Jae's Blog

MILANI Mai Tai Blush VS NARS Orgasm Blush [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Milani, NARS by Jae on December 2, 2010

Is Milani’s Mai Tai Blush really a dupe for NARS Orgasm Blush?

When I first got into makeup, I read up a lot on blushes and found that Orgasm was insanely popular among a lot of girls. Not wanting to miss out, I knew I had to have one but then came the big problem, we don’t have NARS in Singapore.

During my stay in Melbourne, I refused to purchase any NARS because the prices were jacked up by a lot there and so I was stuck without what was said to be the “Holy Grail” of blushes and then came this beautifully life-changing email from my trusty 相聲 (crosstalk) partner in the US. Woo! The first thing I had her get me was the NARS Orgasm Blush! (Too bad her postal address is dead now =.=||)

*** Don’t forget to check out my giveaway for my birthday month! 😀 It ends on 5 December so hurry! Hehe! ***

Orgasm quickly became me go-to blush for daily wear because it always gives me this subtle glow that’s totally buildable.

And then I heard about Milani’s Mai Tai. Some started to say that it’s a “perfect dupe for Orgasm” .

Firstly, let’s just say that Milani’s Mai Tai really is a lot cheaper when compared to NARS Orgasm.
It’s 5.99 USD compared to 26 USD so it’s a steal so when I realized I still had a gift card from Cheery Culture and the US currency was down, I jumped and went for the Mai Tai Blush (And right after I received my order? CC had a 20% off Thankgiving Sale. Sigh.)

But when I received it and did a comparison? Well, let’s just say, I think there’s a good reason why people still pay 26 USD for NARS.

Let’s begin.

The things I immediately realized:
1) The Milani Mai Tai contains 4.40g of product and the NARS Orgasm contains 4.80g.

2) The Milani Mai Tai comes with a brush while the NARS Orgasm comes with a mirror
Might this be a concern to you? Cause I’d very much rather have a mirror than a brush… :3 Look, I’m not exactly complaining because I understand that the Milani blush is a lot cheaper but perhaps it would have been smarter to include a mirror because I doubt most people would want that scratchy brush in the first place..

3) Mai Tai is matt while Orgasm has gold shimmers.

It really is completely matt.

I believe the difference is already obvious. Now for some swatches.

Over here, we see that Orgasm is a lot sheerer as compared to Mai Tai. Also, really, Mai Tai is completely flat coral (darn wordpress, it flattened the colour!) while Orgasm is more peachy and has these flakes of gold shimmer as well…

So Jae, is it a dupe?
The word “dupe” means different things to different people but to me, it means an exact replica of a product so what I say will be based on this.

The colour’s a little close, but fails short of the beautiful pink-ish peach so no, it’s not an exact dupe. Also, one has shimmer and the other doesn’t so definitely not an exact dupe, for sure.

 

*** Don’t forget to check out my giveaway for my birthday month! 😀 It ends on 5 December so hurry! Hehe! ***

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chai said, on December 5, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I’ve been wanting to buy NARS orgasm for a while now.
    But, it’s definitely pricey here in Melbourne haha TT~TT~

    • Jae said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:52 pm

      Hey Chai!
      Ahhhh!!!! >_< Maybe try a CP, love? Hmm… I think beauty insiders at Sephora get a 15USD discount off their purchases till 15 December this month, so do check that deal out yeah?!

  2. iariaee said, on December 5, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Oh no, now you’ve got me lemming for my NARS blushes again! Drugstore.com stocks them and I’m trying so hard to not buy them now as I think I might be heading off to HK/Taiwan next Jan. Albatross, Deep Throat, Orgasm and the Super Orgasm is calling out my name~

    • Jae said, on December 5, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      Hey girl!!!!
      XDDD I know right!? AHHH! I’ve been after Angelika for AGES now even though a lot of people say it’s very easily dupable… Then again, -pointing at this review- dupes aren’t really the real thing so -grits teeth- must… Restraint self… garh!

      Ahhhh! Hong Kong! JILL STUART!!!!

  3. iariaee said, on December 6, 2010 at 10:58 am

    To be honest, I rather buy the real deal because I hate the friggin’ feeling of ‘what if the dupe isn’t a dead-on dupe?’ Especially for blushes which show up different on all skintones, mad annoying! Fake eyelashes are a different thing entirely babe, no offense, the damm things will look and stick the same :X

    Yes, Jill Stuart! I havent used up (actually barely used) my stash when I first bought it in May! My lipgloss is just sitting pretty there, whilst my blush, waaaa >_< So crazy to buy in 01 / 02 -_- kinda regretting it now!

    • Jae said, on December 7, 2010 at 2:44 pm

      XD True true and haha, none taken, dear! Different people have different preferences when it comes to false lashes~ 😀

      You have the blushes?!?!?! They are SO GORGEOUS!
      And T_T AHHHH!!! I actually wish I’d bought more when I was in Japan… Sighhhhh…

  4. Rosely said, on December 10, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Hi jae. I hear milani’s luminous is a better dupe. My orgasm shattered in my bag (argh!) and i’m hesistant on spending so much on another one. Sigh!

    • Jae said, on December 14, 2010 at 10:17 am

      Hey Rosely!
      T_T I should go and try luminous to see if it’s a dupe then!
      Oh no… I’m so sorry to hear about your blush… >_< Which one are you using now then?!


Leave a Reply

