Jae's Blog

Canmake Shimmer Jelly Eyes Launch!

Posted in Canmake by Jae on June 30, 2010

This just in babe!

Canmake just brought Shimmer Jelly Eyes to Singapore~ The launch at Watsons is about two months late but then again -laughing- we’re usually behind on their launches.

The display stand is just so pretty isn’t it? I love their marketing department, I tell you… And having Lena as their spokesperson just adds to the overall appeal of the brand… I’m not sure about Lena’s makeup for this particular launch though… They used green and pink shadows on her and I really don’t think anyone else should try that look.

Snapped a few shots over at Bugis’ Watsons and speaking of which, their Kinokuniya just closed for renovations! -kicking the shutters-

So with this cream eyeshadow, Canmake says it’s:

Milky gel type formulation that solves all of your eyeshadow worries in an instant.
What’s more, it’s waterproof, so it’s resistant to water and sweat!

The packaging of the product is really cute, they come in twist-up tube with a doe foot applicator that fits nicely in the palm of your hand but umm… Every time I pull the applicator up, it brings a crazy load of product along with it so it’s easy to over apply…

I would tap it on the back of my hand first and then apply from the product on my hand rather than with the applicator!

It comes in five colours ranging from pastel to neutral (which I didn’t quite swatch in order. XD) and oh, I took the picture below in the store itself:

Frosty White:
It’s as the name says it is, frosty white… They said it’s good as a base but I really question that because of how garishly white it looks even after  I blend it out.

Sugar Milk Tea:
My favourite colour out of the lot. It’s almost like milk tea but with just a hint of pink in it… It’s so sweet and looks so easy to match with my normal eyeshadow colours… I’m really tempted to go back and grab a tube of this shade! So cute!

Strawberry Parfait:
Okay, so the name sounds cute and the swatch reminds me of those strawberry macaroons from Bakerzin but when I really think about it… Pink on my lids is a definite no-no. I don’t want to look 12! Canmake claims that it won’t make our eyes look puffy but -laughing- hey, they’re a company giving a statement!

Frozen Melon:
Another one of those cute colours that I doubt I will reach for very often… It’s a pastel green that kind of looks like pastel green paint from the squeeze tube. I’m not going there – perhaps it will work when it’s extremely blended out but then what’s the point of the colour then?

Caramel Brown:
I got a shock with how brown this one is. (That just totally sounded funny XD) My advice? Go easy on the application!

This one was taken in a well-lit area and the one below was taken in natural sunlight~

And you know, when brands claims their products to be waterproof, I become very skeptical so I proceeded to test this one out. Lo-ho and behold:

1) It’s not smudge proof for sure.
I wiped everything off with a dry tissue after like 5 minutes of waiting around and I didn’t even have to rub hard… Yikes… I can’t imagine the transfer on my eyes >_< Caramel brown left a stain behind though… And it’s wasn’t a pretty stain.

2) It’s not waterproof.
I washed it right off without having to use soap.

-shaking head- Tsk. So much for claiming to be waterproof… -laughing- See why I walked away now?! I don’t want my eyeshadow to start shifting all over my face by like 11AM!

With that, hope the swatches helped you out dear~~~

And oh no, I’ll be checking out the price again for the product really soon! I forgot about that but I think it was.. 16.90SGD?

:X I’LL BE BACK!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kristy said, on June 30, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    great review, if not i think i’ll buy it, waste my money, and regret T_T
    i want more lasting eyeshadows!

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 1, 2010 at 8:17 am

      Heh heh, thank you dear… and tell me about it, when I was younger, I didn’t realize how important lasting power was and had a black eyeshadow migrate.
      -shudder-

      • Rina said, on July 1, 2010 at 11:06 pm

        those who can carry off green look good. otherwise it’s just monster.

        i just saw a woman with green eye shadow a la poster paint, bling earrings and bling necklace and neon orange dress. is it x’mas already????

      • Flitter Jae said, on July 2, 2010 at 7:09 am

        -rolling over laughing- Girl, you’re hilarious! Christmas! XD
        And ohhhh no… >__< Oh man…

  2. Rina said, on June 30, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    ah u are tempting me with the sugar milk tea lol. looks too shimmery though. i don’t wanna turn into disco ball again. 😡

    not everyone can wear green. they either looks like a) monster or b) monster or c) monster.

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 1, 2010 at 8:18 am

      -starts laughing- DISCO BALL! You know, that gives me a funky image of a girl with glitters all over her eyes dancing to staying alive. XD
      And XDDD MONSTER~ I really wonder how this range will do in stores… :X

  3. j1 said, on June 30, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    should have tried washing the swatches off my hand before buying ):
    i bought sugar milk tea, the shimmers aren’t too much and it looks really like on the lids but… i haven’t really tried the last power =/

  4. Ange said, on July 10, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I got the green shimmer n I love it!it stays well the whole day. It’s not garish on the eyelids & spreads well.

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 10, 2010 at 10:55 pm

      Hey Ange!
      😀 Glad to hear that it works well for you! 😀


Leave a Reply

