Jae's Blog

Jae’s Voice: POPTEEN Anniversary Issue [November 2010] –> The Real Models.

Posted in Jae, Kumicky, POPTEEN, Tsubasa Masuwaka, Yui Kanno by Jae on October 6, 2010

It’s POP’s 30th anniversary, doll! Hehe!

POP, 誕生日おめでとう!!!!

Now, you may be wondering why I decided to feature this issue. -smiling gently- Aside from the fact that they featured Yui in part… It’s also for another very special reason this time.

I know I said that POP hasn’t been very fantastic recently but it does seem to me that they’re coming back… I actually think that POP did an excellent job for their anniversary issue.

They included a full guide to everything from the model’s personal favourite items to false lashes and contacts… I know, I know, i doesn’t quite sound like much but there’s more.

You know how when we flip through magazines, all we usually see is models with perfect skin, perfect hair… And the works?

Well, although I’m generally happy with who I am, I cannot help but feel inferior to some of these girls sometimes. -laughing- Yes, I’m embarrassed by that cause I should know better but still.

Think Tsubasa, with her large eyes, full lips, sharp nose that gives her that immensely cute expression no matter what she wears.

One emoticon says it all (T_T)

Or Yui, with her almond eyes, small nose and leaning-towards-natural makeup… She’s absolutely gorgeous but I digress.

My issue is, I often forget that they had the help of false lashes, contouring powder, liquid foundation, plastic surgery and most of all, photoshop… Now, please sweetheart, don’t get me wrong, these girls absolutely have natural beauty but I’m saying (And I’m probably going to get shot for saying this), they had help and lots of it and very often… When I look at them in the magazines, I forget that.

Now, POP, for this issue, reminded me of that and decided to do something that I really respect them for… They showed us their models as they are:

The ten POP models with barely any makeup on, and in case you can’t see the image up there clearly:

Kumicky still has eyeliner and pupil enlarging contacts on.

Same goes for Hikari…

And Okarie (Special thanks to Sylvia!)…

Nana doesn’t have eyeliner on, I think… Just pupil enlarging contacts.

I really respect these models for standing out as they are because I know that for myself, I sometimes find it hard to look into the mirror without any makeup on :3 I know, that sounds so incredibly shallow, but… I’m so used to seeing myself with makeup so to me, without makeup… Even I’m a shock to myself. (God, this must be the rawest that I’ve been on this blog!)

Yeah, as you can see, that one page kicked me into some major self-reflection.

I asked myself “What’s going to be left after your makeup comes off, Jae?” and I realized that Uh… Me? Haha, – I’m going to be left with or without makeup, the way I am won’t change because that’s who I am (my personality).

This issue renewed my respect for POPTEEN as one of the leading authorities in Japanese fashion and beauty…

Now, here’s my promise to myself and to you:

While I won’t stop improving on how I look, and I won’t stop trying to bring my skills up to the next level, I won’t forget that I’m a normal girl so don’t you forget too.

And besides, you and I both know that nothing beats good personality to go along with a beautiful face. 🙂

Let us remember always to love ourselves and who we are because it’s what’s underneath that makes our makeup shine. 🙂

Happy Birthday, POP… Thank you for keeping our GAL dreams alive. And for reminding me to just be me sometimes.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lara said, on October 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I agree 100% with this post. Make Up is meant to “enhance” what we have naturally. Those models probably have similar self esteem issues as well – they might look at themselves in their magazines and go “why don’t I look like that all the time?” and they probably feel that people expect them to exactly like their magazine pictures. They get all that professional make up and clothing and then they use photoshop on top of that!.
    Popteen is an awesome mag!. Keeping it real and inspiring us.

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 7, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Hey Lara!

      Welcome back! Haha, haven’t heard from you in a while and most definitely… I think we should have more times like these that we stop to think about and appreciate ourselves for who we are. 🙂

      GO POP!

  2. pris said, on October 7, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Thanks for the this interesting post, I always wanted to know how they looked like with minimal makeup on. While they certainly are pretty enough, it also shows us how much makeup enhances their looks. But while all the makeup helps, it’s like as you say, it’s us that really counts (:

    • Flitter Jae said, on October 8, 2010 at 12:01 am

      Hey Pris!
      It’s great hearing from you! ^_^
      And yeah… We forget sometimes so it’s a great reminder to us. 😀
      ♡ Hope to see you back here soon! ♡

  3. Sylvia said, on October 13, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    The 3rd girl is Okarie, not Rui. Rui has long hair in that article!
    Go POP, I love POP! 😀


Leave a Reply

