Jae's Blog

Jill Stuart Cream Eyeshadow [02 – Gold Light]

Posted in Jill Stuart by Jae on June 18, 2010

Finally, unveiling one of my proudest hauls from Japan… JILL STUART!

I’ll be reviewing the eyeshadow palette (that I’m totally in love with, by the way) really soon but in the meantime, let me talk a little bit about this delicious eyeshadow cream that I have been using as a base for the past month.

The Jill Stuart cream eyeshadow must be heaven sent because it smells so incredibly good I don’t even know what to link it to… It’s unlike anything else I’ve smelt before and very distinctly Jill Stuart.

You know how some brands go round the whole world with pretty packaging then when you open the pot, it just smells like the cheap perfume? Well no such thing here because the scent’s unique to JS (by my standard, that it 😀)

I bought the cream shadow in 02, Gold Light from Shinjuku’s Lumine 2 and while I won’t complain about the customer service, or the lack of it (yes, I am talking about Japan and I have complaints about the place but I’ll save that for another post okay?), I’ve got to complain about the fact that the packaging of Jill Stuart products IS TOO GORGEOUS FOR WORDS!

Jill Stuart is only available in Japan and Hong Kong, if I’m not wrong… So if you do want to pick up their products, it might pose a slight problem though some people hold sprees from time to time but then again, authencity, authencity I always say! Be very careful of who you order from, doll!

The jar has this really gorgeous almost wavelike pattern on the jar bit and that just adds to the whole “princessy” feeling and while I’m on the subject of princesses, I’ve got to tell you about their body spray that smells like really beautiful grapefruits and made me feel totally like a princess… I wanted to get it when I was in Tokyo but they weren’t out yet and they were just taking pre-orders… T_T

This cream eyeshadow comes in a screw top jar and the attention to detail just touches me… See how the middle portion kind of looks like a gem? =D

Each pot comes with 6 grams worth of product and that actually will last you a heck of a long time. I’ve been using my pot for a month and till today, I haven’t so much as made a dent in the jar. I usually apply the product with my fingers which is kind of unhygienic, I hear you say, but XD ah well, I don’t think I want to stick a brush into that and waste product right love?!

I usually try to use whatever’s on the edges of the jar and on the lid because when the product came, some of it had gotten on the lid and the sides so me being me, didn’t want to waste anything and used that too. -laughing- I know I know, it’s such a strange thing to do.

The texture of the eyeshadow in the jar is something like jelly and it’s really bouncy when you tap your finger on it. I say a tap because it really is all you need to pick up enough of the eyeshadow for application – I know that estimate works for me because my entire eyelid can be covered with just that much!

The cream applies REALLY smooth, almost like butter on my skin and each tiny bit is absolutely packed with glitter bits so go easy on the application. The glitter bits serve as an illuminator for the eyes. This takes away the natural dark shade that I have due to a severe lack of sleep and that’s a definitely plus for me because I work with browns and blacks and when my browns end up looking like blacks, I get very upset.

Then again, I have to say that the amount of glitter can get quite scary sometimes so I always have to be very careful with the amount of cream I use… I once ended up looking like a disco ball and that was really freaky cause I had to redo that bit.

See, once you apply the cream on, it DOES. NOT. BUDGE. I’m not kidding. I tried everything dry, from tissues to cotton pads and Q-Tips till I just gave up and used makeup remover.

I haven’t experienced any creasing at all with this product so I’m really loving it. A little goes a really long way for this cream eyeshadow and it works awesome as a shadow base! It kept my eyeshadow in place for the entire day (think AM10.30-PM10.30). 

I probably should mention that the jar is glass? Hmm… It feels like glass and is quite heavy so I definitely will not recommend bringing it out for travel without proper storage. >_<

♡♡♡ Jill Stuart Cream Eyeshadow [02 – Gold Light] ♡♡♡ 

Product Quality: 9.8/10 [Cause of the glitter overload that I sometimes get.]
Staying Power: 10/10 [I couldn’t get it off…]
Scent: 9/10 [So sweet and awesome!]
Packaging: 7.5/10 [The glass scares me.]

Verdict:
It’s a dead ringer for a rebuy – it smells great and works great as well. No creasing + great staying power, what more could I possibly ask for? Just wish them would tone down on the glitter just a little though and oh, improve on the customer service. The girl actually rolled her eyes at us! Goodness gracious, and we didn’t just get one product, we got like 7!

Tagged with:

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rina said, on June 18, 2010 at 11:32 am

    goodness, we seem to own many japanese makeup in common! i also have jill stuart stuff 😀

    JS is available in Japan, HK, Korea and Taiwan. Based on exchange rates, HK prices are the cheapest after conversion to SGD.

    • Flitter Jae said, on June 20, 2010 at 8:35 am

      Haha! I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE JILL STUART! >_< It's just to DIE for!
      And oh thanks for the heads up dear!

      • Rina said, on June 20, 2010 at 5:40 pm

        popsister aug issue has a 1 page spread on jill stuart makeup with yui kanno and eri. 😀

  2. Kristy said, on June 19, 2010 at 8:37 am

    How about posting your Japan trip some time? you seem to have a lot of loots from Japan!
    I check your blog everyday, never fail to amaze me. 🙂

    Do hope Jill Stuart would make its way soon to Singapore.. I can’t find them online.. T_T

    • Flitter Jae said, on June 20, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Hey Kristy!
      Haha, I might do that one of these days and XD I want to get more stuff, dear!
      -grinning- Aww… Thank you dear… I’ll keep at it okay? 🙂
      And I know what you mean… I’m really hoping they will but I don’t know.. Maybe they think that the market isn’t big enough for them? >_< Which is your most wanted product from them? =D

      • Rina said, on June 20, 2010 at 5:39 pm

        i heard rumours from some makeup blogs that Jill Stuart might be coming to singapore. but as usual it’s just rumours. :/ until JS really comes here, and actually have products that are up to date with japan release, i’ll get my supply from japan and hk. xD

      • Flitter Jae said, on June 21, 2010 at 1:19 am

        -laughing away-
        if Jill Stuart came here I’ll be one happy girl… T.T I’m so scared I’ll
        run out of the products you know dear! >_< you know that paranoid feeling sometimes? XD

      • Kristy said, on June 20, 2010 at 6:22 pm

        Thanks for the reply!
        However even if they do come to Singapore, no doubt the price would be quite high..
        I love their compact blusher, the one that comes with the little brush.. cute!!

      • Flitter Jae said, on June 21, 2010 at 1:23 am

        Tell me about it! Their four coloured blush right?! It’s so incredibly pretty in real life, babe… >_< lemme go and dig around and see if any reliable people will be holding sprees. 😀 I'll get back to you okay dear?

      • Kristy said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:15 pm

        thanks! but i’m not in a hurry.. just ordered a lot of stuffs, so kinda broke now.. 😛
        but do let me know if you find one.. 🙂

      • Flitter Jae said, on June 21, 2010 at 12:23 pm

        Haha, no problem dear! But argh, I think a lot of them are closed now anyways so hoorah for good timing XD Lesser temptations for us!

      • Kristy said, on June 23, 2010 at 9:30 am

        http://yura-pockylover.livejournal.com/95275.html#cutid1 i saw this.. they usually get stuffs from there and it’s pretty safe. but one thing is i’m lack of funds now T_T have to give this a miss.
        IMO, and the agent fee is quite high too:<

      • Flitter Jae said, on June 23, 2010 at 8:14 pm

        Ah them! XD They linked back to here for their candy doll spree. XD
        Have you ordered from them before? >_<

      • Kristy said, on June 24, 2010 at 5:46 pm

        yup! ordered from them for swimmer before. but i won’t really order again unless i really need it, since the waiting time is pretty long and the agent fee is quite high.. @_@

      • Flitter Jae said, on June 25, 2010 at 8:53 am

        =D Thanks for the tip babe! And =X I saw the 15% agent fee, XD no worries though! Maybe more sprees will come up soon… Then we can both join together. XD

  3. jasmine said, on June 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    i never had jill stuart! maybe i should try it out sometime XD how much was it though!

  4. Ashley said, on June 20, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Wow! I love Jill Stuart!

  5. […] photo shoots because believe or not, I can fit EVERYTHING in there and I’m talking about my Jill Stuart Eyeshadow Palette, plus my mascaras, pencil liner, liquid liner, foundation, sponge, blush, highlighter, contour […]

  6. […] Now, the packaging for the actual product, I’m not so sure about. It’s very slim and is made of plastic so you won’t have to worry about shattering it (quite unlike my Jill Stuart Jelly Eyeshadow). […]


Leave a Reply

