Jae's Blog

Chacott For Professionals (Finishing Powder) – 01

Posted in Chacott by Jae on July 16, 2010

Guess what I’ve been using for the past two months? -grinning-

Yes, it’s Chacott’s Loose Powder that’s used by pretty much all of EGG models… It’s the number one most used loose powder among all the EGG models and a favourite among the Ageha girls too.

My version, however, is 01 and the more commonly used one is 02. I got 01 cause it fits my skin tone most XD – 01 is the lightest shade in the entire range that has a powder for pretty much very skin tone. >_< Too bad they don’t ship internationally, otherwise I’d surely get 02 as well…

I bought this on my trip to Tokyo from the Shinjuku store! πŸ˜€

Chacott is actually a ballet brand that sells leotards, ballet shoes as well as a host of makeup products for stage performances, not unlike MAC’s makeup line except that for the price you pay with MAC, you can get a lot more product with Chacott – I can’t quite comment on which one is better in term of quality though >_<///

Here’s a look at the inside of the pot!

It’s extremely finely milled and feels really light when applied with my little candydoll puff.

The shade is somewhat true to the picture up there but but but, it does make my face a little whiter? :X I know most people would say that this just means it’s not suitable for my skin tone but it actually sets in after a while and blends into my skin tone.

The best part about it is that it doesn’t oxidize into the disgusting dark shade like other powders… -grinning- Hey, it’s meant for the stage, you can’t have your character one shade darker than when she started right? XD

Oh by the way, oil control with this powder is completely off the charts.

I’m talking about applying the loose powder over my RMK liquid foundation and not having ANY shine the whole entire day from like 11 AM to 9 PM at night? And I do mean the whole entire day with just a little bit of the powder unless like, I’m standing in the afternoon sun for 4 hours or the weather is incredibly hot. It’s absolutely insane because even for Candydoll, I’d have to touch up by midday.

I didn’t believe it at first, so I went and tried the powder as a standalone without any liquid foundation at all and I got the exact same thing.Β I actually asked my partner if I was imaging things and missing the shine or something but the response I got was an incredulous “Nope. It’s like, matte :3 – You’re using foundation?” -starts laughing- I love my partner.

Did I forget to mention that it doesn’t clog pores even though it covers my pores adequately? I tell you, that’s got to the best part about stage makeup – it covers EVERYTHING. I’m really tempted to try out their liquid foundation now but my RMK’s serving me awesomely well.

The coverage of the powder is actually moderate and it managed to make my dull skin come alive just that little bit more. XD

Yes, this is the back of the product and notice that the jar is very deep? Believe it or not, this is the smallest size that they’ve got of all the powders and has got a whopping 30g of product in it for 1260 Yen so it’s value for money beyond value for money. Here’s a price comparison for you, love.

–> MAC’s Loose Powder (8 g) = 22.00 USD = approx. 30.30 SGD

–> Chacott’s Loose Powder (30 g) = 1260 Yen = approx. 19.70 SGD

Chacott’s works out to be about 70 cents per g and MAC’s is oh, just about 3.80 SGD. You tell me which is more worth it. XD

Oh, but I have to say, the product doesn’t come with it’s own puff applicator – you have to purchase one from the store itself and that really bugs me but then again, for the price I’m paying, I’ll live. XD

But oh, the size can be both a pro and con – it’s value for money but it’s incredibly bulky to lug around and when it hits your foot, it really does hurt -testimony to that here- I wish they had like, an even smaller size but then it would defeat the whole purpose of its value so scrap that and I’ll just transfer some to another jar or something.

One last complaint about the packaging: the sifter holes are too large so I, being the clumsy person I am, sometimes find myself shaking too much product up and having to shake everything back down again. -laughing- Yes, I spent some time shaking powder back into the bottom.

But aside from my peeve with the packaging? It’s really awesome.Β I’ve been using the powder for the past 2 months and I’ve got no complaints about the quality of Chacott.

β™‘β™‘β™‘ Chacott For Professionals (Loose Powder) – 01 β™‘β™‘β™‘

βœ”Β Oil Control: 9/10 [Not going to give it full marks because I know that I have to touchup with the weather is incredibly hot.]
βœ”Β Coverage: 8/10 [Yes, higher than Candydoll because it does do a better job.]
βœ”Β Packaging: 5/10 [It’s a double edged sword here… I cut a lot of marks because it doesn’t come with a puff T_T]
βœ”Β Performance: 9.5/10 [My top ranking loose powder at the moment, knocked Candydoll clean off.]
βœ”Β Live up to its claims? It doesn’t claim to do anything, in fact, it’s not widely advertised, just used by many of the models.
βœ”Β Economical? MOST DEFINITELY!

Verdict:
If you haven’t gotten one, you definitely need one. It’s cheaper than most other brands and works like a dream. With its great price and awesome oil control properties, it’s definitely rebuy worthy!

Tagged with: ,

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sherhui said, on July 19, 2010 at 2:18 am

    hi there! what type of skin tone are you? Was thinking of buying this finishing powder as well…. Im NC 20 . (:

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 19, 2010 at 9:18 am

      Hello Sherhui!
      I’m actually a MAC NC30! Hmm… This is the lightest shade on the spectrum for Chacott so I think you’ll do fine with it. πŸ™‚
      Let me know how you go with the powder okay? ^^

  2. Amanda said, on July 20, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Hey Jae, I’m a NC20. Do you somehow sell any sample size for this product? Really interested to see how it will turn out on my skin before I go and purchase the entire product!

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 20, 2010 at 9:36 pm

      Hey Amanda!
      I’ve actually only got one tub and have been using the powder directly from my tub so I’m not sure if it’s too hygienic… >__<

      • Amanda said, on July 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm

        Oh okay then! Will you be ordering any of their powder anytime soon? I always tag my orders with others cos I’ve got no clue on how to order stuffs =/

      • Flitter Jae said, on July 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

        Mmm… I’m still sourcing around right now… >_< I"ll get back to you if I do hold a batch for it okay?
        Don't worry don't worry, I'll be posting it up here so you won't miss out! πŸ˜€

  3. Hazel said, on July 21, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Hello dear. this is actually the famous finishing powder from Chacott, and not the loose powder! If I remember correctly, Chacott only has 2 kinds of powder, this and another one from the Enriching Powder HD line (which only comes in the 30g size). They do not have a “loose powder” per se. The 2 powders are here: http://www.chacott-jp.com/j/cosme/recommend/7879-86751.html (the one you have) and http://www.chacott-jp.com/j/cosme/recommend/7889-86771.htm (HD line)l

    The japanese wordings behind your tub reads:
    Chacott Finishing Powder, shade 764– Ochre 01

    I’ve a similar one, in the same shade, but is numbered shade 754 because it’s the 170g tub. All 30g shades are numbered with ‘6’ as the middle digit, and ‘5 ‘as the middle digit for 170g tubs.

    They actually have 2 new ones, 1 with shimmer in it and 1 summer exclusive! =D
    The gold one’s kinda bronzey! http://www.chacott-jp.com/j/cosme/recommend/2010bronze.html
    The shimmer ones have colour-correcting properties and I’ll definitely want to try them out! http://www.chacott-jp.com/j/cosme/recommend/2010powder.html

    • Flitter Jae said, on July 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

      Hello Hazel!
      πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for the links and the heads up, I really appreciate it!
      OMG, I saw the summer bronze one GAR! You’ve got me tempted by that one too now!!!! OTL
      Which one’s next on your list?! πŸ˜€

      • Hazel said, on July 27, 2010 at 2:54 am

        Haha the colour correcting one! I think the purple one’s good for brightening up the complexion but not too ghastly looking! =D

      • Flitter Jae said, on July 27, 2010 at 10:15 am

        XD Can can~
        Omg, I’m starting to feel my wallet strings come apart… >_<

  4. […] β™‘β™‘β™‘Β Chacott For Professionals (Loose Powder) – 01Β β™‘β™‘β™‘Β  […]

  5. Yvonne said, on August 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

    would u mind holding a batch for this loosepowder mentioned and drop me an email if u do hold a spree at yvonnecmy@live.com ? thanks.

    • Flitter Jae said, on August 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      Hey dear!
      My spree just closed but I’ll be sure to email you again if I open another one! πŸ˜€

  6. Emily said, on September 16, 2010 at 8:30 am

    OMG..yesterday i was like looking through this website..i think its called niyigallery or something…and i saw that lots of ppls bought this, haha i was wondering why

    now i know…& i think im definitely gonna get this

    thanks for the review!!! >_<

    • Flitter Jae said, on September 16, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      -laughing- Yes dear! It’s a really really great product!
      Do try it and let me know how you go with it!

      • Samantha said, on January 14, 2011 at 1:15 pm

        Hi!
        Let me know if you start a chacott spree again~ Thanks!

      • Jae said, on January 14, 2011 at 9:07 pm

        Hey Samantha!
        πŸ˜€ I will dear, but that won’t be for a few months cause of the yen right now.. >_<
        So sorry love…

  7. Wei Ling said, on November 28, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Just wondering if you use any foundation with Chacott loose powder?Would you mind to email me if you are going to organize a spree for the same?

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      Hey Wei Ling!
      πŸ˜€ Well, for days I want heavier coverage, I’ll use my Missha BB Cream before the loose powder, but on days I want to give my skin a break, I’ll just use loose powder! πŸ˜€
      Most certainly! I’ll add you to my mailing list then! πŸ˜€

  8. Claudia U said, on December 15, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Hey there! I just happened to google about diamond lash and boom – this wonderful site came by! I was in the midst of looking for loose powders that will not burn a hole in my wallet. Thanks for the review, it was helpful. And oh btw, if I chose the 2nd lightest shade, would it turn darker later? Not too sure of what shade I should pick, since it is my friend that would be buying for me.

    • Jae said, on December 15, 2010 at 11:57 pm

      Hey Claudia!
      Haha, thank you for dropping by!
      And well, it would really depend on what skin tone you are at the moment… I’ve tried both and neither have turned dark for me.
      I’m an NC30 so perhaps you can use this as a gauge? πŸ˜€

  9. Claudia U said, on December 16, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Haha, thanks for the help, will tell my friend about it!! So, did you do any reviews on good waterproof eyeliners? I find it very hard to spot a good one. Either it is too expensive or the color too light. Worse come to worse, some ‘waterproof’ are not really waterproof! Haha

    • Jae said, on December 18, 2010 at 9:06 am

      Haha, no worries dearie!
      And ah! waterproof eyeliners… Are you after gel or liquid eyeliners love? :3

      • Claudia U said, on December 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm

        Oh It is liquid liner. Btw the shade for this loose powder for you is 757?

      • Jae said, on December 30, 2010 at 8:21 am

        Ah! In that case, I highly recommend Dolly Wink’s Liquid Liner in Black! ^^
        And for this loose powder, I use 764! πŸ˜€ Hope this helps you dear!

  10. Shee said, on December 23, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Hi Jae! Chacott seems really awesome and popular. But I don’t know why my friend couldn’t find it in Japan. Do fill me in when you are organizing a spree for it please! Thanks =D

    • Jae said, on December 23, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      Hey Shee~~~~
      Indeed, it is! Aww, that’s a real shame!!!!
      And most definitely dearie, no worries! πŸ˜€

  11. Applie said, on December 25, 2010 at 12:29 am

    hey there

    i was looking for this all over after i chanced upon it in “Inbox” store, but did not get my hands on it then because i wanted to check out the reviews… and boy, i’m really convinced to get it after i read your reviews.

    could you please let me know if you would be spreeing for this anytime soon? =) i would love to join and get my hands on this product.

    • Jae said, on December 25, 2010 at 2:39 am

      Hey Applie!
      Most definitely dearie~~~! it’s a fabulous product, honestly… I might conduct a spree for it soon! ^_^

  12. Clara said, on December 27, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Hey Jae!

    I would like to join the chacott spree if you open it again, thanx, do email me!

    • Jae said, on December 27, 2010 at 9:55 am

      Hey Clara!
      I’ll add you to my mailing list then! :DDDD

  13. […] The Original Review […]

  14. Fenny said, on February 4, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Hey thanks for the informative review! Please conduct a spree for it soon πŸ˜›

    • Jae said, on February 4, 2011 at 10:58 am

      Hey Fenny!
      ^^ My next spree will be on 14 February actually! πŸ˜€ I”ll be sure to post here to let you know about it as well! ❀

  15. […] one should I order? I’m a MAC NC30 and an RMK102 – I use 764 (makes me fairer) and 766 (more natural -winks-). I’ve reviewed the clear version […]

  16. dayy said, on February 19, 2011 at 12:33 am

    is that so amazing..i realy like to try

    • Jae said, on February 19, 2011 at 9:33 am

      ^^ It really is quite good, Dayy! πŸ˜€

  17. wendy said, on March 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    hi all! anyone tried both #751 and #754? and which one is paler?
    i’d like to get the 170g tub, but afraid i’ll get the wrong shade…
    can anyone please please tell me? thx in advance! πŸ™‚

    • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      Hey babe!
      Unfortunately, I haven’t tried either so I can’t quite comment on that.. So sorry about that! ^^

  18. Sylvia said, on June 2, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Thank you for the review! πŸ™‚
    Just wondering if you would recommend to use this alone or with foundation?
    Thanks! ^^

    • Jae said, on June 3, 2011 at 1:15 pm

      Hey Sylvia!
      ^^ It’s my pleasure! And you can use it either way dearie, but always with a base! πŸ˜€

  19. Dreaness (@delatrizx) said, on May 2, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Hey Jae! Thanks for this review! It’s really informative!

    I’m now dying to get it but not sure where to find it in SG…would Sasa sell it? It’s usually really overpriced though πŸ˜₯

    If you’re conducting a spree for Chacott could you let me know? Thanks!! πŸ˜€ ❀

    • Jae said, on May 3, 2012 at 12:46 pm

      Hey Dreaness!
      πŸ™‚ Thank you for dropping by, sweets, and Chacott isn’t available in Singapore right now…
      And I won’t be holding anymore sprees for the powder anymore, doll… >_< So sorry about that…


Leave a Reply

