Jae's Blog

♡ Daiso Straight Lower Lashes~! REVIEW [[DUPE FOR DOLLY WINK #8]]♡

Posted in Daiso, Dolly Wink by Jae on November 6, 2010

When I first saw these lashes on the pages of the latest issue of EGG, I felt a wave of happiness wash across me. Finally, a product that I can grab from the stores without having to order from Japan.

Thank god!

Yes, these are the straight lower lashes from Daiso. There are two types, if I’m not mistaken – one is the criss cross type and the other one’s this one, the straight type, which is what we’re looking at today.

Application was relatively easy after I snipped the lashes into two parts as with my other lower lashes from Diamond Lash. I found it nearly impossible for me to handle when it was a full strip.

In terms of the stiffness of the lashband, I have to say that it’s almost completely comparable to my Diamond Lash lashes. I was completely shocked when I realized how soft the lash band is. However, in terms of how the lashes are placed, ah, that’s where the first difference shows up.

Be very careful when removing these lashes from the tray because the fibers will shift along the lash band. This could potentially destroy the lashes so please do take extra care.

Secondly, the way the lashes were placed in the tray made for some serious difficulty for my removal. I’m going to put this down to the manufacturing and say that I hope they’ll do something about that. :3

Now, are you ready for some pictures? 😀

Yes, I used the full strip and still, they look extremely natural.

And upon closer inspection, don’t you think they look kind of similar to my #8 Dolly Wink lashes?


I honestly think that there is an unmistakable resemblance, so I’m going to say for the first time that:

I HAVE FOUND A DUPE FOR DOLLY WINK #8 AT DAISO AND THIS IS IT.

At only two bucks a pair, I seriously think that this makes for a better deal than Dolly Wink because it’s very much comparable and a heck lot cheaper!

♡♡♡ Daiso Straight Lower Lashes ♡♡♡

✔ Length: 7/10 [They’re just the right length, I absolutely love this.]
✔ Volume: 5/10 [Just the right amount~]
✔ Ease of application: 4.5/10 [I had some difficulty removing the strip out of the tray and also had to snip it into two before applying… It’s a little troublesome but for the price I’m paying I’d say it’s well worth it.]
✔ Reusable? Yup~ If you’re careful, that is.
✔ Economical? It’s a dupe for the 24.90 SGD Dolly Wink lashes so yes, it’s DEFINITELY economical.

Verdict:
It’s a great pair of lower lashes and… Dude, it’s 2 bucks for something that would have cost me 24.90! I’m definitely going back for more, I’m just kicking myself for not having found this earlier!

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sherhui said, on November 6, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    nice review!! 😀

    where did u buy these lashes, nowadays I went to visit plaza singapura and ion’s fake eyelash corner, and poof, almost all the fake eyelash were gone!!

    is it me or, i am super not fated with lashes T.T

    • Jae said, on November 7, 2010 at 9:20 am

      😀 Thanks Sherhui!
      And I grabbed these at the Ion branch maybe… A few days ago? Cause it’s the start of the month, so they would have restock a little bit… But most other people know that too so they would have made a beeline for that place faster that you can say “Daiso” so T_T… Everyone buys a lot when they get there so we have to stock up the minute we see stocks…

      I wanted to get the sponge cleaner but bleargh. They ran out. T_T

      -patpat- Don’t worry sweety… Sometimes they’ll sneakily hide the lashes behind one another so do drop by the Ion branch to give it another shot okay?
      Let me know whether you manage to find some~!!!
      -waving pom poms-

  2. crystal said, on November 7, 2010 at 12:06 am

    it actually looks really good!

    when i go to daiso, i can never find nice lashes! must be my luck..
    which outlet did you go to? maybe i can try my luck there ^^

    ps: kena electrocuted by your mesmerizing eyes babe! XD

    • Jae said, on November 7, 2010 at 9:23 am

      😀 Hehe! Sankyu Crytalllll (bones :3) heheheh!

      T_T Daiso’s always running out of stuff faster than they can restock cause people usually buy like, 2-3 at a time… T_T Sighhhhhhhh
      I went to the one at Ion, BB! But then there were only a few boxes left so they might have already ran out… Maybe I’ll see if I can make a trip down sometime this week to see if they have anymore and I’ll let you know about it kay? ♡

      \ [>///_///<] / -blushing- BONESSSS?!?!?!!!!!

      • crystal said, on November 7, 2010 at 11:33 am

        HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! XD
        i think i should just leave comments under the nickname “bones”!

        ohhh… thank you but don’t sweat it alright?
        coz i usually go to plaza singapura’s outlet. i didn’t know ion had one as well!

      • Jae said, on November 8, 2010 at 9:57 am

        XD I’d know, straightaway, that it’s you, XDDD
        And no worries darling! The one at Ion is new and is tucked away in an inconspicuous corner under the escalator!
        -laughing- I had some trouble finding it at first too!

      • crystal said, on November 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm

        ohhhhhh~ now i know…
        thanks for the heads up! ^^

      • Jae said, on November 8, 2010 at 10:09 pm

        XDD BB!
        I found some of these lashes at Plaza Singapura today!!! ♡

      • crystal said, on November 9, 2010 at 9:59 pm

        thanks babe~!

        i just noticed there’s a new pic of you! full frontal pic!

        *bites & pull on blanket*
        you’re sooo pretty~!!!!

      • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:44 pm

        ^_^ don’t mention it sweety!
        And :3 hehehehe, it’s partially covered~!!!
        (>/// _ ///<) not pretty not pretty!!!!

  3. Sami said, on November 8, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Thanks for sharing!!
    It’s always good to find dupes of brands!

    • Jae said, on November 8, 2010 at 9:58 am

      ^_^ My pleasure, Sami!
      Most definitely! Especially cause we get to save a little cash for our next purchase! :3

  4. Rina said, on November 8, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    my comment is predictable: nothing beats dolly wink XD

    • Jae said, on November 8, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      -laughing- Yes Rina~~~
      Hahahha, you’re Dolly Wink’s biggest supporter, dear!!! ♡
      Thanks for dropping by~!

      • Rina said, on November 8, 2010 at 10:43 pm

        im gonna haul back sooooo many dolly wink this time!

      • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:18 am

        XDDD
        Haul more babe!!!! Japan’s the PERFECT place for makeup addicts!!!! ♡

  5. Sylvia said, on November 9, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    You changed your Ranking No.1 Lower Lashes!
    So this is a must try, I guess? 😛

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Hey Sylvia!
      Ahhhh you noticed!!! ♥
      Haha, i do think so cause they’re so wallet friendly and they look a lot like the ones from DW! 😀
      Double score! XD

  6. saltvinegar said, on November 12, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    i bought it but never tried it yet cos it looked shitty in the box.. but it looks great on you!

    • Jae said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      Hey saltvinegar!
      XD Your nickname reminds me of my favourite flavor of chips…
      And thanks so much dearie, do try them!


Leave a Reply

