Jae's Blog

NYX Lipstick in Tea Rose! [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Cherryculture, NYX, Reader's choice by Jae on December 7, 2010

As requested, here’s a little review of my latest NYX lipstick haul! Hehe!

First up, here’s NYX’s Round lipstick in Tea Rose!

Before I start, I have to mention that I bought these lipsticks off Cherryculture.com which is a US site that ships internationally. Having said that, shipping prices are quite crazy and the processing time can take up to three weeks so do take note of this! ๐Ÿ˜€

On to the lipstick!

I’ve heard that texture and scents of the NYX lipsticks vary from shade to shade so I’ll go through all that in each review! โค

A gentle reminder that today’s lipstick is Tea Rose!

Scent:
It smelt a little bit like soap but it wasn’t too overwhelming for me.
The scent definitely lingers so if you’reย sensitive to fragrances, you might find this a little off putting.

Does it smell like plastic at all?
Not in my case but maybe because I got a good batch. ๐Ÿ™‚

Texture:
Insanely (and surprisingly) creamy and smooth. I didn’t experience any tugging at all when I slicked this lipstick on.

Colour:
It’s a dark pink with a hint (just a hint) of coral. I can’t seem to get the pictures to show the depth of colour it has on my hand swatches but please note that the colour is a darker pink than the one shown in the ‘shaded area’ picture.

My lips are quite pigmented as is and Tea Rose actually came up very close to my original lip colour.

The picture above shows the lipstick only on on the bottom of my lips to show how close it is, now, this is a lot more accurate colour gauge of the lipstick so please do take note!

How long does it wear?
Because of how smooth and creamy it is maybe about 2-3 hours with eating and drinking, so if you plan to wear this out on a date, do bring a little sample sized pot with you for touchups.

Jae’s Voice:
Hey Jae, should I bring my entire tube of lipstick out for touchups? It’s so large and I’m really scared I’ll lose it somewhere…
Hey girl!
Well, you don’t have to bring your entire tube out, what you can do is sterilize a blade and cut a small amount into a 5 g jar to take long with you on your date/trip. Now, the key here is gauging how much you will need because too little and you might find yourself wishing you’d brought the tube instead.

I usually do about a 0.3-0.4cm slice into my jar to take on my 1 week long trips and when I know that I’ll be using the lippie every single day ๐Ÿ™‚ This is not a hard and fast rule, of course, so slice as you see fit!

So Jae, will you rebuy?
Hmm. I, personally, am not a fan of deeper lipstick shades, so not for the shade, but for the texture and price, most definitely!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chai said, on December 7, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    Thank you for the review ^^
    I’m really skeptical about bright pink lipstick o my lips >< hehe
    I don't Sephora ships to Australia? TT.TT
    arghh Australia is so deprived of things hehe
    ~

    • Jae said, on December 8, 2010 at 8:41 am

      Hey Chai!!!
      No worries! And haha, then this lipstick may just be for you, girl~
      Mmm… No, Sephora doesn’t… T_T It doesn’t ship to anywhere else aside from the US and the worst thing is that we cannot pay using an international credit card… It has to be a US credit card… Sigh!

      Haha, don’t worry, sweety! You can actually join spree orders on LJ communities and get the spree organizer to forward the items to you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Rina said, on December 7, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    totally off topic here. im back! but too hot and humid T______________T

    • Jae said, on December 8, 2010 at 8:41 am

      Hey Rina!
      Haha! Welcome back~~~ ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Keita said, on December 8, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Wow I love the creamy part Xp

    but seems like dark pink is not my colour :/

    • Jae said, on December 9, 2010 at 8:57 am

      KEITAAA~~~
      Hahaha, not quite for me either, actually… Sigh.. Thinking of giving the lippy to my mommy. :3

      • Keita said, on December 9, 2010 at 2:43 pm

        Reminding that my mommy… LOVES to just take my makeup and use =.= ||| lol~

      • Jae said, on December 14, 2010 at 10:28 am

        XDDD I know right?
        Hahaha, my mom likes to randomly come in and choose a few things then yell “I’m borrowing a few things!”… And I’ll like, never see those things again XDDD

  4. Eliza said, on December 9, 2010 at 9:13 am

    oooh I have the same colour toooo! hehe! It’s really creamy! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Jae said, on December 9, 2010 at 9:26 am

      Hey babe!!!!
      XD it’s got such gorgeous texture doesn’t it?! XD
      I’m beginning to really like their lipsticks!


Leave a Reply

