Jae's Blog

MAC Venomous Villains IS IN SINGAPORE! [+ swatches and why I call it the REALLY REVOLTING COLLECTION]

Posted in BAD, MAC, Product Launch by Jae on October 2, 2010

My precioussssss~~~~~

-laughing- Did I freak you out with that?! I know I freaked myself out because guess what, MAC’S VENOMOUS VILLAINS COLLECTION IS FINALLY IN SINGAPORE!

Good lord, after all that waiting, like FINALLY but what a complete disappointment this was.

*** Special thanks to Keita for the heads up about the collection hitting the stores! ***

I swung by bright and early and found like 2 other ladies already dressed up as the Disney Villains and taking pictures! -laughing-

First up, pictures of the display~~~ So sorry about the quality… I had to be sneaky cause they don’t usually allow pictures. :X

I need to apologize for not having any good swatches of the products [this girl was rushing to work this morning] butttttttttt I have to say some things:

1) All the beauty powders were a disappointment for me.
Briar rose looked funky for me FYI, so if you’re an NC30 like me, you might have the same trouble. And by the way, Oh So Fair will be repromoted so don’t be in a hurry to grab this one unless you’re into the packaging which, you’d probably have noticed, I’m not a fan of.

2) Bite of an Apple was HORRIBLE on me.
Too darn garish!

3) Toxic Tale is REALLY bright coral.
So if you don’t like bright bright bright coral, then you won’t quite like it. I had wanted to get it but yuck. Just tooooo bright for me!

4) Magically Cooling Powder just isn’t quite as cooling as I expected.
Mmm. It just.. Felt like powder, honestly. One of the MAs made it sound like such a big deal but mmm. Haha, it’s nothing my Chacott can’t do.

5) About Melon…
If you’re planning to grab the Melon pigment,  remember that it’s a permanent item!

6) I hate the compact mirror. :3
It’s… So… Scary.

I’ve talked about most of the most hotly discussed products so let me move on and let you know that I have something else that might interest you. How about some of my OWN swatches on myself? 😀 -grinning-

I only bought two items from this collection, Innocence, Beware! lipstick and Strange Potion lipglass.

This is how they look like on the outside! Yes, it’s like their concept sketches… :3 I don’t know… I think I like the Evil Queen packaging better somehow. It looks a lot more classy than the rest.

Here’s a better view of the Evil Queen packaging! Yes, she’s the one from the Disney cartoon, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs!

-laughing- You know, when I was really young, my neighbour, Uncle Billy, actually commissioned a Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs book for my birthday… It had my name throughout the book cause he’d altered the story to include me and everyone around me in it! XD I’m going to see if I can dig it out from my library and show it to you one day cause it’s absolutely hilarious!

Here’s Cruella from 101 Dalmatians! >_< Can you imagine ANYONE skinning puppies for coats?! Goodness me! I’d NEVER buy products like that! Heck, I’ll never wear fur! In any case, this is about the lipstick so:

Mmm.. Red swirls inside… Nice touch but not my cup of tea.

Mmm… Definitely not my cup of tea. I’m sorry, love… It’s.. Really.. Revolting… HAHA, they should rename the collection to Really Revolting. :3

Yes, the Innocence Beware that was sold out shortly after its online release on the US MAC website. I tried it in stores and snapped it right up. Was it worth it?

Not quite, in my opinion. So it’s got a little pink and more nude but… It’s nothing really O.o and it does highlight EVERY SINGLE FLAW in my lips. Argh! I hate that! Should I return this?!

And ah yes, Strange Potion. Another one.

Purple insides~! -laughing- I just made that sound so wrong but moving on!

It’s… Really Revolting. >_< And the product itself was… Well. You be the judge. I layered it on top of my Innocence, Beware and I HATE it.

EVERY DARN FLAW IS VISIBLE and my lips look A COMPLETE WRECK! I swear that when I applied everything, my lips were exfoliated, clean and whatever else so that THIS -pointing above- should ABSOLUTELY NOT HAPPEN.

I really have to say, this is one collection that I not only not like but absolutely HATE. You read what I said but do head down and swatch everything before deciding okay dear? I’m an NC30 by the way and will be trying to return both products. Yuck yuck yuck yuck yuck.

It’s MAC’s worst collection yet.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. splattergirl said, on October 2, 2010 at 4:54 am

    I hated it too, heartless and wicked ways is ok, same with she who dares, but too uncasual for me. I’ll wait for a cheap ass second hand sale, eventually.
    I am nw15 and oh so fair and her own devices didn;t show on my hand at all except if I packed them like mad.
    I got nothing, saved money for prolongwear foundation and a lipstick.
    crappy collection with crappy packaging.

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 2, 2010 at 8:57 am

      Hey splattergirl!
      Haha, there we go… It’s alright though, it looks like we’ve got a lot more collections to look forward to! XD
      MAC comes up with collections like some kids use water and ah well… As you said, money saved for other collections – I’m going to try to exchange the product for some of the stuff from Fab Felines… Hmmm. Hopefully the collections after this one won’t be this bad. @_@

  2. splattergirl said, on October 2, 2010 at 10:55 am

    they shouldn’t, there are 4 more this year :O and there are gonna be interesting shadows and NEW PAINT POTS, temptalia and my lips but better blogs have info about them. Except tartan tale there are gonna be cham-pale,peacocky and stylishly yours.

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 3, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      ^_^ I certainly hope so and yes, I’ve heard of them and I really look up to Christine! 🙂
      So far, the only collection I’m looking forward to is Peacocky! 🙂 Here’s to some great collections to come!

  3. Joanne said, on October 3, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Babe, I’m a NC30 and Oh So Fair looks gorgeous on the face! The swatches have got to be deceiving! Haha=X

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 3, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      Hey dearie!
      ^_^ I’m really glad it worked out for you~!
      Haha, it’ll be repromoted in A Tartan Tale so if you happen to run out by then, you’ll be able to pick another one up then! 🙂

  4. dreamer246 said, on October 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    I’m sorry but I really disagree with what you have to say about this collection, and it seems like you have something against bright/bold makeup colors (why am I not surprised then that you bought 2 relatively ‘safe’ nude items). I think this collection is friggin awesome, and I haven’t been this excited about a collection in a damn long time since I’ve about reached my saturation point with makeup. Briar Rose looked ok on me, and I’m NC35, so it has probably got to do with your undertones that caused it to be funky looking. I recommend checking out Dark Deed l/s and Darkly My Dear blush too, that is, if you don’t mind the colors.

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 5, 2010 at 11:20 pm

      Hi dreamer246!
      No worries, I completely respect your opinion and I will have to say that while I do tend towards lighter colours, as you can see from my images of Strange Potion, which is more of a coral, my stance of the product is because it didn’t actually go on well for me in spite of having tried it twice. ^^|| I did also mention that it’s the texture that I didn’t like of both the products. 🙂

      In response to the rest of your comment, I’m really glad that you enjoy this collection and that Briar Rose worked out for you! I did and always do advise my readers to head down to swatch the items in stores to decide for themselves because I understand that everyone’s different so what may work for me may not for you and vice versa.

      Thank you very much for your suggestions by the way and thank you for dropping by! ^_^

  5. dreamer246 said, on October 6, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I classify Strange Potion as a neutral too – I wear peach/corals as neutral/nude shades, like Jazzed lipstick which Strange Potion is close to. This is coming from someone who rocks crazy, bold makeup colors, so yeah. Bite Of An Apple can be really pretty if applied with a light hand, and so is Toxic Tale (didn’t buy it coz I already have Coral Polyp which is almost identical). Maybe you should head over to Specktra to see how people are rocking this collection.

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 6, 2010 at 10:22 am

      ^_^ Ah… Mmm… -laughing- Difference of opinion over there! 😉
      I actually really like jazzed but mmm, it does turn up rather nude-ish on me compared to strange potion – once again, products turn up differently on different people 🙂

      Haha, that’s great that you like bold colours perhaps I’ll actually break out of my nude-pink shell to try out bright colours!
      Thanks for your tips dear!

  6. Keita said, on October 7, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks for your special thanks Xp

    Hmm heard the mineral eyeshadow is nice though. I didnt got the chance to buy any product cos the launch was my dad’s birthday and today is the launch for other counters.. but im now on MC at home *sob sob*

    Wow I wanted to get strange potion… now after seeing this entry makes me pounder… hmmm

    How did you guys know ur skin is nc 30 and stuff? I m confused with all the numbers because sometimes when I sell my second hand cosmetics people ask me that… I dont know >.<

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 7, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      XD No worries dearie! The info came from you yo… Of course must thank you ♡

      -nodding- It’s actually one of the sought after products… I swatched it but found that I didn’t quite need another eyeshadow… Maybe try ringing up one of the ladies at the mac counter to see if any are left? And omg, how are you feeling now? -patpat- Rest well kay?

      And eeeeeeek, strange potion… You know, I tried it again this morning and it was epic fail again. =.=||| Man…

      About the code, I got matched to this shade a few years back when I was in Melbourne! All you have to do is swing by your nearest MAC counter and ask one of the ladies to match a foundation colour up for you! 😀 Hehe, no worries… I didn’t know either… But they’ll do the work for you at the counter so do drop by when you can kay? ♡

  7. Keita said, on October 8, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    Boooohooohooo T.T I went to raffles city, taka, ion alll sold out! omg! T.T I cant get anything at all T.T

    Hmmm for lipstick and gloss for me I think Anna Sui is nice. 😀 Maybe you can try?

    Now I using Lip Rouge G 700 and Lip gloss is 306.

    Its nice 😀 For me its quite moisturizing. Not sure for you though Xp

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 10, 2010 at 8:34 am

      Hey BB~!!!!
      T_T Omg, which one did you want to grab?!
      And haha, I think some of the models use Anna Sui as well… I really like their packaging so I might swing by their counter when I have the time XD
      Hmm… Moisturizing… Sounds good to me… To the counter I go~ Thanks for the tip dear! ❤

      • Keita said, on October 11, 2010 at 3:54 pm

        Hmmm somehow I feel I didnt get to grab the products is a lucky things 0.o?? Seems like most of the people are saying it sux??? 0.o

        Hmm I wanted to get:
        Strange potion
        She who dares mineral eyeshadow
        Formidable nail polish.

        Hee hee let me know about ur feelings for anna sui when you tried. I waiting for their new collection Xp The pouch looks kinda cute, got moon and star one Xp

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 11, 2010 at 7:20 pm

        Hmm… Haha, actually, it’s divided, I would think… Cause some girls adore the products while other people really hate some items…
        And haha, I know for sure that Strange Potion isn’t the most unique product so I sold mine… I’m not so sure about the nail polishes but a lot of girl went crazy over Bad Fairy… XD I’m not a big nail polish fan though…

        Definitely! I saw their advertisement for their new foundation too! T_T I foresee some major spending…
        Hehe! I know right?! I love their designs so much!

  8. Charmaine said, on October 9, 2010 at 12:52 am

    I AM SO DISAPPOINTED. Strange Potion looked sooo amazing on Temptalia’s swatches, BUT. And the rest! I had a huge list of products I wanted to get by looking at Temptalia’s swatches, but after today I only got 2 pigments. =.=;;;; I’m on the waiting list for the liquid powder. And that’s it!!!!

    Totally agree with you!

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 10, 2010 at 8:35 am

      I know right?!

      -sending hugs- We’ll have more collections to look forward to, sweety! So let’s sit tight and hope for the best kay? T_T I find myself getting very disappointed with a lot of MAC’s collections… Sigh…

      And ah!!!! You so have to share with me about the liquid powder’s coverage! Must let me know okay!?

      • Charmaine said, on October 10, 2010 at 10:58 pm

        Yes!!! I realised that too, M.A.C’s latest few collections just don’t do justice to their name. =( I hope the remaining few collections for 2010 will be awesome!

        Okay! I’ll let you know when I get it! 😀

      • Flitter Jae said, on October 11, 2010 at 7:17 pm

        T_T Definitely praying hard…
        I’m so looking forward to A Tartan’s Tale! 😀 Hehe!

        Yay!

  9. Charmaine said, on October 24, 2010 at 2:08 am

    HEY!! A Tartan Tale is out already!!!!! XD


Leave a Reply

