Jae's Blog

EOS Dolly Wink Pink Lenses! [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Diamond Lash, Dolly Wink, EOS, Nature is Lovely by Jae on November 28, 2010

Remember a while back when I mentioned I received a haul of EOS lenses? Well I finally got down to trying out my EOS Dolly Wink Pink lenses!

Ready? Let’s go!

Before I start, a few things to note:

Firstly, nope, in spite of the name these are not official “Dolly Wink” lenses – they look similar to what Tsu-chan wore for her Dolly Wink false lashes campaign but no, these are not the official lenses.

Secondly, my seller for these EOS lenses has stopped doing batches, so unfortunately, I no longer have anymore contacts for EOS lenses. In fact, if you do have a contact, please do email me at smashedmakeupbag@gmail.com cause I really need some more!

Thirdly, these lenses are from the Korean contact lenses maker, EOS and these are not readily available at Singapore’s optical shops because they have not been approved by the local government.

Now that that’s done, I can move on to the actual review:

There recently was a lot of hype about pink lenses on the market, with some sellers touting it as a ‘kawaii’ (cute) maker that will ‘enlarge your pupils are make you look absolutely kawaii’!

I’m not usually one to buy into hype but because of my cosplay plans (and the decline in availability of GEO lenses), I had to get some.

When I first received them, I had a really good feeling about them because of how pink they looked in the bottle and they certainly did not disappoint.

Comfortable, the curvature of the lens was quite severe, I have to say and the lens was a lot firmer than my normal EOS King Brown lenses. I’ve been wearing the lenses for the past few days and have gotten a number of compliments for the ‘cute colour’.

The picture above was taken at close range, under artificial light and in a well-lit room.

This one was taken in the same room but with the camera less in focus. In other words, if you’re planning on using this for say, cosplay, it would really depend on the lighting and on your photog’s focus to bring out the colour in your eyes.

I didn’t experience any discomfort with the lenses until five hours later, but then again, I’ve developed dry eyes so that was probably the cause.

Some things to take note of:
1) I’ve got dry eyes
So my review of the duration of wear is affected.
2) My natural eye colour is dark brown
So the pink will show a lot better against a dark “background”. If you have lighter pupils, it might not show up as much.

Not for the fainthearted, be prepared for a number of stares because the colour does show up quite well. I had a kid ask me why my eyes were pink.

This one above was taken at the train station and the one below was taken with an overhead spotlight if you’d ask me? Yup, it definitely shows!

Is it cute?
Well… Not really, to me… I think it leans a little to the sexy side but maybe it’s because I’m used to seeing the NUTS models with their grey lenses.

Is it comfortable?
Yup, and the thing is, if your eyes get dry, just make sure you have your eye drops with you and you’ll be good to go.

Will you rebuy?
Most definitely! I really like the colour of the lenses and I actually need them for my cosplay plans so yes, yes, yes.

Where can I get them?
I’m so sorry, dear… As I mentioned before, I no longer have a contact for the lenses… If you do, please let me know!

What lashes were you using in the pictures?
Diamond Lash above and Nature is Lovely S-2 below, love! I’ll be doing another in-depth review of the NIL lashes really soon! 😀

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachelle said, on November 28, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    LOL i laughed when i read that a kid asked you why your eyes are pink. How’d you answer him? So cute.
    I just got the Neo Four Tone Grey lenses…I haven’t worn coloured lenses in over a year because I have super dry eyes and they tend to get uncomfortable. But these ones were so pretty I couldn’t resist…

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 9:25 pm

      XDDD I didn’t get to! His mom pulled him away and apologised before I could say anything! T_T
      And I know right?! I wanna open all the bottles to try all of them right now! T_T

      And by the way, dearie! 😀 I mailed your package out last week so do let me know when you receive it okay~~~!

  2. sherhui said, on November 28, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    wow! nature is lovely s-2 lashes looks good on you dear! 😀

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

      Hey sherhui~~~
      Haha, thanks so much babe! 😀
      Psst! I’ve got a new review of the lashes coming up soon! (you’re in it too! :3)

  3. bones said, on November 28, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    imagine wad the kid would say to me!
    “how come you got no eyes?” or “how come your eyes are hollow?”

    -_-” major epic fail!!!

    • Jae said, on November 28, 2010 at 11:38 pm

      XDDD BONES!!!
      -hugs- no he wouldn’t dearie!!!!!

      • bones said, on November 29, 2010 at 1:11 pm

        *hugs back*

        so how does my rib cage feel?

      • Jae said, on November 29, 2010 at 8:05 pm

        XDDD aiyayay… >_<

      • bones said, on December 1, 2010 at 5:58 pm

        i thought you’d want to learn how to play a guitar ^^

        oh btw babe. do you have any idea when kumiky’s book is coming to sg shores or whether or not there’ll be an english version? i can’t read jap for nuts!

  4. vivian said, on November 30, 2010 at 2:35 am

    Hey. I bought the same lens from a blogshop too , just recieved it few days ago. It’s very comfortable and I think it’s better than geo lens. But i faced a problem , sometimes after i took out my lens , my eyes will feel very tired and i start tearing.

    • Jae said, on November 30, 2010 at 9:31 am

      Hey Vivian!
      Haha, I definitely prefer EOS to GEO actually! :3 May I know which blogshop you purchased from? >_<
      And mmm… Perhaps you'd like to try some eyedrops on-the-go dear?

      • vivian said, on December 17, 2010 at 3:39 am

        I-babydoll.blogspot.com

      • Jae said, on December 18, 2010 at 9:11 am

        :3 are they reliable? :3

      • vivian said, on December 20, 2010 at 1:11 am

        Hmm. I’m not very sure :l

      • Jae said, on December 20, 2010 at 9:21 am

        :3 Oh dear…
        Haha, mmm… Ah, thanks for the tip anyways dearie!!!

  5. Linda said, on December 5, 2010 at 2:34 am

    Please please please tell me what lower lashes you used thanks :3

    • Jae said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      Hey Linda! 😀
      Haha, the ones I used in this review were Nature is Lovely S-2 lashes! 😀 Hope this helps!

  6. robinvalentine♥ said, on December 15, 2010 at 1:36 am

    so so so pretty! it looks amazinggggg

    • Jae said, on December 15, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Hey robinvalentine!
      Haha! Thank you so so much~~~!

  7. jessiica said, on February 21, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    Hii jae i was just wondering if u live in england or america or what?? i wanted to know to purchase products.. I live in barcelona and you dont really see products llike that over here, but i do go all the time to london… thanks xX

    • Jae said, on February 22, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Hey Jessiica!
      Haha, I live in Singapore, doll!
      Which products are you referring to dear? Do you mean the contact lenses? 😀


Leave a Reply

