Neace. Jess Neace said: Hada Labo Product Launch! (In stores 20 May!) « Jae's Blog: Out of all three ranges, I tried products from the SHA… http://bit.ly/b1EX7E […]

  3. Priscilla said, on May 17, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    The prices is really way too expensive.
    It’s so much cheaper when I get it from spree and even msia doesn’t sell as expensive as sg.

  4. Yoshie said, on May 18, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Hello~ =D Have you tried Aqua Moist? I’ve been using Aqua Moist products and I kinda love it. Now I’m thinking whether I should switch to using Hada Labo after it’s launched. Do you think Aqua Moist or Hada Labo is better?

    Oh and does Hada Labo’s whitening range contain the same moisture content as the moisture range? I’d want both whitening and moisture. =P

    >< Sorry for always asking you so many things.

    • Flitter Jae said, on May 18, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      Hello dear!
      Aiya, I haven’t tried Aqua Moist before love T_T I so have to try more products…

      And about the moisture content, yup! =D It’s supposed to have exactly the same amount but just with added whitening! XD If you don’t mind the slightly heavier texture that is and no no no dear!!!! Haha! I love answering your questions yo! Feel free okay? =D

  5. Jas said, on May 24, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    hi, i chanced upon ur blog when i was googling for hada labo in singapore…
    may i know if u have tried the essence? and do u think it will be too much for oily or acne-prone skin?
    thanks 🙂

    • Flitter Jae said, on May 24, 2010 at 9:24 pm

      Hey there!
      Glad to have you aboard! Yes I did try the essence and found it to be slightly thicker than the original lotion and even milk. XD it’s actually for very dehydrated skin, if I’m not mistaken…

      Hmm, I’m not actually too sure about oily skin but I do know that for my combination skin, it did take some time to absorb and I did get some small bumps around my cheek area after the second use… It really does vary from individual to individual though… 😉 hope this helps!

      • Jas said, on May 25, 2010 at 2:19 am

        thanks babe for the reply!
        it helps 🙂
        heard about hada labo and have been waiting for it to come to singapore haha… i guess i will just buy the lotion to try out 1st then… thanks again 🙂

      • Flitter Jae said, on May 25, 2010 at 10:46 pm

        =D Really hope you enjoy the product! Do let me know how you go with it okay? 😀 Hope to hear from you soon!

  6. Hazel said, on May 27, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I actually like the Arbutin Whitening Milk much much better than the Super Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Milk (which took me nearly half a year to finish)! It’s lighter in consistency and absorbs into my skin in 10min, leaving my face soft and smooth without any sticky feeling! But of course, I took a few min to pat it in, using only 2 to 3 drops each time!

    I shall open the Arbutin Whitening Lotion to try after I finish my current bottle of toner! =D

    • Flitter Jae said, on May 29, 2010 at 8:27 am

      Haha, I’m really glad to hear you’re liking the products babe! =D
      Do keep me updated about your trying the items!

  7. Jessie said, on August 1, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    I read that the lotion acts like a toner, and the double-moisturizing thingy that Jap does. So, if I get the lotion, do I still need to use my regular toner, and is there a need to use a regular moisturizer after the lotion?

    I tried the product umpteen times at watson, my skin feels wonderfully smooth after the pdt is absorbed! But still can’t decide if I should buy it due to the confusion on how I should use it. -.-”

    Kindly advise please..

    • Flitter Jae said, on August 1, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Hi Jessie!
      Yes, the product is supposed to be a dual function thing… XD
      Well, for me, I didn’t use my toner before applying the lotion and it is supposed to act like a moisturizer all by itself so I would believe that additional moisturizer wouldn’t be necessary… ^^|||

      And haha! Don’t worry doll… Did you try it on your face by the way? 😀 The absorption rate for me was alright but I’m glad it worked out for you! 😀

      • Jessie said, on August 3, 2010 at 5:44 pm

        OOH. Then I guess I’d have to finish my current toner and moisturizer before opening the bot. I was reading their label and it says use the lotion after wash and to use the milk after the lotion. I guess it’s due to the double moisturizing, so I bought the milk too.

      • Flitter Jae said, on August 5, 2010 at 4:46 pm

        😀 that would be a good idea, doll… >___<
        I actually found that double application was too heavy for my skin! 😦


Leave a Reply

