Jae's Blog

Shu Uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil – Premium A/O Advance Formula

Posted in Shu Uemura by Jae on September 4, 2010

Ah, yes… My not-so-small green bottle of love.

Since last year, I’ve been using Shu Uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil – Premium A/O Advance Formula and I’m telling you right now that it’s my favourite makeup remover.

Decided to do a little review on this since I have usually talk about makeup products – Makeup removal is just as important as any other step in your makeup regime! So here we go, lovely!

A little background on this cleansing oil lifted from their website

cleansing beauty oil premium a/o is the #1 selling shu uemura cleansing oil in the world. the new advanced formula is empowered with green tea and specially selected gingko leaf extract contains flavonoids, recognized in japan for strong anti-oxidant and micro circulation properties that help to promote transparency and radiance to fatigued skin. the removal of oxidized sebum, which accelerates the aging process, is the first step in anti-aging skincare. the innovative natural origin hpo system has a superb cleansing ability which removes sebum and dramatically increases the removability of waterproof mascara and long-lasting makeup. the advanced formula leaves the skin soft, and refined for a youthful appearance.

Now, the cleansing oil range came about when Mr Uemura saw the Hollywood stars using an oil based makeup remover (Unmask) to remove their heavy makeup.

I use the Premium A/O version although they say that this is for matured skin – I tried the combination skin one (in the pink bottle) before and that made my skin so dry and patchy, I swore off the cleansing oil for close to five years. I’ve got really sensitive skin and it reacts to pretty much everything – heat, cold, the works.

I eventually ended trying it again after I got a nice sample bottle from buying the Shu Uemura x Tsumori Chisato set – I didn’t have a proper skin cleanser back then and actually used my eye makeup remover to clean my face because I thought it would be gentle enough. The horror!

I don’t know how I lived through that period but I thank god that I’m out of it. -laughing- Yes, I know I made some absolutely unacceptable mistakes back then but I’m working hard to correct them now! ๐Ÿ˜€

I cannot emphasize how important it is to have a proper makeup remover because if makeup isn’t completely cleaned off? Hello, clogged pores.

I’ll also confess that I used to Iย HATE it because of how it stung my eyes when I removed my mascara but ah that was where my mistake was.

These days, I tell myself not to be lazy and to NEVER EVER use this for my eyes makeup or my lips, for that matter, because it gives me oil sacs – I only use this for the rest of my face. ๐Ÿ™‚ Clinique’s Take The Day Off for my eyesย always.

This product comes in a pump bottle – Just be sure to be careful when you handle the oil… I’ll explain that bit in a while.

I bought a major-ly huge bottle of the cleansing oil when I finally ran out of my smaller bottle, you’re looking at a 450ML bottle in these pictures~ They also have a smaller bottle in 150ML.

This is how much you’ll get out of one pump. This is enough to cover about half of my face so I usually use about two pumps on heavy makeup days. Don’t use too much because you might find a lot of product flowing down the back of your hand and down the drain for nothing… You really don’t need very much because I’m not kidding when I say that it’s really really really oily.

It also smells a little… Herb-y so if you’ve got a sensitive nose, this might put you off just a little bit.

All you have to do is apply it on the areas you’ve got makeup on and…

Add a little bit of water.

The cleansing oil will start to turn milky – this means that you should start massaging the cleanser gently in a circular motion.

Add more water bit by bit, until the texture of the cleansing oil is watery. Then wash it off with plenty of water.

And there you have it! Clean skin butย don’t stop there!

Even though the sales assistant at the counter said that I wouldn’t have to use any facial foam after using the cleansing oil, I just HAVE to to get rid of the icky feeling of oil. If you’re like me and hate having “films” over your skin, you might want to try this method out ๐Ÿ™‚

After all that, I’ll use my Clinique 7 day scrub to get rid of any last remnants. (You might have guessed by now that I don’t use foundation every single day. v^_^v I try to give my skin days off to rest because it’s not healthy to pile on the makeup every day…)

Then comes my lovely toner and moisturizer (I can’t live without my toner)~ โ™ก -laughing- I know it does sound just a little bit long, but I really think it’s absolutely essential for me! >_<

๐Ÿ˜€ Have you found your HG cleansing oil yet!? I know my Shu is here to stay~!

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. crystal said, on September 5, 2010 at 1:27 am

    heya babe!

    i’ve always wanted to try this when my mom got her first (& apparently, last) bottle of Shu’s CO. same as yours – the green one. she got that when i was wayyyy too young to be… experienmenting is fine but not wearing makeup. think i was in primary school then… can you imagine? i intro-ed my mom to it! *extreme shocked face*

    i thought the feel was reeeeally good & how well it removed makeup. even waterproof ones. sadly, mommy didn’t fancy it. according to her? “too oily”.

    now i’m curious & i wanna try some too!
    can ya tell me what’s what?
    green – matured skin
    blue – brightening
    pink – combi skin.
    what else is there?

    you know… i’m combi too… but if you say it left you dry & worse, patchy (horror of all horrors)…. then imma take the green one too~ every girl could do with anti-aging properties right? hehe~

    • Flitter Jae said, on September 6, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Hey sweety…
      XD You’re one heck of a makeup trooper! Hehe, it’s so awesome that you started so young – we ALWAYS have to start young~ Hehe!
      And it definitely is really good for removing makeup! (Especially when I have to use thick makeup OTL) Hehe, high five on that~ And ah, yeah… XD Some people really cannot take the texture of the CO… But but! Using facial foam might help with that!

      Sure thing!

      You’re right about the green, blue and pink! There are two others as well:
      cleansing beauty oil premium a/i (gold?): this one is apparently for dry skin…
      Yellow: For all skin types! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Hehe! Most definitely about anti-aging… >_<
      It's really really important for us especially because we live in Singapore and we're exposed to the sun quite a lot? Sunscreen and anti-aging alllllll the way~

      • crystal said, on September 6, 2010 at 9:30 pm

        Hehe! yeah i started wayyy to young. it’s all about playing with mommy’s makeup back then… then as girls grow up.. well, you know my drift.. >_<

        yeah she tried washing her face with her facial wash after that, but she still didn't like. she felt like there was still a bit of a "film" left on her face. i guess maybe she's not keen on COs.. if not she just doesn't like anything that's oily.

        have you tried fancl? i used it before & i thought it was pretty alright. just a little too thick. bit hard to "move" it around the face. but really awesome stuff. now i'm trying out biore (purple bottle). it's not bad too, bit "runnier" [if that's even a word] as compoared to fancl.

        i see.. thanks for telling~! ^^
        may i know how much is it as well? for a 150ml & a 450ml bottle respectively?

        PS: could you do a review on kiehl's sunscreen and/or avene's sunscreen?

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 8, 2010 at 11:23 pm

        Oh my gosh, wordpress deleted a whole chunk of my reply to you dear! OTL
        XD it’s never too young to start, BB… I’m really glad when I see girls starting to use skincare products young because I really regret not having started younger!
        And about the film, I really hated it at first too! But then I got used to it very slowly… haha, it really does take a lot of getting used to!
        About fancl, I’d tried it once before but developed red bumps on my cheeks after that so I had to stop using it… oh biore!!! Haha, I’d only ever used the sheet wipes before… Do let me know how you go with it okay?

        And about the sunscreen, I’ve heard some really good things about Avene, so I might give that one a shot!

      • crystal said, on September 9, 2010 at 6:48 pm

        wordpress just LOVE doing that to you huh? hehehehehe~

        well, that’s true. only thing is when we’re younger, we can’t “touch” the richer stuff. my mom likes to tell/remind me that it’s not good for our young skin.

        that’s weird… both you and my mom’s got that thing about the “film”. to me, it’s like “huh? film? what film?” coz i seriously don’t feel anything after using COs. just soft, clean and non-dried out skin. i think i’ve got some really good fate with COs. hahahahaha XD

        sad to hear about your bad experience with fancl ):

        oh.. for biore (purple), it’s not bad and it smells nice too! it removes makeup really well, even waterproof mascara (think MM: their mascaras are hardest to remove! especially with all that fiber!). after that, i usually do the double cleansing method to make sure my skin is squeaky clean – no dirt, grime or clogged pores.

        since i haven’t tried Shu’s CO, so i can’t make a comparison but i think that COs are generally the same in the sense that after slathering some on the face, you should try to get all possible corners & massage it for about 1 – 2mins. add water bit by bit & massage. then finally wash it off.
        what’s the pricing for the big bottle? i remember it’s like SGD$100+ or something.

        really? so far, i’ve read that it’s good but problem is that most girls found it too oily or emollient in Sg’s climate. lemme know how that goes! ^^

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 10, 2010 at 11:48 am

        XD yes it does… T_T I can’t understand why at all!

        AND IT DID IT AGAIN!!! I CAN’T BELIEVE IT! SILLY WORDPRESS!!!! Argh!!!

        And XD my mom wouldn’t let me touch the expensive stuff – that would be my word for it! XD

        Mmm! Biore sounds strangely enticing now… It’s a lot cheaper than SU… Hmm… I might just give that one a shot!

        Haha, yup! It’s a little over 100, but I can’t quite remember the exact price… The bottle is absolutely MASSIVE though, so I don’t think I’ll ever run out!

        Oh dear… I’ve only heard good stuff about it… Yikes! I'm kinda scared by that "oily" bit now though!!!

      • crystal said, on September 11, 2010 at 5:56 pm

        ever considered “moving house”? to blogspot or xanga?

        oh yaaaaa… true true! my mom tells me that too! LOL! epic reason: “girl, don’t touch this! very expensive you know!”

        yeah.. biore’s good stuff too, especially the cheaper than SU part.. not to forget, cheaper than fancl too! my cousin tried the blue bottle, she said it’s pretty good too. i haven’t tried it and probably won’t coz it doesn’t have a pump head, so the whole bottle is gonna be all oily. i like my CO fuss-free and user-friendly. hehe~ XD

        alright.. i’ll check it out when i can ^^

        hmmmm… i’m opposite of you – been hearing the bad stuff – only. like online reviews.. HAHAHA!
        i guess the “oily” part comes from it being too rich or moisturizing… coz a lot of reviews that i read, seems like all the ladies got the same thing going on.. strangely~ ):

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

        XD I’m actually too used to wordpress to move right now! -laughing- WordPress’ mainframe is really compact and easy to navigate so I might be staying here for a while!:D

        And hahaha, tell me about it! Ahhhhh, our childhood days when everything’s too expensive for us to use… XD Oh! isn’t the blue bottle the water based version? :X Hmm… Which one is that one? And yikes!!!! Thanks for the heads up dearie! I might not try that one then! I hate it when stuff are too heavy on my skin… I end up washing the product off mid day!

      • crystal said, on September 13, 2010 at 12:42 pm

        i see… then you can’t complain about what wordpress does to abuse their lovely users ^^

        yeah.. the blue one’s suppose to be the water-based one but it doesn’t feel anything like.. well.. water!
        you know how mandom’s cleansing water range (moist, sebum, Q10 & brightening) is truly the texture, feel and viscosity of water? biore’s water-based one isn’t like that. it’s like calling it “water-based cleansing oil” is more accurate, but then again, the name totally clashes and boggles your mind; “oil or not? water or not?”
        that’s why when i tried the tester on the back of my hand, i got confused. i told my cousin “walao… cheat my feelings! this is not even water-based! how can it be called water-based?! is biore stupid or what?!”

        if you’re skipping avene’s one, then you can try kiehl’s. hear some pretty good stuff about it – ultra light daily UV defense SPF50/PA+++ (recommended by taiwanese skincare guru niu er lao shi on NRWZD) & nymphaea alba UV shield SPF35/PA+++.

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 14, 2010 at 5:58 pm

        :X Ehh? Abuse their users? What do you mean, dear? :3

        And haha, don’t they all?! I swear, when I first heard about cleansing oils, I got so freaked out but I would never have dreamt of putting oil on my face… Then I found Shu Uemura and my life changed XD Ahh… So Biore’s isn’t as light huh… -laughing- your cousin is hilarious!

        Kiehls… Haha, the only things I’ve ever actually tried from them were their hair wax and their lip balm… Which were pretty good… I have to say, I love their mascot. XD

      • crystal said, on September 14, 2010 at 11:16 pm

        abuse because you took the time to type so much & it got deleted! LOL!!!

        i was pretty excited when i heard about COs. i thought it was a miracle!
        ehhhhhh.. i think you meant me, not my cousin. i was the one who told her that. XD

        yeah i heard good things too!

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 16, 2010 at 12:54 pm

        -sending lots of love and cookies-
        Hehe! Thank you so much BB~~~
        And oh my gosh, I swear, the skeleton~~~~ -laughing- Whenever I pass by their store, I’ll go and look at him :X
        I think the staff recognise me. XD

      • crystal said, on September 16, 2010 at 3:40 pm

        woohoo! free foooood~!!!!!!!!!!!! XD

        you know… for some reason… i always felt that the mascot totally doesn’t suit the pristine interior design & brand image of kiehl’s.
        like…… it’s telling me “if you don’t use kiehl’s, you end up like this bugger here! strip of his flesh!” -insert piratey laugh that comes out of nowhere in the shop-
        LIKE THAT!

        but i tried going in into the shop once before… i walked out with a lipgloss.
        til now, i can’t decide do i like it or not.
        it’s one of those “hmmmmm…” kinda products after trying to out.

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 17, 2010 at 5:49 pm

        -starts laughing-
        Girl, you’re HILARIOUS. XD I couldn’t stop laughing at your pirate rendition of Mr Bones. XD
        Try their lip balm dearie! It’s quite moisturizing!

      • crystal said, on September 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm

        hehe~ didn’t know i’ll tickle your bones!

        ohhhhhh~ the lip balm.. i’ve heard about it. loads of awesome reviews out there?
        isn’t it the tube one? gel type right?
        i wanted to try it til i came across a review that said it actually melted and turned all liquidy. so wasn’t sure i would wanna use a lip balm like that one.
        i mean.. i can’t imagine squeezing out some lip balm and then messing up my hands in public! major gross out!

        does yours melt on you?

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 18, 2010 at 6:05 pm

        XD I’m not sure if it’s very raved about because I bought it when my lips were chapped and horrible… I’ve got almost CHRONICALLY dry lips T_T
        It’s HORRIBLE! And yup yup! It’s the one from the tube!
        Oh dear… It melted?! Hmm.. That didn’t happen for mine… But that’s probably because my room’s got a/c pretty much 24/7 XD I’ll melt in Singapore’s heat…

        And haha, I used to squeeze it out directly onto my lips and then smear it on but I’ve since moved on to my Korres lip butter so :X XD

  2. sherhui said, on September 8, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    hi there, just wanna share this good piece of news to you. although this comment was not related to cleansing oil here >,<

    ranzuki (october issue) got free upper and lower eyelash!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    the bottom one really looks like dolly wink nude 5!! somemore i took mine and counted the number of strands at the computer screen. anyway i got my piece of information at here: http://kinokuniyacbjbpromotions.blogspot.com/2010/09/japanese-magazine-ranzuki-with-freebies.html

    hehe. Im so going to get it!!!

    • Flitter Jae said, on September 8, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Hey BB!!!!
      ๐Ÿ˜€ haha, I swear, we think SO alike!!! -laughing- you totally beat me to the announcement!

      I tried the lashes on today and will be posting my review tomorrow! Hehe! The upper lashes look a lot like the ones from dolly wink #2! >_<

      • sherhui said, on September 8, 2010 at 11:45 pm

        okay~ can’t wait for your review!!! ahahaha ๐Ÿ™‚ its dolly wink cheat!!

      • sherhui said, on September 8, 2010 at 11:54 pm

        hahaha. birds of a feather flock together? hahaha LOL

        wow you are fast!! cant wait for your review!! haha

        but at least its a cheaper version of the expensive dolly wink ๐Ÿ™‚ dolly wink cheat.

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 9, 2010 at 9:11 am

        -laughing- definitely! And XD thanks dearie… โค
        I'll be posting up the review asap! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Rina said, on September 13, 2010 at 9:33 pm

        i suddenly got dolly wink #2 working!! i dunno what happened, think i snipped off one more strand from each side, then it just worked and looked like tsubasa’s on the packaging! =D

      • Flitter Jae said, on September 14, 2010 at 5:53 pm

        are you serious babe?!
        Mmm… I might just give that one another shot then… T_T Hope it’ll go well for me too! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. sherhui said, on September 8, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    opps sorry I was too excited for the lashes that I sent you 2 same messages. sorry!!

  4. […] really, a lot of it boils down to how effectively makeup is removed from the skin. I usually use my Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil and double cleanse (facial wash + exfoliate) after […]

  5. blackisthenewblack said, on February 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

    mmm I LOVE the shu cleansing oils, but haven’t tried this particular one before. Thanks for posting!

    • Jae said, on February 23, 2011 at 11:48 am

      XD No worries babe!!!
      I’m glad you found it useful!

  6. 18thclady said, on April 12, 2012 at 2:41 am

    I used this cleanser for 6 years and really liked it. I ordered it recently only to find they had changed the formula. The fantastic aroma-therapeutic fragrance was gone and it was like washing with cooking oil. I was disappointed and disgusted. I tried to use it for about 2 weeks, but truly hate it now. I returned the large ($77.!!!) bottle. I now use a liquid Black African soap—about $7. for a bottle, and love it. I will not buy Shu Uemura again.

    • Jae said, on April 29, 2012 at 2:13 am

      Hey 18thclady!
      I’m so sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the cleanser… I’ve actually stopped using this product as well and will be writing up a post on this as well… Thanks for dropping this note though and I really hope to see you around again soon! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

