Jae's Blog

Melliesh Lip Gloss #05 – ハニーアプリコット [Honey Apricot]

Posted in lipgloss, Lips, MELLIESH by Jae on December 31, 2010

Do you see what I see? Yes, we see what I see because it’s Melliesh’s lip gloss in Honey Apricot!

Heads up, dearie, this post is image intensive!

Now, this is #05 and is meant to give a cute but natural look!

The first thing that crossed my mind when I received the item was how small the tube is – so I just had to check how much product there was inside.

Well, that would be 5g per tube then but then I realized that hey, my MAC Viva Glam Gaga only contains 4.8g of product and the packaging felt a little larger – this Melliesh tube is perfect for bringing out on the go, I’m telling you!

Interestingly enough, the product’s made in Japan!

The word Melliesh is written on the tube in the classic gold that’s consistent with all of Yui’s other products! I especially love the gold lace band that runs around the top portion.

It’s classic and clean cut, it’s really beautiful and simple.

The black handle is actually longer than the main body of the product and the applicator itself to ensure that you have good control over the wand.

The gloss comes with a doe-foot applicator that’s pretty much like the ones from MAC!

And see how the inner rim of the gloss is black? It gives a very good gauge of how much product is around the rim and the best part about it is that when I replaced the applicator, it fit just snug so that not much product gets wasted at all.

Now, here’s the interesting part about this lipgloss. See this barrel shot here? While it appears to be coral on the outside, it’s actually a nude-ish peach when applied.

Moving on to the gloss itself.

1) It settles into lip lines
This crushed me, but I just have to say it. It definitely does settle into lip lines so make sure that you use a good amount of lip balm before using this

One thing though, it won’t quite show from afar, so it’s not so bad.

2) It’s not suitable for lips that have not been exfoliated
it definitely catches on dead skin and shows up very obviously.

3) It is just slightly sticky
But not so sticky that it’s ridiculously tacky. This also means that the wear time is around 3-4 hours for me without eating or drinking. I usually apply three strokes in a downward motion on the lower lips and two on my upper lip before spreading it out with my fingers.

4) It’s not moisturizing nor drying
But I don’t suppose it would work very well without lip balm!

5) The colour is gorgeously natural
It works great as an everyday gloss!

Hehe, hope this helps you dears!

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sugar sugar said, on December 31, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Thank you for this honest review. I have been looking at this gloss for a while and I guess I’ll make a pass because my lips are uber dry.

    Happy new year! =)

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:45 am

      Hey Sugar Sugar!
      😀 I’m really glad this was of some help to you!!!
      Happy new year to you too sweetie!

  2. robinvalentine♥ said, on December 31, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    i had high hopes for this lipgloss so def. not going to try it now ><

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:46 am

      Hey dearie!
      Ahh… I’m so sorry to hear that… Do stay tuned though kay! I’ve got another review of another one coming up soon! 😀

  3. Anna Crystal said, on December 31, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I love Melliesh glosses, especially when wanting to achieve this nude big-sized lip look |D

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Hey Anna!
      :3 Haha, speaking of large lips, I’m going to be practicing a new technique to make my lip size smaller! 😀
      Love your latest look by the way! 😀

      • Anna Crystal said, on January 2, 2011 at 7:55 pm

        Awww thankies ^0^

        Oh haha really? I try the opposite, though

      • Jae said, on January 3, 2011 at 9:01 am

        Hey Anna!!! ❤
        Haha, ah! Some girls prefer fuller lips while others prefer thinner ones… -laughing- Grass is always greener, I suppose!

  4. dasotong said, on December 31, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    i love melliesh lipglosses ❤ while i agree with its cons,the colour is really gorgeous

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:49 am

      Hey sweetheart!
      😀 Haha, it definitely is~ I’ve actually been using it everyday together with lip butter cause of how natural it looks! 😀

  5. Keita said, on January 1, 2011 at 2:54 am

    Wow got the itchiness to buy but I spent alot on mbok already T.T *control control*

    Thanks for your review 😀

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:52 am

      Dear~~~!!!
      Hahaha, it’s my pleasure~ And T_T I know right… You know, I was re-organizing my makeup again yesterday and I’ve got SO MUCH stuff now?!
      Looks like the both of us need to control already T_T

  6. chai said, on January 1, 2011 at 9:33 am

    The colour looks gorgeous.
    Can i ask were you bought it?

    and…
    Happy New Year! ^^
    I hope you have an awesome and fulfilled year x)
    ~

    • Jae said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:54 am

      Hey Chai!
      I actually received it from a supplier! 😀 I’m waiting on a reply from them and I’ll release their address right here so stay tuned yeah! ❤

      And same to you sweetie! Hehe, may all your dreams and wishes come true!!!!

  7. […] read my more in-depth review of the glosses, please head HERE for a […]

  8. faye lu said, on February 17, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    best melliesh review / swatches i’ve seen so far! love the packaging … i’m the biggest sucker for packaging x

    • Jae said, on February 17, 2011 at 6:43 pm

      Faye!!!
      Aww… Thank you so much love!!!
      And haha, yup~! I’m totally in love with Melliesh XD


Leave a Reply

