Jae's Blog

Missha Cho Bo Yang BB Cream Review! ♡ [01 – Natural Beige]

Posted in bbcream, Kumicky, Missha, POPTEEN, TOFULOVE by Jae on September 29, 2010

And I’m back again with another review! 😀 hehe! All this reviewing makes me really excited cause it’s always something new and always takes me one step closer to finding my perfect product.

Today’s product is Missha’s Cho Bo Yang BB Cream that’s been used by Kumicky in almost all her makeup tutorials. She used this with her TOFULOVE sponge and yes, I’ve been hunting for this item for AGES now and finally found it at the basement of Orchard Central.

Oh, by the way, my review for TOFULOVE can be found HERE!

It retails at about 54.00SGD I think… I bought this item maybe two weeks ago and tossed the receipt… T_T So sorry, sweethearts!

Now, according to an online source, and I quote:

Missha Misa Cho Bo Yang BB Cream SPF 30 PA++ is specially design for mature skin type. It contains preciously selected traditional oriental medicine and has been prepared using the current Nanoliposome technique.

Main oriential medicines include:

  • 10% Wild Ginseng – for skin firming and anti-againg
  • Cordycep Sinensis- is well-known as an important nourishing, for brightening and soothing
  • Velvet Ext
  • Pure Gold

There’s 50g of product in every tube. Haha, I think it’s quite worth the price seeing that it’s supposed to contain Ginseng and the works. I swear, I was really shocked when I saw what it contains! Pure gold, imagine that!

It’s supposed to be for matured skin but -laughing- you’d probably have noticed by now that I’m already using a range of anti-aging products so this one is just another one to add to my arsenal.

The box that it comes in is nice cause it’s got raised patterns that give it that classic oriental look… I think it’s a really nice touch to the product because most of their other packages are very simple and underwhelming.

Here’s the actual tube! Notice that the words 美思 [Which is Missha] are in gold? It gives the tube a really elegant feeling somehow… The lady at the store told me that the Cho Bo Yang BB Cream is the newest BB cream at the store but mmm… Looking at my back issues of POP, -pausing- I don’t quite think so? :X

It’s a twist open squeeze tube that’s got a pretty small nozzle so you won’t have to worry about squeezing too much out. 🙂

I’ve got really clumsy hands and find myself having trouble with squeeze tubes ALL the time. I always either squeeze too much or too little and then have to squeeze more and instead squeeze too much. Did that make sense? XD Didn’t have trouble with this one though!

Look look, it’s got SPF 30 which is perfect for me because -confessing- I don’t actually use sunscreen. -laughing- I see that look on your face already but honestly! I don’t use sunscreen because my sunscreens usually give me breakouts… So when I saw that this one contains protecting, I jumped at it.

And in case you’re interested in where your products are made, it was made in Korea~

This BB cream comes in two shades, 01 and 02 with 01 being the lighter shade and 02, well duh, the darker.. I bought 01 naturally! Haha! I actually found 01 a little too light for me at first but found that after maybe… 2-5 minutes, the colour sets in and blends into my own skintone.

Then I use my Chacott loose powder over it so set it and my skin actually stays pretty much shine free for the rest of the day but honestly, I think it’s got more to do with my Chacott loose powder than anything else. [OH OH OH! I’ll be having new reviews of my Chacott haul in different shades soon so come back soon! 😀]

-laughing- Yes, I know I’m hairy. Waxing job, here I come but I’m so lazy… T_T

Take note here, the distinct difference between the area with and the area without the BB cream?

The area with the BB cream is lighter and almost has a pearly appearance. Now, when I applied it on my face, that’s very clearly heck loads fairer than my arms, it sets right in and gives my face a really nice glowy effect because of the pearly bits!

I’ve been using it for the past week now and so far so good! I really really like the scent that the BB cream has but I don’t quite know how to explain it…. It’s neither floral nor herbal nor zesty…. It’s more of that classic foundation smell but just a little bit more floral and a little lighter. My nose was definitely happy with it.

Another thing I really like about it is how light it feels on my skin. It’s incredible because I HATE feeling like there’s gunk on my skin. It doesn’t tug during the application process either because of how light it is!

In terms of coverage, well, as you can see from the picture of my arm, it’s got some amounts of coverage. But of course, it’s not exactly the best when compared to real liquid foundation like my RMK Liquid Foundation. Light coverage is what I say it gives. 🙂

♡♡♡ Missha Cho Bo Yang BB Cream Review! [01 – Natural Beige] ♡♡♡

Coverage: 6.5/10 [Not very much compared to my normal foundation. XD Then again, it’s BB cream.]
Oil Control: -/10 [Because I patted loose powder on top, I can’t quite say how well the BB cream does in this department]
✔ Ease of application: 8/10 [It was easy enough since the squeeze tube’s really awesome]
Smell: 10/10 [I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THE SMELL]
✔ Price: It’s kind of pricey…

Verdict:
Rebuy worthy! Definitely for days that I want light coverage and a treat for my nose. XD

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. crystal said, on September 29, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    ohhhhhhh! u gots it~!!!!!

    it’s ok… all girls & women need a little bit of anti-aging here and there.
    too bad such stuff usually doesn’t have very good oil control for younger skins. i usually have to blot my T-zone after… about 2hrs. that is using the BB cream without pressed powder. with pressed powder… about 2 & a half hrs.
    but miraculously… after blotting, i’m ok for the day! ^^ *background magic shines out of BB cream*

    i find this a little think to “move around the face” though…

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 1, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      😀 YES I DID!!!
      And hahaha, most definitely! Cause a lot of us don’t use anti-aging cream and the work till it’s faaaaar too late…. T_T and -laughing- girl, I swear, you’re just HILARIOUS! And haha, maybe you should try out the Chacott powder, BB… It’s really really good for oil control you know! ♡

      • crystal said, on October 1, 2010 at 2:38 pm

        hehe~ XD
        *pirate voice from kiehl’s skeleton mascot* ah-rrr! i’ve tickle yer bones again did i matey?

        i try not to use too many “oil control” products in case my pores decide to have diarrhoea and secrete too much oil that day… -_-”
        i try to pay more attention to hydrating my face as much as i can. coz i notice then the more moisturized my skin is, especially the T-zone, i don’t have much oil trouble and makeup glues on better to my cheeks.
        and blotting once a day (at mid-day), is usually good enough. coz school’s a/c-ed. it’s only when i step out into the sun to shop or wadever… then maybe gotta blot 2 times for the day.

        but… yeah… i should try chachott… AFTER finishing my current one. LOL!!! there’s still so much left coz i hardly use it.
        thanks for the tip~! ^^

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 1, 2010 at 6:09 pm

        WAHAHAHAHAHA!
        Definitely dear, cause it kind of tricks your pores… OTL I hate that…

        And haha, okay dear~~~ Spree at the end of the year so don’t worry~~~ Hehe! I’ve got so many loose powders at home, the last time my other friends came over to visit, they asked me how many faces I’ve got. XD I’ll NEVER finish my makeup, I swear… I’ve got so many lipsticks too!!!

      • crystal said, on October 1, 2010 at 9:54 pm

        yeah.. i think it does…

        oops~! confessions confession confession… all coming out bit by bit!

        this is 1 of the things guys just don’t get;
        i usually shut them up with: “do u want girls to look good or not?”
        if they answer: “i want natural.” i’ll say: “the day u start eating raw grass is the day girls will give up on makeup!”

        usually does the trick. HAHAHAHA!
        even the natural look also have a weee bit of makeup to look fresh. dumb dumbs! XD

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 2, 2010 at 8:58 am

        XDDD

        And wahahaha, TOO TRUE! I think some of them don’t actually know how much makeup some girls wear :X
        And YEAH! I know right?! I actually kind of think natural looks are the hardest to achieve with makeup! T_T It’s so hard to keep everything under control!

      • crystal said, on October 2, 2010 at 5:31 pm

        i think the correct thing to say is – majority of guys don’t know how much makeup we do put.

        show them some gyaru mag & they’ll say “why makeup so thick?”
        when in fact it’s not. is just that using dark colours look like it is.

        i totally don’t bother with trying to do the natural look. hahahaha! it’s like wad u said – a little too hard to control on the amount to use. specifically concealer & blusher.

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 3, 2010 at 6:24 pm

        XDD Yup, though i’ll have to admit that I try to keep it a little lighter cause I’m so lazy to remove it at the end of the day… :3
        Heheh! And DEFINITELY ABOUT THE BLUSHER! >_< Thank god for loose powder, I tell you!

      • crystal said, on October 3, 2010 at 11:26 pm

        OMGGGG! U SEE! U AGREE ON THE BLUSHER TOO!
        i think blusher is one of those things we girls can’t live without, yet we tend to go a overboard with it, thinking: “maybe a lil’ more will look good on me.” THEN, and only then, do we end up with wayyy to much of it.
        total agreement – thank goodness for loose powder!!! *fireworks explode*

        i found a real good way to “lift” makeup in case of accidentally applying too much.
        just use a face mist or my alternative – get a daiso atomizer & fill up with water.
        spray the face mist all over after u’re done with ur base make.
        take tissue, gently blot.

        i did this & mannnnn… i lifted quite a bit of makeup off my face!
        (sometimes when i’m in a rush, everything doesn’t come out right – literally. too much BB cream gets squeezed outta the tube or the sponge picks up wayyy too much powder foundation etc… blusher too!)
        try it~ ^^ real life saver!

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 5, 2010 at 11:05 pm

        XDD Yes I doooo~~~~ And I know right!?

        Mmm… Face mist… I might give that a shot the next time I overdo my blush… Mmm… 😀 Thanks for the tip dear!
        And XDD I HATE rushing through my makeup too! T_T You know, sometimes, when I’m rushing, I feel like not putting any makeup on at all!

        -sending love- hehe! Thank you BB!

      • crystal said, on October 6, 2010 at 12:03 am

        “it’s soooooo fluffyyyyyyy!!!!!!” *kena whopped with the love you’ve sent*
        weeeeeeeeeeee~!!!!!!!!!!!!

        it works for me so i hope it works for you ^^
        try & let me know ok?

        YEAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!! i hate rushing my makeup toooo! i hate looking imperfect when i intend to step out of the house with makeup.
        so even if i’m in a rush, i tryyyyyy… to at least get my base makeup to set properly.
        no eyeshadow, nevermind.
        BUT! base and brows MUST be purrrrfect.

  2. Keita said, on September 30, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Hey gal ^.^

    Just wanna let you know tommorow venemous villains will launch at tangs orchard and tangs vivocity 🙂

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm

      THANK YOU SWEETY! 😀
      hahaha, I’ll be putting this info out on my twitter as well~~! ♥

  3. tiffany said, on December 7, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    very helpful review! in fact i got a few samples of it in my recent trip to korea and i actually LOVED it!! am gonna ask my BFF to help get two tubes of cho bo yang bb cream when she comes back!!

    P.S.: you could try biore’s UV perfect face milk (SPF 50, PA+++) if you haven’t already!! i hated all the suncreens i had tried until this. it’s not only oil-free, but leaves a slight powdery feel behind, and doesn’t cause your makeup to run or anything (not even when you reapply it!). and the best part is it costs only $11 (i usually buy a few of it when it’s going for $8++ at watson’s periodic sales) and one bottle lasts a few months! very value for money indeed! 😀

    • Jae said, on December 8, 2010 at 8:35 am

      Hey Tiffany!
      I’m really glad you found it useful! 😀 It really is good isn’t it!? Ahhhh, you lucky lucky girl – it’s so much cheaper in Korea compared to Singapore… About half the price if I’m not wrong! >_<

      Mmm… Biore Face Milk… I'll be sure to look it up when I head down to watsons today love! Hehe, thanks so much for the heads up~~~~ ♡

  4. Stephanie Dixon said, on August 16, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Can you please tell me how dark this bb cream is? I am very fair complected and I found this BB Crean on sale for 9.99 & I really want to get it because its such a good deal, but Im afraid it will be to dark for my skin! Here is a link to my facebook so you can see my picture to show how fair complected I am. Thanks so much!
    http://www.facebook.com/steph.ndixon

    • Jae said, on August 29, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Hey sweets!
      It’s suitable for an NC20-25~! Hope this helps!


Leave a Reply

