Jae's Blog

MAC Brush Cleaner

Posted in MAC, POPSISTER by Jae on December 18, 2010

So I recently received the MAC Brush Cleaner (235ML) as a Christmas present (together with a box of brushes from A Tartan Tale) and decided to give it a shot seeing that everyone seems to love it. Now? I’m a lover too.

First off, I’ll show you some before and after pictures of my white tipped brush from MAC.

This is my contour brush so it goes through a lot of shading powder love.

Now, this is how it looks like before I use the MAC Brush Cleaner. After washing, it looked like

Indeed, this is proof of how effective it is on powdered products.

The best part about it is that it just smells like alcohol, quite unlike my Shu Uemura Brush Cleaner which smells utterly disgusting.

Also, there is no smell left on the brush after washing, which is an added bonus.

I have another confession to make, I just dropped the MAC Brush Cleaner bottle, but because it’s plastic, I’m not worried.

To wrap it up? MAC’s brush cleaner smells alright and works great with my powdered down brushes, so it’s a definite keeper.

Very rebuy worthy if you’d ask me. πŸ˜€

==========================================

Now, you may be wondering what the big deal with washing brushes.

Cross cont is a no-no
Washing your brushes is extremely important to prevent cross contamination of products and colours – even more so if you work with liquid products a lot. Think about it, although some of us have different brushes for dark and light colour, there’s going to be buildup and , by the end ofΒ using a blending brush,Β it’s going to be a mix of many colours. So we’re going to have to wash our brushes.

Wash your brushes for a smooth finish
For example, if you apply liquid foundation with your brush, you’ll find that there’ll always be dried foundation left even after you wipe it down with a tissue. There’s no way you’re going to be able to achieve a smooth finish with a brush like that, so you’ll have to use a brush cleaner.

Unwashed brushes could become a breeding ground for bacteria.
When we brush our brushes against our skin, we will inevitably pick up sebum along the way. (Sebum is the oil produced by your face as a natural defence against drying out) Now, that is the perfect habitat for bacteria to live in and that could lead to breakouts and the works >_<

All in all, it’s just like bathing everyday, honestly – to clean off all the gunk and products.

I’ll be writing a little guide up later on about washing brushes! πŸ˜€ Stay tuned dear!!!

 

***** SIDE NOTE:
POPSISTER FEBRUARY ISSUE CAME IN YESTERDAY! πŸ˜€ GO GRAB!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kristy said, on December 18, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I have this, but I don’t really like it.. o_o
    Somehow my brushes always smell after I wash it with this brush cleaner!
    What’s the amount you use??

    • Jae said, on December 18, 2010 at 11:40 am

      Hey Kristy!
      I’m so sorry to hear that! Well for this contour brush I only used about a tablespoon of product? >_<
      How much do you usually use?

      • Kristy said, on December 18, 2010 at 7:54 pm

        wow that’s little o_o
        i usually use about one plate around my hand size..
        cos i find that my brush usually wont be clean unless i wash it twice ;x
        so for me this product is kind of costly!

      • Jae said, on December 18, 2010 at 8:06 pm

        Ah! Well, I suppose it’s cause I usually apply it direct to the brush?
        XD And I’m actually okay with just one wash. XDDD
        Ah! Which brush cleaner do you prefer then? πŸ˜€

      • Kristy said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        i see. i’ve only used this before, but kinda interested to try the olive oil+soap method..
        cos i got this together with my brush~

      • Jae said, on December 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

        Ah! Haha, that might work… I’ve never actually tried that one before but do let me know how you go with it yeah! πŸ˜€

  2. Keita said, on December 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    hows it do you love the cleaner ? πŸ˜€ I love it hehehe. Its really easy to wash.

    Wow how i wish someone would buy make up for me as christmas present :/ it never happen 0.o

    • Jae said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      πŸ˜€ It’s the BOMB I tell you babe!!!
      XDDD but you’ve got a gift coming to you real soon dear!!! Hehehe! My christmas present to you! πŸ˜€

      • Keita said, on December 20, 2010 at 1:53 pm

        Hehe yea so excited. I wish its here TODAY!!! T.T lol~

        I love the brush cleaner somemore the price is quite reasonable cos for me, dont have to use much and you can wash most of your brushes clean It comes in a big bottle too

      • Jae said, on December 20, 2010 at 11:04 pm

        T_T So sorry dearrrrr… Hope it arrives soon soon kay!

        Hehe! I know right?! I kind of wish all cleaners were like that -staring at my daiso sponge cleaner- stupid bottle, I use it up so quickly… T_T
        XDDD Have you seen the latest MAC collection by the way dear? πŸ˜€ The Cham Pale one looks so tempting…

  3. Keita said, on December 21, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Hee hee im just so excited πŸ˜€

    Hmm I havent tried the daiso one :/

    Ya! I m so looking forward to this collection, I love the colours super nice and wearable everyday πŸ˜€

    • Jae said, on December 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      XD keep a lookout for it okay!
      And ahh, do give it a shot! It’s really good! :3

      it’s so soft and shimmery… XD Have you checked out POP by the way dear? πŸ˜€

    • Keita said, on December 26, 2010 at 12:29 pm

      You mean the cosmetic brand “POP”that sells in sephora? *Scratch head*

      • Jae said, on December 27, 2010 at 9:52 am

        XD no no dearrrrr, I meant popteen :3 today’s the last day for the kino 20% off sale!!! Go go go!!!


Leave a Reply

