Jae's Blog

Brushes??? HELP!!!! [[A REALLY REALLY SHORT GUIDE]] + Something about POPSISTER FEB 2011

Posted in Kinokuniya, MAC, POPSISTER by Jae on December 19, 2010

When I first started out with brushes, I didn’t understand their function and I most certainly didn’t know anything about caring for them. Well, that was until I received my first expensive brush back in 2007 – a Shu Uemura 20H.

I started reading up and because I never actually used it, I didn’t have to wash until very recently when I started using contour and highlighting powder.

Shocking, yes I know, but well, I only seriously got into makeup quite recently, so -laughing- I’m learning too!

Now, following this will be a series of questions and my answers. Before I go into that, I have to remind you that the answers I provide are based on my own experience so these are NOT hard and fast rules.

***** PLEASE NOTE:
There is NO one “correct” way to do things, different people do things differently and I don’t claim to be an expert on brushes. I respect everyone’s opinions but this is my personal guide to how I deal with my brushes. *****


So Jae, how often should I wash my brushes? I mean, I haven’t got the time to go through all my brushes and I always have to use them…
Now, different people do this differently. While some people believe that washing after every use is essential, I personally only wash my brushes once every week on weekends when I don’t have to use makeup because I’m just too lazy and because I’m paranoid about my brushes not being dry in time for me to use it the next day. And goodness, don’t use your hair dryer on your brushes!

It’s a personal choice because it also depends on your own schedule. πŸ™‚

What face brushes do you use?
Whoa! Haha, if you’re after recommendations, I’ve got a few but of course, once again, different people have different preferences, I strongly suggest that you pop by the physical counters to get a feel of brushes before making any decisions. πŸ™‚

I usually use my Ecotools blush brushes for blushes – I have two, one for my pinks and one for my orange blushes. Cause it’s dirt cheap, super soft and just the right size for me.

I usually do a zigzag pattern on the surface of the blush and then tap the colour gently on my cheeks. πŸ˜€

My Shu Uemura 20H is purely for highlighting while my MAC 168SE is for contouring because it’s the only one that’s small enough.

What about eye brushes?
Well, I’ll be frank. Because I use the Jill Stuart palette, I use their sponge applicator as well – some girls will cry foul at this because they believe that sponge applicators do not work as well as brushes but once again, it’s down to personal preference and I like my sponge applicators. :3

Of course, because I use MAC’s Prepped for Glamour as well, I have to use a brush. My brush of choice in this case is the ELF Eye Brush

It’s dirt cheap and darn good Β – careful though, I’ve heard of some girls getting brushes from bad batches and them being extremely scratchy… Depends very much on luck I suppose. >_< I use it to apply the shadow and blend it in πŸ™‚

What are the things to avoid with washing my brushes?
1) Never leave your brushes straight up to dry
The water will loosen the metal part (also known as the ferrule), the brush will get annoyingly wobbly and some brushes may even start to shed.

This is not to say that brushes will never shed – in fact, I believe that it’s really quite normal for the brush to lose a few bristles after the first wash. Some brushes will shed all the time and some may never shed – it all depends on the type of brush, the maker of the brush and how you care for your brushes.

Just because a brush is from a high end brand, it does not automatically mean that it will never shed or that it will be completely awesome. In fact, MAC’s got a few brushes that are atrocious – do a google search with the terms ‘MAC brush shed’ and it’ll pull up a whole bunch of sites with people complaining about incessant shedding.

Some girls have also said that MAC’s SE/SH brushes are completely not worth buying because they’ll always shed but I beg to differ because based on the ones I have so far, they’re really great and they’re excellent for bringing to photo shoots.

2) Avoid leaving them flat out on the counter to dry
Especially if you’ve got a fluffy round head brush because you’re going to get one very… Semi-circle like brush after that.

3) Avoid using anything but baby shampoo and gentle soaps on your brushes
You wouldn’t want to make the bristles coarse now, would you? πŸ™‚

4) Avoid letting the brushes dry without reshaping them
Form your brush into somewhat the same shape it came in when it’s still wet so that when it dries, it’ll be compact and not all over the place.

How should I transport my brushes?
Some girls use brush rolls, others use pouches. I use a pouch cause I’m too lazy to make a brush roll and I don’t fancy the idea of having to lug extra stuff (brush roll) along with me. This is also why I love my travel sized brushes.

=======================================================

About POPSISTER 2011 (Feb), it’s got a lot more Yui that they usually do so if you’re a Yui fan like me?! Go grab!

It’s now available at Kinokuniya Ngee Ann City and Bugis Junction! πŸ˜€ Yes, the 20% discount deal is still on, so it’s only 11.20SGD! -pleased with my new purchase-

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Samantha said, on December 19, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Whoa! Popsister is super cheap!! Aw, but I can’t take advantage of the discount as I’m not a Kinokuniya member!

    • Jae said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      XD Then stick close to this blog sweetheart!
      -whispers- I might have a surprise coming up!

  2. Anna said, on December 19, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Very helpful, I use my expensive brushes only for shootings or important events, for school looks I use the best blending brush ever: my finger XD!

    • Jae said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      Hey Anna!!!
      πŸ˜€ I’m glad you found this useful! And high five!
      XD nothing beats our own fingers, I tell you! I use my fingers when I spread my base out and nothing will ever beat it! XDDD

  3. Rachelle said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    Ahhh so the Ecotools brushes are actually good? I’ve been reluctant to try cus they’re so cheap! lol

    So how do you dry your brushes if you don’t lay them flat OR leave them straight up? I always lay them flat :S

    • Jae said, on December 20, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Hey Rachelle!
      Yup! πŸ˜€ Hehe, I really really like their blush brushes~~~~
      And XDD ah, well, what I meant was to leave them with their bristles sticking out over a counter edge! XDDD
      That way, you won’t run the risk of having one side completely flat!

  4. Magda said, on December 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Thanks for the reviews! πŸ™‚ Curently I am using some Sigma and some MAC brushes, and as for “included in the set” brushes, I think KATE blush small brush is pretty neat and so is shiseido illuminating sheer powder brush – even when I used up the product, I kept the brushes! πŸ˜€

    • Jae said, on December 20, 2010 at 9:21 am

      πŸ˜€ Hey Magda!
      Haha, no worries and I think the KATE blush brush is so cute!!!!

      PS: I really like the profile pic you have on your blog right now! :3

  5. bones said, on December 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

    tsk! at last u have brushes!

    ok i do too… but i’m lacking some proper eyeshadow brushes XD

    • Jae said, on December 21, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      XDDD
      Eyeshadow brushes mush-es, really… XD I’m such a bad influence. >_<

      • bones said, on December 24, 2010 at 1:21 am

        hahahaha!!!!
        nah.. you’re not. *hugs*

        i still haven’t decided what kind of brushes i want yet, so i guess i’ll buy them later on.
        for now, i’m cool with the applicators provided – ‘cept for blushes, for which i have a pretty good brush on hand. phew~!

      • Jae said, on December 24, 2010 at 8:32 am

        T_T XDDD Haha, blush brushes are the only things I started out with actually..
        >_< I've always been so scared of streaky blushes! T_T

      • bones said, on December 24, 2010 at 6:55 pm

        yeah! especially the brushes from bourjous and canmake.

      • Jae said, on December 25, 2010 at 2:38 am

        XD wheee!!! I actually liked the canmake brushes a lot… :3
        Haha, so soft…


Leave a Reply

