Jae's Blog

MAC Marcel Wanders has arrived! [[UPDATE]]

Posted in MAC by Jae on November 29, 2010

Yup, it’s in stores right now.

This picture was ninja-ed at Ngee Ann City’s branch of MAC and yes, that is the Mystery Powder (harty-har har) missing – not exactly sure why but then again, with its retail price of 115 SGD, I’m not surprised why they don’t want to have it out there.

i’m going to start by talking about the display.

No, no and no. I don’t know what happened to MAC but the display was horrible for me.

Some of the items were stuck on using double sided tape but that’s okay, though I found the brush beside the display and had to stick it back on for my picture. But the… Whole… Almost-gonna-drop-on-the-floor sort of thing with their lipstick and solid perfume? I didn’t want to have to touch anything else after that.

So anyways, first up is the Solid Perfume (53.00 SGD), you know, if you thwacked some people on the head with this? I actually think it would make quite a respectable dent. The thing is metal so you can actually wear it out as a cute charm – careful though, it’s so angular that it might hurt when you walk fast or run after the bus.

Just a note, my hand is 17.5CM, so this is the size of product that you will get for 53.00 SGD 🙂 I think we’d mostly be paying for the packaging for this collection. (Then again, with MAC’s Holiday collections, this is usually the case)

The next, and only other item that I could pull out, is the lipstick.

Retailing at 45.00 SGD, it’s supposed to come in four shade (?) but if you’d scroll up to check out the display, there was only one out and it’s huge. As I mentioned, my hand is 17.5CM. The lipstick, in my hand, was about 8.5CM and heavy. There apparently is more product in this than our usual lipsticks but I cannot imagine having to tote something that looks like:

A Bishop chess piece around. No, really. It’s too bulky and it won’t fit in my makeup bag because it’s just a waste of space.

Now, you might be wondering why I’m bothered to talk about this collection – well, you see, the thing is, in my personal opinion? MAC put a little too much into the packaging for this collection and maybe not so much thought into the products… And the price range is just… Well, let’s just say I’m not going to be purchasing anything until, maybe the next friends and family sale because it’s just ridiculous.

Here’s the pricelist for you, love:

Pricelist:
Lipstick: 45.00 SGD (comes in four shades)
Lipglass: 45.00 SGD (comes in four shades)
Sheer Mystery Powder: 115 SGD (comes in two shades)
False Lashes Mascara: 30 SGD (comes in black only)
Air of Style Solid Perfume: 53 SGD (comes in one scent)
Brush Clutch: 120 SGD (comes in one set)
Duo Fibre Brush: 105 SGD (just one type)

Hmm. This is the usual MAC holiday collection I think… One for the collectors, for sure!

 

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keita said, on November 29, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    geez 0.o its too ex man…. the design dont look so appealing as i thought 0.o

    hmm what do you think? I feel like the tartan tale worth more praise then this collection :/ Kinda dissappointed.

    will you be buying anything?

    • Jae said, on November 29, 2010 at 8:59 pm

      XD Way out of my league in this case, babe… But perhaps some other people will like it… >.<
      Haha, Tartan Tale was HUGEEEEE XD Hmm… Not for this collection cause well, the colours aren't quite my thing… What about you love?

      • Keita said, on November 30, 2010 at 10:58 am

        Yea I think I officially skipping this collection even though I love the black packaging. Wanted to buy the perfume one to wear as necklace Xp but was wondering is it worth it 0.o somemore it sounds heavy

      • Jae said, on December 1, 2010 at 10:36 am

        Keita~~~~
        XD It’s definitely heavy dearie!
        And cause I wear necklaces all the time, I like… Totally cannot see myself bearing the pain of the charm hitting against my chest when I run >_<

  2. Charmaine said, on November 29, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    I thought I could get the beauty powder, but well, that amount is insane!!! I’m waiting for the Cham-Pale collection!!!!

    • Jae said, on November 30, 2010 at 9:29 am

      Hey Charmaine!
      T_T I know right?! Super expensive stuff! T_T
      XD Haha, but well, more money saved for your CP haul then! 😀

  3. Angie said, on December 8, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Hello sweeties!!!

    Im actually dissapointed on the lipgloses and the lipsticks, the design :S is way too awful for marcel! but anyways… im totally in love with the solid perfume! im a more strong woody perfume fan but this smell is quite refreshing! its more like an everyday perfume for me… i totally love necklaces and for me its quite big and heavy but thats the point! its different and everybody has giving me compliments about it!!! so i really recommend it!!! 😀 go and check it out for yourself! try it on ur neck or maybe ur wristh…. 😀 love ya!

    (sorry my english is a little bad)

    • Jae said, on December 8, 2010 at 8:44 am

      Hey Angie!
      T_T That makes quite a number of us, love – Quite disappointed with the range… T_T
      Ahhh! I’m really glad you liked the perfume! Hmm… Wearing it on the wrist… Sounds like a plan! Thanks so much for the tip, girl~! ♡

      Ps: Your English is actually really good, dearie!!!


Leave a Reply

