Jae's Blog

The importance of tightlining [[Technique]]

Posted in MAC by Jae on November 11, 2010

Tightlining.

It is an integral part of my eye makeup routine and if I went without tightlining for one day… Well, I would double back and get it done because I cannot stand having those little spaces in between my lashes.

Tightlining is just filling in the spaces in between your upper eyelashes with an eyeliner – this will help give the illusion of fuller lashes and also help with integrating your false lashes with your real ones.

I usually use MAC’s Eye Kohl in Phone Number which is a glittery black – it’s almost bluish black in a sense but without too much blue so that it’ll actually affect how black the line draws out.Β I really like using this for tightlining because of how soft it is so it goes on without much tugging (which I am almost paranoid about).

One thing though, it could because of the way I use the liner (I would take a shortcut and draw the line as if I were working with my liquid liner, like I normally line my eyes) but I sometimes get a collection of product on my lashes which eventually flakes down and dirties my face.

I usually just take my Chanel toner to it and it comes right off but it can get rather annoying sometimes so recently, I’ve tried another method which is far more time-consuming. I would individually go in between my lashes and wriggle my pencil about till it fills in.

This is what I do when I tightline – remember I mentioned about filling the spaces in?

Incredibly tedious (to me) but absolutely essential, let me explain with some pictures

This is before tightlining – notice how there are visible spaces? Now, let’s take a quick look at what happens after tightlining

The little spaces are noticeably gone.

Haha, I know I look a little bit sleepy in this picture, forgive me, it was late. πŸ˜„ And now, I’ll show what happens when both eyes have been tightlined.

See the huge difference in the pictures? So yes, tightlining, is very very important! πŸ™‚

By the way, tightlining for me always occurs before my mascara and before false lashes, so my routine is:

Base -> Eyeshadow -> Liquid Eyeliner -> Pencil Eyeliner -> Tightline -> Mascara -> Falsies

Hope this helps in some way, sweets!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bones said, on November 11, 2010 at 1:08 am

    i used to tightline when i wore makeup occasionally in sec sch but after my mom told me that the way i’m stretching my eye-skin is gonna leave me with saggy eye-skin in future, i’d stop tightlining altogether.

    i didn’t know tightlining had such a drastic effect!
    now i’d only tightline when i have the time to patiently do it – which is almost… never… like 9/10 times i don’t… πŸ˜„
    coz my technique is to look wayyyy up and slowly fill it in with a liquid liner by dotting. can you imagine not babe… like doing pointillism in sec sch for art lessons!!!

    • Jae said, on November 11, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      BONES!!!
      haha, babe you’ve started using this nick instead! πŸ˜„ So cute β™‘
      And mmm… pointillism, good god, I remember the painfulness of it… πŸ˜„
      Will you try it again though love? ❀

      • bones said, on November 12, 2010 at 3:14 pm

        yep! nice nick right ? HAHAHAHAHA!!!

        hmmmm… i’ve stopped using pencil eyeliners for quite a long time. coz i couldn’t find one that’s not too expensive and doesn’t drag/tug the skin while tightlining. so now when i do, i just dot slowly with liquid liners. it takes time and it’s tedious + i don’t wear falsies very often so i don’t have to worry too much about “empty spaces”.
        partly also bcoz without eyeliner, my eyes are pretty big. with eyeliner, it’s even bigger and rounder. and i thank my lucky stars for long lashes too.. so i usually buy and let my falsies rot.. HAHA!

        i sort do “partial tightlining” though..
        meaning i line all the way into the deepest part of the inner corners of my eyes.
        you know.. the typical japanese gyaru way of doing it? ok la.. i think you know. -_-” -bones talking to self-

      • Jae said, on November 12, 2010 at 8:13 pm

        Yesss~~~ hahaha, HELLO BONES! XDD

        And ah yes πŸ˜„ the one where you line the inner V shape right? πŸ˜„ I usually line the upper side but not the lower one cause it tickles too much T_T -laughing-
        T_T Lucky bones with long lashes!!!!

      • bones said, on November 12, 2010 at 11:51 pm

        yeah the liner part that extend the front portion of the eye by lining the inner corners and dragging it out into a thin line. that one!
        sometimes if i’m hard working then i’ll do the V if not it’s just 1 line. coz the lower lash line needs precision. precision = time.

        not really lucky… can you imagine?
        i don’t have hair on my head but i’ve got lashes -_-” fml… LOL πŸ˜„


Leave a Reply

