Jae's Blog

Guess who I picked up? :D

Posted in watsons by Jae on November 19, 2010

Guess who came home with me yesterday? 😀

-laughing- Okay, oh my god that sounded so wrong.

If you follow me on twitter, you’d know that I popped by the Watsons sale a couple of days ago and picked up more than like… 80SGD worth of stuff. I tried to keep my purchases necessary! I promise! But then… I had… A few… Impulse items… That… I couldn’t resist picking up.

This, of course, was one of my impulse buys and this is going to be a really really long review. :3

The Set:
It’s the ever-popular lip smackers except that this time, they collaborated with Paul Frank and came up with a Paul Frank Lip Smacker Gift Tin!

Each tube comes with 4.0g worth of product, are all made in the US and are all twist up tubes with pull off caps.

The entire tin plus the tubes cost 14.90 SGD, which roughly works out to a little less than 4.96+ SGD per tube because of the really adorable tin.

The Paul Frank monkey was stamped into the metal, giving it a raised appearance – so it’s not one of the cheapo printed on tins.

The set only comes in one combination and has an alternative version of a cloth bag… That one costs 21.90 SGD and comes with perfume, I believe.

Worry Bear’s Honey Sweet
First Sniff:
Smells like honey in a tub that you’d pull out of your kitchen shelf for pancakes.

Packaging:
Hmm. It’s a bear… And it’s orange. Hmm. Cute combination cause I actually like orange. 😀

Slicked on:
Reminds me of the nougat bits in Toblerone which makes it completely delicious – it’s not too thick and it’s incredibly delicious to me.

It’s definitely moisturizing but it does smell a lot like the nougats, so watch out if you’re very sensitive to smell because it may be a little too much to take. It does linger for quite a while.

Don’t worry about it being glossy because the finish is almost completely matt but not sticky at all, very surprisingly.

Somehow, this smell reminds me of my time overseas… But yes, it’s strong. No taste though. Hmm.

Clancy Cotton Candy
First Sniff:
Smelt like… Scented erasers from my elementary school dime store. :3 It’s extremely sweet.

Packaging:
It’s hot pink with a really cute giraffe and cotton candy cone on round the tube! This is the one thing I give it full marks for.

Slicked on:
Pink in the tube, it goes on smooth without much tugging. It smelt like… Those cheap hard candies I used to like as a kid – a little bit like lollipops… It didn’t quite taste like that though… Didn’t taste like anything at all, actually.

Once again, no gloss and the smell… It definitely smells cheap so watch out cause this will probably repulse a number of people… T_T

Julius Coconut Cream
First Sniff:
Let me first start by saying that I hate the smell of coconuts so I absolutely hated the first whiff.

Packaging:
It’s brown and you know, I’ve always thought that Julius was a male monkey… So… Seeing him wear a… Grass skirt with a red flower stuck in his fur is a little… Disturbing.

Slicked on:
You know how I said I hate coconuts? This lipbalm, when on, doesn’t actually smell completely like coconuts – there’s this hint of bananas which makes it a little more bearable. (I’m wearing it right now and maaaaaaaan, the coconuts) I was really surprised when I realized it because I like bananas in my lip products. -laughing-

It’s milky white in the tube and goes on clear, just like the rest of the tubes in the set.

I actually liked this one the most out of the lot.

===========================================

Overall:
The wear time on each is just average at about 1-2 hours with eating and drinking. The smell fades in about… Hmm… Maybe about 1 hour and if you eat or wet your lips, it’ll disappear completely.

If you’re looking for a gift for a child or someone who’s a really huge fan of Paul Frank, this might work because the packaging is really cute and well, it’s Paul Frank so who could resists a monkey right? 😀

But and a huge but, if you’re very sensitive to scented products? I would strongly suggest you steer clear of this set… >_< Eeeps.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keita said, on November 19, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Hmm I wonder if I should buy this for myself and my friend =.=|||

    • Jae said, on November 19, 2010 at 10:01 am

      Hey Keita!!!
      Haha, it’s so cute right?! T_T Meh, I couldn’t resists it cause the tin’s so cute!
      Hmm… It’s great for xmas…. :3

      • Keita said, on November 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

        I couldnt resist the poka dot bag T.T My gosh 21.90 oh dear… what should I do… have a bad feeling I ll spend alot in watson 0.o

        Should I buy? >.< ahhhhh~

        I spend quite alot at Kinokuniya yesterday T.T Cos of the member discount I just grab alot of things 0.o

      • Jae said, on November 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

        Hehehe, I think because it’s so cute and they come with bags… It may be worth getting it… Hehe, it’s paul frank after all! And the monkey is so cute T_T
        :3 so long as you’re okay with the taste of the lipbalms being a little tacky… :3
        Ahhhh~~~~ Kino! You know, I think it’s horrible when they have their sales cause then I end up spending a lot toooooo!!!! T_T It’s terrible!

      • Keita said, on November 19, 2010 at 10:27 am

        Hello~ 😀

        I couldnt resist the poka dot bag T.T My gosh 21.90 oh dear… what should I do… have a bad feeling I ll spend alot in watson 0.o

        Should I buy? >.< ahhhhh~

        I spend quite alot at Kinokuniya yesterday T.T Cos of the member discount I just grab alot of things 0.o

  2. Keita said, on November 19, 2010 at 10:28 am

    argh sorry for my double posting =.=|||

    • Jae said, on November 20, 2010 at 9:56 am

      XD No problem dearie!
      T_T I KNOW RIGHT!? I think it’s quite insane sometimes, the way they price things! Cause they know we can’t get it locally so they take the chance and kick the prices up by so much… Horrible stuff! Meh!
      But ah well… Damn, they look so tempting T_T number 2 and 5 are calling out to meeee~~~~~

  3. Keita said, on November 21, 2010 at 2:55 am

    hahahaha i ll see how in dec when i get my pay i guess :X if no more means no more… :X

    • Jae said, on November 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      Hehehehe, I hope you’ll be able to get it dear! ❤
      It's really quite cute :3


Leave a Reply

