Jae's Blog

Melliesh Lip Gloss #01 – ストロベリーミルク [Strawberry Milk]

Posted in MELLIESH, Yui Kanno by Jae on January 11, 2011

-laughing- I should call this week Melliesh week!

Today’s lip gloss is also from Melliesh and is 01 – Strawberry Milk!

Ranked #5 on the POPTEEN ranking chart, the gloss is a darker shade of pink which kind of makes me wonder why the name ‘strawberry milk” when really… It really doesn’t look too sweet at all…

If you’re not a fan of milky lips, then this gloss might be the one for you – it’s usually used to give a relatively more grown-up look as compared to the rest of the glosses on the Melliesh menu. (Yes, I did say menu because everything is so yummy. XD)

Yes, same as always, a doe-foot applicator here as well. You know, I’m really loving the short handle because it’s so much easier for me to reapply my gloss on the go.

The other day, I had to do my gloss on the car and it was awesome because I didn’t have to worry about the applicator getting product all over my face like my NYX wand did. (The car jerked and I had a slick of Salsa gloss down my right cheek =_=||| I told myself, ‘never again’.)

Now, here, I used it over my MAC Pink Fish TLC to see if it would still settle into the lines of my lips. Well, it rather disappointingly, it did… But it’s still a gorgeous colour if you’re going for a slightly more matured look.

It’s just tacky enough so that it stays pretty well on my lips and it blended out so my lip lines didn’t show up like red flag so really, I’m just being fussy, that’s all.

To read my more in-depth review of the glosses, please head HERE for a look! 😀

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keita said, on January 11, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Hmmm I dont really understand why are you disappointed in it? Cos of the lines? I stopped buying MAC lipstick because they are too dry :/

    • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:03 am

      T_T Yes cause of the lines… Cause my TLC was supposed to moisturize my lips and fill in the lines but clearly, it didn’t and my Melliesh gloss sank into my lines anyway… T_T
      So annoying, and ahhh! Well, their frost and matt lipsticks are notorious for that dear! But I usually buy their amplified cream range and that one’s alright… Maybe can try those out? 😀

  2. sugar sugar said, on January 11, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I really like this color. 😀 It’s sooo pretty! And yes, you have been reviewing Melliesh successively, but that’s ok since I’m also interested to find more about their products. 🙂

    • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Hey Sugar!
      Hehe! It is, isn’t it?!
      And ahhh!! Thank you dearie! I’m really glad this is helpful for you! ❤

  3. Anna Crystal said, on January 11, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    The lines get caused by the M.A.C lipstick, a lot of my other friends didn’t have any problems with the Melliesh gloss and actually it’s supposed to make the flawless, nude, BIG Asian lips that are totally en vogue atm. It works for them, but none of them uses a Maccie

    • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:05 am

      Hey dear!!!
      Hmm… Maybe I should put this gloss on my revisit list then… T_T I so want it to work out nicely… -cries-

  4. robinvalentine♥ said, on January 12, 2011 at 4:25 am

    pretty! too bad about the lines though..

    • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:07 am

      Yes indeed dear!
      T_T Sigh… I’m going to try this one again without my TLC, as Anna suggested, though! So maybe it’ll work better… Hmm… -crossing my fingers- 😀

  5. jodie said, on January 12, 2011 at 5:04 am

    the colour is rather nice, what a pity ..

    haha today my friends and i spent an hour in sephora trying everything and came out buying nothing orzzzzz i feel so bad LOL

    • Jae said, on January 12, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Hey dear!
      Haha, indeed.. >_< And XDDD aww it's okay!!!
      Psst! I used to do the same thing at MAC. :3 Hehe! It’s just so satisfying to know which colours are nice!!!

      • jodie said, on January 13, 2011 at 12:34 am

        Haha ya! And to know that the liner I tested on my hand yesterday is still stuck on my hand and can’t come off! LOL

      • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 11:08 am

        XD!
        Eh, that means the staying power is pretty good! XD Which liner was it?! Hahahaha!

  6. missywinnie said, on January 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    hey!just a suggestion!Since your lips are always so dry..i think its fairer this way that you would exfoliate your lips before giving a review on those lipstick/glosses..Which lip gloss/stick wont show on dry lips?or rather make it more obvious?

    On all your reviews,u always mention that the lip gloss sink into the lines of your lips.
    So why not exfoliate and moisturise your lips a few days before you give us a review?It will show better on the pictures as well..In my opinion,its not the lip gloss problem..its cos of your own lips that cause the product to not show up well..Like for example,if your skin is flaking..do you think you will give a good review on the foundation you are using?Of cos,you will say the foundation doesn’t stays well right?
    That’s cos there are dead skins cells on your skin..so its the same logic.
    Lastly,if you have natural dark lips,maybe you would like to put on concealer on your lips so that it can cover the pigments of your lips and let the colors show up better?

    Just my suggestions:)

    • Jae said, on January 14, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      Hey Winnie!

      Thanks for dropping by and for your suggestions! ^^ -winks- I’ll keep the exfoliation tip in mind! 😀

      And I talk about the glosses sinking in mostly because they do, love 😉 Light glosses tend to sink into and show up like red flags on lip lines and -laughing- quite unfortunately, for some of us, lip lines, even with adequate moisturizing, persist and regrettably, for me, this is the case (ah, the bane of genetics) – I’m actually thinking about getting my lips filled in when I can’t take the lip lines anymore. XD And if you’d ask me, the NYX Chestnut Lipgloss works awesome in terms of not kicking the lip line factor up – it worked really well for me, so do check out that review when you get the time! 😀

      And that most certainly is a viable option, thanks once again dear! 😀

  7. jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I have no idea which liner it was cus we were just trying out literally everything! @_@ plus i dont bother looking cus i know i wont have money for it in the end LMAO

    • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:21 am

      HAHAHA!
      Don’t worry dear, I lose track of my swatches too sometimes! -laughing-
      I’ll say ‘Ooo, new.’ -try- ‘ah, this one’s new too’ -tries- ‘one more!’ -tries- Then die, don’t know which is which. XD

  8. June said, on January 20, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Hi Jae, long time no see 🙂

    I just got my hands on the new Eyemazing lipgloss, and I have to say, I love it!

    Great color, no lines, lots of plumping effect, very shinny (a bit too shinny if you ask me…), and not too sticky.

    Definitely better than Candy Doll. and since I love Melliesh, this Eyemazing lipgolls is almost as good as Yui’s.

    There’s also blush in this range, but I didn’t get it, I hold too much stock already…

    Just something to tempt you ^^.

    Hope all is well with you!

    June

    • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Hey June!!!!
      Ahhh, MY YUI ANGEL! -laughing- It’s been a while, love!
      Thanks for the heads up girl! ❤ It's always good to hear from you! ❤

      • jodie said, on January 21, 2011 at 12:46 pm

        eyelmazing lipgloss *____________________________*
        ufnsfiwantwantwanteverything

      • Jae said, on January 22, 2011 at 9:15 am

        XD It’s the ‘want everything’ syndrome.
        Don’t worry, I HAVE IT TOO! T_T

      • June said, on January 22, 2011 at 1:48 pm

        You are so welcome 🙂

        I spent big time on these frivolous things… bought like 60 boxes of false eyelashes (10 pairs in each box) from Yahoo Taiwan, and too many from Japan…

        The time I spend on putting on my eye makeup has increased accordingly. Lots of cutting falsies involved.

        Hope this insanity would stop soon…

        Keep up the GREAT work!

      • Jae said, on January 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

        >_< No frivolous yo dear~~~~ But whoa! 60 boxes?! That's a lot of falsies, love!
        -laughing- It's so addictive isn't it?! I love falsies – they're like chips, once you start, you just can't stop!

        And 😀 ahhhhh!!!! Haha, thank you dearie!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ I will definitely work hard!

  9. jodie said, on January 22, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    i mailed eyemazing like 5 mins ago 😛
    of course it’s a 90% chance they wont reply to my all english message -.-

    • Jae said, on January 24, 2011 at 9:26 am

      AHHH! Yes yes, must let me know if they do okay?!
      And haha, yeah.. well, maybe they will but in like, full Japanese :3 They’re strange like that! XD


Leave a Reply

