Jae's Blog

Canmake Graduation Wink – review and swatch!

Posted in Canmake, Product Launch by Jae on November 3, 2010

Swung by Bugis’ Watsons today and spotted a new display for Canmake! 😀

Needless to say, I just HAD to check it out. XD

It’s called Graduation Wink (retails for 17.90SGD usually but it’s on sale now so it’s only 15.90SGD!) and is made up of three colours, going from darkest to lightest.

Now, the range comes in 4 colours which is pretty decent, I think.

01 has a darker brown body~

02 will be what I’ll be showing you today! Slightly pinkish~

03~ It’s pink. -wrinkles nose- Canmake always makes pink shadows.

04. Purple. -pauses and laughs- Yup, Canmake always makes these as well.

The shadow, when I applied it, was extremely smooth and buttery which is typical of Canmake shadows and even blushes – application was really smooth and I really loved how much colour it deposited!

I also really like how the shimmers are so small so I won’t end up looking like a disco ball -cough, laughs-

02 is rather metallic, I would say and it does remind me a little bit of my Jill Stuart palette’s light brown (except that this one is a little more pink), which is gorgeous!

Now I’m going to move on and talk about the actual application of the shadow.

The series is designed to allow for easy application with our fingers which is a cute concept  because some girls do not like to use eyeshadow brushes so Canmake probably thought about this aspect and decided that it would be a good idea to allow people the control they want.

Easily at that, seeing that the arrangement of the eyeshadow “palette” allows for “one swipe” application.

The top colour is the highlight colour, the middle is the body and the bottom one is what I call the “liner” colour because it gives our eyes depth and kind of helps with lining our eyes.

Of course, this may work in theory, but it only took me two tries to determine that it may not be as brilliant afterall.

Note the uneven application of the shadow – very little highlighter, a lot of body and hmm… A very broken dark colour patch. -laughing-

I didn’t conduct the test just once so I can quite safely say that some of the possible problems you might face with this shadow include:

1) Suitability for one’s eye size and shape
Different people have different sized and shaped eyes. I kind of feel like the palette was made on the assumption that everyone’s eyes are all the same size so the distance between each part of the shadow is set but this… Hmm. Is a really big assumption, I think cause I have friends with double lids and others with single lids so each person’s method of application is different.

2) Uneven application
Because it’s applied with our fingers, how much product we pick up would depend heavily on the shape of our fingers or the way we swipe our fingers across the pan.

Press too much at the tip and you’ll get too much highlighter, too much at the middle and you’ll get too much body colour. Man, stress.

3) Product Wastage
Yup, as with all products we apply with our fingers, there’s always that problem of product wastage and this time

That’s quite a bit of product >_<

4) Hygiene
Yup, you know how we can always try to keep our hands clean by washing them before we go about with our makeup business? Well, it’s not actually just about how dirty our hands are before we touch the pan but what happens when we touch it.

Our body produces natural oils and sweat because these are natural bodily functions. You might actually transfer some of your body oils to the pan and the thing is, bacteria LOVES that especially since the pan will be left alone and compact – bacteria galore.

Also, when your body oil remains on the pan for a long time, you might actually find little bumps developing on the surface of the pan. 🙂 Guess why.

==========================================

Of course, my comments aren’t an ultimatum so do give this product a shot when you pop by Watsons – different people will find different methods of using it, different uses for each part… So swatch it, get a feel of it and let me know what you think!

Jae’s Verdict:
I wouldn’t quite recommend using it the way it’s supposed to? Like with your fingers and all, but as normal eyeshadow? Definitely if you’re willing to brushes though because it’s smooth as a dream!

I really love how easily it goes on!

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rina said, on November 4, 2010 at 12:01 am

    BRUSHES ONLY PLEASE.

    T_____T gross.

    • Jae said, on November 4, 2010 at 9:11 am

      -laughing-
      HEY RINA!!!!

      • Rina said, on November 5, 2010 at 10:18 am

        i find it gross when MUA dip their fingers into other people’s makeup without asking first. wtf. HYGIENE YO!

        going to japaaaaaan! =D

      • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 12:25 pm

        CHIII! Some of them can be SO rude about it too. =.=||| Like, hello, sometimes, we know what works and doesn’t for our own skin man.
        I KNOW RIGHT?! omg, I’m so excited for you!!!! argh!!!! Haha, you HAVE to show me some pictures okay?!?!

      • Rina said, on November 5, 2010 at 1:35 pm

        ok i will =D

  2. miwitch said, on November 4, 2010 at 2:55 am

    Wow.. I really like the cute palette and nice colours.. Really quite a typical japan canmake eyeshadow product.. the colours are really very light. Hmm.. if its me, i rather use applicator or brush to put on each colour individually. Probably this palettes are design for 1. lazy girls 2. girls who don’t know how to put eyeshadows.
    But overall, nice yummy colours.. =)

    • Jae said, on November 4, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Hey Miwitch~
      Welcome to my blog! 😀
      And haha, ditto dear, I think it’d be very good for girls who want to match colours up real quick too! Hehe, have you tried it out yet? 😀

      • miwitch said, on November 5, 2010 at 8:25 pm

        Thanx for the welcome ^_^ I didn’t tried it out as I personally find that canmake price is too ex in Singapore. >,<" Any the colour payoff isn't that great hence I'll be getting other brands like loreal and stuffs. But if I'm in japan, it might be a different story. hehhex~ =p

      • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 8:44 pm

        ^_^ Hehe!
        And totally, they jack the prices by so much over here… Sometimes I wonder if even after shipping and taxes, it should cost this much…
        Ah Loreal! I think Reebonz recently had an event for the brand! Have you tried their vibrating mascara? 😀
        Sigh…. Trust me dear, my whole room would be makeup if I were in Japan XD

      • miwitch said, on November 5, 2010 at 9:16 pm

        Oh! really? I been receiving invites for fashion bags but no makeups event though.. You have membership in Reebonz? Can invites me? =D

      • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 10:40 pm

        Hey dearie!
        There you go~ http://www.reebonz.com/member_invite/sjae
        ^_^ Hope you’ll enjoy the discounts they give~!

      • miwitch said, on November 5, 2010 at 11:43 pm

        Ah~ thanks you so much! ^.^ *blow kisses*

      • Jae said, on November 6, 2010 at 12:24 am

        Hehe, you’re most welcome dear~!

  3. Keita said, on November 5, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Hmmm to me, I dont really like canmake’s texture. The only think I like about them is the bronzers Xp

    • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 9:13 am

      And their lip concealers too bb! Hehe, don’t forget their lip concealer!
      I tried their bronzer and it’s reallyyyyy smooth.. I should have gotten myself a piece during the Watson’s 20% sale…
      XD Which shade do you use dear? 😀

  4. Keita said, on November 5, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Im using 02 shade 😀
    I bought the kabuki brush from body shop to use with it.

    Im using another brand of concealer though forget the brand name ^^||||

    its write super quick lip concealer i bought it at the cineleisure shop where they sell alot jap cosmetics and fake lashes.

    My friend told me yesterday watson i dont know which watson she went, had like buy 2 items for $20.

    She bought the bronzer and highlighter.

    • Jae said, on November 5, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      Body shop! I really like that some of their brushes are so soft… XD
      And the shop near to the Hong Kong eatery right? 😀 I saw that they were selling Jill Stuart pouches as well… :3 Hmm.
      Oh my gosh, are you serious?! 2 items for 20?! T_T I wanna get the bronzer…

      • Keita said, on November 12, 2010 at 5:49 pm

        Yea that show near the Hong Kong eatery.

        Did you manage to go and buy?

      • Jae said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:17 pm

        XD Yup! And :3 not quite dear…
        I haven’t had the time to go down T_T MEH!
        How’s it working though? 😀

      • Keita said, on November 12, 2010 at 5:49 pm

        Yea that shop near the Hong Kong eatery.

        Did you manage to go and buy?


Leave a Reply

