Jae's Blog

L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream

Posted in L'Occitane by Jae on July 25, 2010

The skin’s the largest organ on our body, but you already knew that but did you know that while we spend a lot of time, money and effort, trying to maintain the skin on our faces, arms and legs, we often neglect the places closest to those areas? Yes babe, I’m talking about our necks, hands, elbows, knees and feet.

These are the areas where our skin get stretched the most without us realizing it and more often than not, we forget to moisturize them, leading to discoloration and or wrinkles.

I passed by L’Occitane at Raffles City the other day, got really attracted by their Sakura Blossoms display and stumbled across L’Occitane’s best seller, their Shea Butter Hand Cream.

That I have a love-hate relationship with.

First and foremost. It’s expensive for me. I bought the 30ml version that also comes with a shea butter lip balm that only contained 8ml of product at 28.00SGD and ouch, while it might not be as expensive as other hand creams out there from the more luxurious brands, it’s pricey enough for me. 

They’ve got another version that’s like.. Industrial size.

The cap twists off and it comes in a metal-ish squeeze tube… I personally like the packaging cause it’s tote-able and quite classy too :X and yes, I think everyone would recognize the packaging but there runs a risk of accidently coming down on the tube when you’ve got too much stuff in your bag… Which wastes product and just ticks me off.

XD The cream comes out white and quite thick from the tube.

But oh, it takes a lot of product to cover my hands which are not even that big to begin with. See the amount I squeezed out over my hand in the shot above? That’s not enough to cover the back of one hand so you have to be really generous with the amount you use.

And the smell. It’s not intolerable but it smells like Johnson’s Baby Bath Lotion (Milk) exploded over my hands and the smells remains very strong for about 15 minutes before it starts to lighten up but when it does fade? It becomes this nice baby powder smell that makes me feel a little bit sleepy, but that’s just me. 

And in the picture above, it’s  my hand after applying a good layer of the product – it’s really matte and doesn’t look shiny at all right? Ah, looks can be deceiving…

It takes a super long time to absorb into my skin and I’m talking about like 20 to 30 minutes for it to fully sink in but then again, once it does, you’ll definitely know and even when you wash your hands, you won’t feel like you’re washing product off – no wastage which is great.

And the feeling on my skin the morning after is fabulously soft and supple. Just like a baby’s and the smell? Just gorgeous even after a morning shower..

My advise for this hand cream is to use it only at night because it takes such a long time to sink in and it smells nice enough to lull you to sleep.

Jae’s Voice:
I remember my trip to Italy a few years back where I got sunburnt really badly not on my face, arms or legs but on the back of my neck and on my feet and that hurt so much, I can’t begin to tell you how much it took out of me, trying to find a comfortable position to sleep at night. Moral of that story? Remember to apply sunscreen on your neck, hands and feet when you’re out and about because those areas are skin too.

We use our hands for pretty much everything from typing to texting, washing our bodies and even eating so let’s show our appreciation and treat our hands a little better yeah? 🙂

♡♡♡ L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream ♡♡♡
Packaging: 7.5/10 [Portable but dangerous.]
Product: 7.5/10 [It’s definitely good, but it takes a heck of a long time to sink in.]
Economical? I’m on the fence about this one. It does feel expensive to me, but it does its job so if I really have to make a comment about price I’d say, yes it’s worth it but only if it’s within your budget.

Verdict:
It’s a good product with decent packaging and relatively pleasant smell. Get it only if you like the smell of baby powder and have a day hand cream on hand.

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

