Jae's Blog

Tokidoki is in Singapore! [[UPDATE]]

Posted in Tokidoki by Jae on November 27, 2010

Yes! Available at Ngee Ann City and Ion’s Sephora stores, Tokidoki has arrived in Singapore!

Okay, before I start about the prices and all that, I have to say that this stand at Ngee Ann City’s branch of Sephora was placed such that I (a very blur girl) could not find it. So i had to spend like, 5 minutes around the store, trying to locate the stand (it’s right by the door, by the way. Yes, I know, it’s just me XD)

And honestly babe, I don’t know, I found the range kind of blah?

Consisting of only five types of products because this is the Christmas range (thanks Charmaine!), the price range of the items is well, all below 50 SGD.

Ryeshadow palettes (45.00 SGD)
come in three colour themes, though I only managed to capture two before being stopped by the shop assistant for taking pictures, (I never understood the rationale but still) brown-ish (?), purple and black.

A few things I noticed about this palette:

1) It’s not very portable
Because of the second compartment at the bottom of the palette which houses a Tokidoki charm. Look at the picture above, see where the word ‘tester’ is? That is the second compartment. The height of the palette is roughly about… 5.5CM thereabout? Or perhaps more.

2) The eyeshadow contains talc
While I, personally, am not affected by this, I do know of some girls who cannot have talc in their makeup products – so do take note of this, love.

Cosmetic Pouch (only one design) (50.00 SGD)
Only comes in one design. Hmm. Perhaps they should have come up with more? Made out of PVC, the zip pouch is lightweight and has a slightly shiny surface – not quite my thing actually.

iPhone Hard Case (only one design) (48.00 SGD)
Is only for the iPhone 3 which is kind of a good thing, seeing that a lot of the cute cases are now only for the iPhone 4…

I found that the case looked cute but because I’m not exactly a very big fan of Tokidoki, I won’t see myself wanting to blow 48 SGD on a phone case anytime soon (my black one works just fine :3)

Now comes the shockers.

Galeria Nail Files (only one design set) (16.00 SGD)
This is a set of three nail files and one nail case – which, in my personal opinion, isn’t exactly very value for money. It works out to be about 4 SGD per item in the set and I just cannot justify spending that much on a few nail files.

Sandy Nail File (only one design) (8.00 SGD)
Only one design and this is a nail file block that is about 9 CM long, if I’m not wrong… There’s a print of the cute cactus Sandy on the block but man, 8 bucks for a nail file just isn’t my thing.

=======================================

Overall comments on the collection:
Uh-uh. The range is really quite small, with only one design for most of the items so overall, I would say that this collection is not quite my thing – I think it really is for the collectors and the prices reflect this.

Once again, here’s a rundown of the price list:

Price List:
♡ Eyeshadow Palettes : 45.00 SGD
♡ Handphone Hard Case : 48.00 SGD
♡ Cosmetic Pouch : 50 SGD
♡ Galeria Nail Files : 16 SGD
♡ Sandy Nail File : 8 SGD

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sylvia said, on November 27, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    The packaging is tempting though! 😀

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Hey Sylvia~!
      Do head on down to Sephora to check it out kay?! 😀

  2. Keita said, on November 27, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Yo girl thanks for the post 😀

    Well I like the adios one alot. hehe. Yea it small. Hopefully they are able to bring in the bursh :/

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Hey Keita!!!!
      Haha, hopefully it’ll be bigger the next time… T_T was quite disappointed with this range this time… :3

      • Keita said, on November 29, 2010 at 7:43 pm

        Yea me too :/ Whatever question I ask the SA they just simply answer “Oh this you have to look up at our facebook”=.=|||| geez

      • Jae said, on November 29, 2010 at 8:50 pm

        T_T mehhh~~~
        Sigh, the banes of social media…

  3. Charmaine said, on November 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Heya babe, the reason why there’s only 4 palettes from Tokidoki in Sephora (Singapore) is because they only brought in the holiday palettes for Christmas. They will not be bringing in the regular collection at all.

    • Jae said, on November 29, 2010 at 8:59 pm

      Hey girl!
      😀 Thanks so much for the info! I’ll be putting this bit up on the post kay? ❤

      • Charmaine said, on November 29, 2010 at 9:40 pm

        Go ahead! 😀 I got this info from my ex-colleague (haha, I used to work at Sephora WTF!). XD

      • Jae said, on November 30, 2010 at 9:25 am

        😀 Hehehe, thanks so much dear!!!

  4. iariaee said, on November 30, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I checked it out too! The palettes contain way too much shimmer, I tried out the smokey eye palette which the SA didn’t allow you to photograph, only a (slightly) matte color for eyelining!

    That being said, I nearly plonked down S$45 for the Mozzarella palette, but I figured I would be better off purchasing the UD’s Naked instead. :S

    Jolyn

    • Jae said, on December 1, 2010 at 10:34 am

      Hey Jolyn!!!
      Haha, so did you get the Naked palette?! I actually really like it but can’t justify spending more on neutrals T_T


Leave a Reply

