Jae's Blog

RMK Makeup Base [[REVIEW]]

Posted in RMK, Yui Kanno by Jae on January 4, 2011

Now, RMK’s got different makeup bases – one’s their relatively new Creamy Polish Makeup Base (that I’ve never tried) and one’s their original Makeup Base that most models use.

The one I’m reviewing today is their original Makeup Base.

Set up in 1997 by Japanese makeup artist, Rumiko, RMK has grown to become an international brand with branches in countries such as London, Thailand, China and Singapore.

Widely used by Japanese models such as Yui Kanno and and heavily featured in magazines, RMK is one of the most popular choices in foundations and makeup bases.

Their Makeup Base is known for its ability to keep one’s face matt and dewy looking for long hours. That’s quite a claim so I decided to put it to the test 🙂

Each bottle comes with 30ML worth of product which, since each bottle retails at 57.00 SGD roughly works out to be about 1.90 SGD per ML. Ouch.

RMK’s Makeup Bases (and their foundations, for that matter) come in screw top glass bottles that may make bringing them out a rather risky business. I don’t think I’ll be toting this around unless I bring bubble wrap along with me. The last thing I want is for my entire bag to be covered in product.

The more commonly heard complaint is how inconvenient it is to have to pour the product out on our hands for application – my verdict? I agree.

See this? This is what it looks like with the top unscrewed and this image below:

Is the size of the opening in comparison to my index fingernail. That’s huge and incredibly difficult to control because one slip and you could end up with a wrist covered in makeup base – not a pretty sight considering the cost.

My tip for this is to steady your hand against the wall or on your makeup table before attempting to pour this out slowly.

Also, each bottle that’s been opened (aka exposed to air and bacteria) can only be kept for a year to a year and a half at best, so mark your calendars or the boxes so you’ll know when to throw it out.

I never keep my foundations (or liquid based) for too long because it’s a liquid and bacteria tends to thrive in such conditions. In the case of this product? Even more so because I’ll place the side of bottle against the back of my hand to pour the liquid out, so whatever that’s left on the “spout” that’s touched my hand may flow back into the bottle, carrying whatever bacteria that was on my hand back into the bottle.

I feel icky already.

Peachy in the bottle, the base pours out a creamy white and when blended (I really hate the iPhone sometimes):

It melts into your skin colour, leaving the feeling of… Well, nothing because of how light it is and this is what I like about it.

It’s incredibly light and my skin felt soft, supple and smelt just faintly like sunscreen (which the sales assistant claimed this contained but seeing how it’s not quite written anywhere, not even on their official website, I highly doubt it).

✔ As for whether it made my makeup last longer? I use Chacott’s Loose Powder so there’s no fight there.

✔ Smooth application of foundation? Well, I’ve never had a problem with that.

✔ Evening out of skin tone? It’s an invisible base – you’ll need a coloured base for that.

-laughing- It’s starting to sound quite useless now, isn’t it? But well, I usually feel horrible when I have just my foundation on (yes, I confess, I used to not use a makeup base but I’d never had a problem with that, so sue me) like there’s a layer of gunk on my skin but with this base, by the end of the day, my face felt quite good (I had product on from 4.30PM, when I applied my makeup, all the way till 10PM that night) Call it a psychological thing but hey, it made me feel a lot better that I’m taking care of my skin.

And when I washed my face, it didn’t feel half as… Icky? Strange, I know but that’s what it felt like.

♡ Jae’s Voice
I applied this only after about 15 minutes after applying my moisturizer so that my moisturizer had enough time to seep into my skin before this went on. If you have to rush to work, I’ll suggest that you apply your moisturizer and then go pick out your clothes before applying your base! ❤

Final Verdict:
Can’t say for certain about oil controlling properties but it definitely made me feel better because I know my skin’s protected. -laughing- Damn, I feel like I might have wasted a little money but it would probably do my skin good in the long run so I suppose it’s money well-spent.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keita said, on January 4, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Jae!!!! Im a fan of RMK cos most Men’s knuckle model used it :X I didnt pay attention of this brand at first, its because of those model I went to their workshop and fell in love but it also burns a super big hole in my pocket =.=|||

    For this base you used, I bought the one if not wrong called “Silver” its super nice for highlight. I use the creamy base as my base then use the Silver one for highlight. You should really try. I love it. I dont think I will change any brands for my base and stuff but the price sure is alittle too high :/

    • Jae said, on January 5, 2011 at 9:32 am

      KEITAAAAA!!!
      hahahha, I haven’t done that in a while! XDDD
      And I know right?! Super ex and their foundation is 70!!!! -faints- Sigh! If only they’d price it at 50… Then it won’t be so bad… T_T And the worst part is that buying RMK in Japan isn’t going to make it cheaper =.=|||

      Ah!!! The one that’s white right? Hmm… Maybe I’ll try it out as soon as I restock my wallet. XDDD -waving white flag- My wallet’s got a drain right now. XDDDDD

      • Keita said, on January 5, 2011 at 11:37 am

        Yea $50 would be quite ok :/

        Yeap! Its the white one. Hahaha I totally understand how you feel bout the wallet :/ *looks at own new supersized Buffalo Bobs wallet and sigh* lol~~~~

        I heard This friday MAC will come out Micky Contractor, Cham Pale and Stylishly Yours:
        http://rougedeluxe.blogspot.com/2011/01/mac-spring-collections-launch.html

        Want to go the workshop?

        lol Im contemplating on whether I want to go :/

      • Jae said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:30 am

        T_T We should go and protest. Hahaha! Kidding!

        Sighhhh~~~~ If only money grew on the trees… Haha! I think the world would be such a bizarre place XD
        And dear!!!! Show us pictures of your wallet okay? 😀

        T_T Yeah, I heard the news… Sigh, I’m just wondering why they decided to let the place explode with three collections at once…

        And ah Shu!!! Well… I don’t actually use anything from them save for their cleansing oil so I’m not sure if I’d go dear… :3 Will you be heading down for it? 😀

      • Keita said, on January 6, 2011 at 11:51 pm

        Hahah I would love to have a money tree too if it exist :p

        Ive finished blogging bout my wallet with pictures:
        http://keitaaddiction.blogspot.com/

        Hehe 😀

        Yea 😦 I cannot imagine how the buyers do with the damage of their wallet tomorrow but I think I ll mainly concentrate on the Cham Pale. I ll totally skip stylishly yours I guess. The mickey Contractor thinkg Im interested in 2 items :/ but ewww not wanting to spend too much

      • Jae said, on January 7, 2011 at 10:05 am

        Wahahaha, your mom is so funny, dear!
        Ahh, it matches your bag too… So cute… And haha, my turn to wish them luck. XDDD
        I think I want to get Feline? But… Hmm… I’ve already got other liners at home… -going to think of an excuse to get one for myself :3-

      • Keita said, on January 7, 2011 at 2:20 pm

        Aiya my mom everytime like that one. Like to “suan” me lol~

        Hahaha yea I love the bag too 😀 Its super cool :X

        Oh so you only interested in feline? Yea. I wish those people who want all 3 collections luck man. Or hope they wont get depression after today :X lol~~~~ I wonder hows the situation now. Will only head down after work :/

      • Jae said, on January 7, 2011 at 10:58 pm

        Hahaha!
        And yupyup! Cause a lot of girls have said that feline’s really good for lining and since my kohl pencil’s practically a stub, I might as well try this one out XD So did you buy anything today dearie?! 😀

      • Keita said, on January 11, 2011 at 10:00 am

        did you buy anything from MAC?

        I bought dangerous curve paint pot, let me pop paint pot, straight to the head lip gelee, Bubble Lounge lip gelee, and the nail polish, the silver one 😛

      • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 7:58 am

        Hey dear!!!
        No, I didn’t cause I haven’t had time to swing by the MAC Counter… T_T
        Are a lot of things sold out yet? >_<

      • Keita said, on January 19, 2011 at 11:50 am

        Erm I dont know is it still available but to me it seems there is still stock 0.o Not sure though

      • Jae said, on January 20, 2011 at 9:00 am

        T_T
        I checked! A lot of the nice things have already been sold out! T_T But ah well, haha, more money for my Japanese makeup then! :3

  2. Anna Crystal said, on January 4, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Hm I don’t really like the type of application and the bottle is kinda pricey if you look at its size, it’s like.. really tiny. Would you recommend using this make up base for someone with oily skin?

    • Jae said, on January 5, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Hey Anna!!!
      And it’s definitely tiny, dearie. >_< Almost too small and well, I've got combination skin so I'm not sure if it'll work for oily skin but it did work for my t-zone…
      Some girls on the net have recommended the RMK Creamy Base though I haven't tried it myself so I can't really say for certain… Perhaps try a sample of this first dear?

      • Anna Crystal said, on January 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm

        Hm but where to get them? Bobodave doesn’t sell RMK samples, haha. But I’m actually not that into make up primers apart from eye bases 🙂

      • Jae said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:39 am

        Hey dear!!!
        Hmm… Well… I did find http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/RMK-Make-up-Base-Primer-Corrector-Sample-/190455687935 on ebay actually! 😀 And the person’s got 100% feedback too… Would you like to give it a shot? 😀

        And XDD Believe me, I never was either until I read Yui’s book :3 Hahaha!

  3. evie said, on January 5, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Ooh i bought this base!but have not tried it out yet.hope is good for me too!

    • Jae said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:32 am

      Hey evie!!!!
      😀 Ahhhh!!! Do let me know how you go with it yeah? 😀 ❤ Thanks for stopping by!

  4. […] bottle comes with a screw top and the same problems that I mentioned in my RMK Makeup Base review. (I always use this over my RMK Makeup […]


Leave a Reply

