Jae's Blog

NYX Lipliner Pencils (Dolly Pink for Gaga? etc) Image intensive

Posted in Cherryculture, NYX by Jae on January 3, 2011

Now, I bought these during the Cherry Culture 20% off sale and decided to give them a swatch test before attempting to use any of them.

Looking at the picture above, please observe the colours that mark each lipliner – I’ll come back to this later.

These are supposed to be great value for money lip liners and while I can’t say much for wear time, I certainly can say a lot about their application. They tug – quite a bit too.

When the pencils first arrived, the first thing that struck me was their length and how it varied across the lot I bought.

-laughing- They were quite generous with Rose.

Rose is almost like a super matt Salmon Pink -staring at my picture-

Flower is a baby pink with a metallic sheen.

Dolly Pink is a super matt shocking pink. (Colour most accurate the last image)

Citrine is metallic dark red.

Now, I understand that some people have mentioned that Dolly Pink would be a good liner for MAC’s Viva Glam Gaga but I beg to differ.

It’s… Nowhere near to Gaga and okay, my image doesn’t show the difference enough but Gaga’s pink is a lot softer – I would personally never use Dolly Pink as a liner for it because it’s too pink and I will not want my lipliner to stand out more than my lipstick itself.

Perhaps Flower would work better but then again, Flower’s too frosty pink for Gaga.

And some have also said that Narcissus would work great with Dolly Pink and… I’m on the fence about this on because I’m staring at my hand right now and Dolly Pink’s too purple for Narcissus.

All in all? I’m going to have to look for lipsticks to match with these lipliners cause they’re not quite going according to the way the recommendations planned. =3=

Tissue Test:
Rose left a stain, Flower got completely wiped off, Dolly Pink left a stain and so did Citrine so if you’re planning to wear these out on a dinner date… Well, Flower wouldn’t hold out very well.

Final Note:
So far, I’ve only tried the lipliners out for colour matching. I’ll be back next time with another round of actual lip swatches and wear time.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keita said, on January 3, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    wow. Never in my life I ve used lipliner Xp got once I went to a MAC counter. The SA help me do make over. I immediately freaked after using lipliner. To them they find it neat and well define 0.o but to me, its like a person trying hard to be Angelina Jolie or something 0.o lol~~~ It looks super thick on me i feel :/

    I guess the shades you chose its abit too pinkish? Dont you think so? Xp since I remember you told me you dont really like pink lipstick either? 😛

    • Jae said, on January 4, 2011 at 8:25 am

      O.O Wa… I’m going to be honest and say that unless I’m going for a shoot, I don’t use lip liners because it’s too much work :3 <— is a lazy person. Hahaha.

      And hmm…. Maybe a little but but but… I think I might have migrated towards the pink camp leh, Keita… :3 -looking at my stash now- I think… I might have defaulted… :X Haha! A lot of my shades are pinky now cause the POP models have been using a lot of pink for the Winter season… I think… I like pink lippies now, dear… :3

      Haha, corals are still nice though!

      • Keita said, on January 4, 2011 at 10:29 am

        Hahahahaha no wonder nowadays Im wondering why like most of your shades are pink Xp Hehehehe. Hmmm Im still thinking should I get a milky pink lipstick to go with the lady gaga gloss, still contemplating. Scared too striking 0.o

      • Jae said, on January 5, 2011 at 9:30 am

        XD I think the gaga gloss is good on it’s own leh dear… I usually use mine over my Pink Fish TLC to boost the “milky-ness” so -thinking- Maybe can try it over Angel?
        :3 go to the mac counter and swatch it there XDDD That’s what I always do shhhh. XD

      • Keita said, on January 5, 2011 at 11:32 am

        Hehe yea you re right actually its nice on its own. I just wanna try if I put like Lady GaGa kind of lips the very striking pink color how would I look like Xp Confirm get alot of stares on the street :X

        I love her lips though. Hahaha.

        Yea ok I will ShhhhhhhHHHH :p Thanks for your advice hehe

      • Jae said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:18 am

        😀 You’re most welcome keitaaaaaa ❤ Hehehehe! (I'll never tire of doing that XDDD)
        Sigh! I wish they'd make her products permanent… But have you seen the pouch by them? :3 I think it's the only thing I'm on the fence about… On one hand, it's kind of… Cute but on the other hand… It's not very… Umm… Pretty? XD

      • Keita said, on January 6, 2011 at 10:21 am

        Really? Do you have the picture of it? I never encounter it though :/

      • Jae said, on January 7, 2011 at 10:03 am

        Yes dear! 😀

        here you go~! I think they still have stocks over at MAC NAC! 😀

      • Keita said, on January 7, 2011 at 2:35 pm

        hey babe, saw the pic. if you ask me :/ Hmmm I would say give it a pass and save it for other stuff :p

      • Jae said, on January 7, 2011 at 11:25 pm

        Hey love!!!
        You think??? -looks at it again- Hmm.. Well yeah… It’s quite strange actually, XD pass it is then ❤

  2. Rosely said, on January 3, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Oh what a disappointment! I’ve been meaning to get some nyx liners and didn’t think they’d wipe off so easily. When it comes to liners i’m not the one to splurge cause i’ve never found one i’ve loved. Any good reccos?

    • Jae said, on January 4, 2011 at 8:27 am

      Hey Rosely!
      Well, seeing as I don’t usually use lip liners, I haven’t got much of a recommendation for you, but MAC has very nice lip liners – the last one I bought was In Sync and that one works pretty well as a base for my pink lippies! Hope this helps!

  3. Anna Crystal said, on January 3, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve never used liners before and I think I’d do a horrible job on them, but thanks for the reminder though, I should get a makeover including lipliner.

    But tbh, these NYX liners look so.. HARD o_O

    • Jae said, on January 4, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Hey Anna!!!
      Haha, actually… Maybe save for flower, they are quite hard… in fact, the tip for Rose broke off very cleanly when I was trying to swatch them but warming them on my hand does help with some of my eyeliners so maybe that might work for these lip liners as well… I’m going to have to try and give these another shot. :3

  4. peiyennn said, on April 6, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    How much did you pay for the international delivery on cherry culture?

    • Jae said, on April 29, 2012 at 2:11 am

      Hey dear!
      I don’t exactly remember cause it was some time ago but I do believe I paid quite a bit for it. Hmm… :/


Leave a Reply

