Jae's Blog

♡ Daiso Sponge Cleaner [REVIEW] – Keeps your makeup tools clean! ♡

Posted in Daiso by Jae on November 9, 2010

Daiso is an awesome place to find great deals at well, 2 bucks a pop. –laughing-

I think it’s so easy to impulse shop there so I usually try to make a list of the items I need and spend no more than 15 minutes in there cause I know the longer I stay in there, the more I’ll be tempted to buy!

:3 I snuck in for a little peek at the eyelash stash today but it was for good reason! I checked if they had more of the lashes I did a review of the other day and surprise surprise, they were RESTOCKING AS I WALKED IN! What a bit of luck, right?

I grabbed two boxes as soon as I saw them and when I turned around, I saw bottles of this sponge cleaner, thought of my Tofu Love sponges and grabbed a bottle of this.

Talk about a great impulse buy.

This will be yet another image heavy post, sweety ♡

On first glance, this looks like nothing impressive at all but when you put it to work on sponges, it’s incredibly powerful.

I’m going to confess that this is a result of not washing my Tofu Love sponge after a few applications because I kept either forgetting to buy the sponge cleaner or finding the cleaner completely out of stock. As a result of that, I’ve had to resort to using different parts of it to apply my BB cream –not happy having to do that- I wanted to try baby shampoo but then changed my mind after remembering that my sponges cost me almost 10 bucks.

The directions on the bottle said to pour an “appropriate amount” on the dry sponge and then rinse it.

I didn’t quite know what the ‘appropriate amount” was at first and thought for quite some time because the liquid poured out clear and is only moderately viscous [which works really well for me cause the last thing I need is an overly thick paste to work with].

On the other hand though, I was also quite apprehensive about getting my sponges damaged cause of a two dollar product so I decided to just pour a “strip” down the length of my sponge and boy oh boy, did I get a shock.

I massaged it into the sponge gently and look what happened?

Hey presto, see that strip down the middle there? It had already cut all the way through the sponge and I hadn’t even rinsed it yet, I’d just massaged it into the sponge and tried to see if it would have any effect at all.

I then tried to add more product to all around the sponge and as I added and massaged, the sponge got cleaner and cleaner.

I didn’t notice any particularly strong smell whatsoever even while using it so that’s a definite plus. And the cleaner was not excessively slippery or anything so it didn’t really quite feel too much like detergent in spite of it being called a “sponge detergent”.

This was a result of just one and half minutes of work – the solution works incredibly quickly and the scary thing is that I hadn’t even added water to it yet.

The next step was, of course, to add water and see what would happen.

I put it under cool running, water because the directions said to rinse it.

Give it just one squeeze and… One squeaky clean sponge coming right up.

I was utterly shocked when I saw this because I didn’t expect it to be this effective. I used to use baby shampoo on my other sponges and those still left liquid foundation stains even after washing them out twice so I really am impressed with this result.

Left it on my velcro hair pad to dry on and in my air-conditioned room so it would not dry unevenly (Pretty much anything in my room dries up real quick) If you plan to use this too, remember that you shouldn’t leave your sponges on a flat top surface in a warm environment (read: toilet) to dry because it might start to get mouldy and develop a lot more bacteria after a while. Some girls have suggested using a wire mesh rack but I made do with my velcro because it would otherwise work the same way.

1) The sponge is still elevated
2) It was dried in a room that’s almost excessively dry

So bacteria would have found it a little less appealing 🙂

I’m really happy with the results! BB, scroll up and take a look at the second picture because that’s before I used the cleaner because believe it or not, right now the sponge is looking as clean as the day I bought it.

Ah, there was no residual smell and that is just fabulous for me.

I have to say though, that it does take quite an amount of product to cover the entire sponge which kind of makes me worried cause I think I might have to double back for some more soon. And this sponge cleaner does not come in every time so I might stock up on this just to make sure my Tofu Love sponges won’t get too dirty.

♡♥♡ Daiso Sponge Cleaner ♡♥♡
Smell: 0/5 [No smell whatsoever]
Ease of use: 5/5 [It’s really easy, pour out, massage and rinse]
✔ Economical? 5/5 [It’s two bucks for a product that cleans out your sponges in a snap, it’s fabulous.]

Verdict:
I’m definitely going back for more of this sponge cleaner. It’s really really great!

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pearlin said, on November 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    wow! nice find and you make me wanna go to daiso!
    keep the good posts coming!

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      Hey Pearlin!
      Haha, do drop by Daiso soon~~~!
      And 😀 I’ll definitely work harder for more posts! Hehe! Thanks so much dearie!

  2. Eliza said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    ooooh! I wonder how it will work if i use it on my brushes :p haha I should try! Not on MACs but on other brands! :p

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:28 pm

      OMG HEY BABE!!!!!!
      Hahaha! -pauses to think- Hmm… On brushes… I might try it out on my ecotools brush soon! :3
      Hehe, thanks for the idea BB! ♥

      • Rina said, on November 9, 2010 at 9:45 pm

        do not try on your brushes! it’s too harsh for bristles and will destroy them. this detergent doesn’t contain any conditioning stuff so it’s kinda like using body soap to wash your hair. -___-

      • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:36 pm

        Hey Rina!
        T_T Yikes! Thanks for the heads up babe! :3

  3. Rina said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    one way to make your bottle of detergent last. put your sponges into a small bowl of water, 2 squirts per sponge. let them soak in the detergent+water while you shower. then wash them. lesser detergent used, faster cleaning too!

    i grabbed 5 bottles when i saw it restocked. haha.

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:30 pm

      Hey Rina!
      That’s a really great idea…
      I’ll try that out and see how it goes with my sponges, thanks so much for the tip, sweetie! 😀

  4. crystal said, on November 9, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    babe! i didn’t know you didn’t know about the awesomeness about this cleaner!

    i didn’t know they didn’t always have this in stock… hmmmm… should stock up.
    i’ve been wanting to get a bottle for my mom too!
    i said it’s awesome stuff and she said she wanted to try it out too, especially when $2 is sooo cheap!

    i’m glad you loved this little genius here~ ^^

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:43 pm

      XDD I swear, I was slow with this one because I was so apprehensive about it at first!
      -laughing- then I figured that was a good reason for people snapping bottles of it up so I grabbed one for fun :3 Hehe!

      Go grab some real quick!!!!! ♥

      • crystal said, on November 10, 2010 at 4:03 pm

        yeah! definately will! ^^

  5. j said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    i use this too ! fast and efficient 😀

    • Jae said, on November 9, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      Hey J!!!
      Haha, definitely! I’m all over it right now! :3
      And I have to confess that I can’t wait to use it again because it feels really good to see the dirt getting washed away so quickly! XD

  6. Serene said, on November 10, 2010 at 9:29 am

    This 1 is great! I’ve been using it for afew years already! cheap & good! =)

    • Jae said, on November 11, 2010 at 8:37 pm

      Heh heh, I really like it ❤

  7. Keita said, on November 12, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    wow it is as good as new 0.o

    For cleaning brushes maybe you want to try MAC brush cleaner. I love it Xp

    • Jae said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:16 pm

      I know right. XD I was in complete shock. XDD
      MAC’s brush cleaner… Mmm… 😀 I might give that a shot.. Thanks BB!!!! ❤

  8. Hi said, on November 14, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Hi I’m wondering which daiso outlet did you bought this?

    • Jae said, on November 15, 2010 at 6:56 pm

      Hey dear!
      At the Ion branch! ^_^ Hope this helps~~~

      • hi said, on November 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm

        i went there and ask the staffs and none of them seems like they know!! omggggg

      • Jae said, on November 16, 2010 at 12:12 pm

        Oh dear…
        Maybe try the Plaza Singapura branch dearie? >.<

  9. […] to Jae, her glowing review here convinced me that I needed this sponge detergent in my life, pronto! However, good things are meant […]


Leave a Reply

