Jae's Blog

Canmake Highlighter 05 – Baby Peach [[REVIEW]] [[$]] (The war of the highlighters!)

Posted in Candy Doll, Canmake, Economical, MELLIESH by Jae on January 12, 2011

So I was at Watsons two days ago, browsing around, when the 20% off sign at the Canmake counter caught my eye.

Now only 11.90 SGD (down from the previous 14.90), the Canmake Highlighter in 05, Baby Peach looks very much like Candy Doll’s orange highlighter (ranking #5).

Also in this post, I’ll be comparing between Candy Doll, Melliesh and this highlighter, ready? let’s go!

** If you’re looking for good alternatives to some of the products that I have been recommending recently, then my next few posts for this week would be right up your alley 🙂 To mark my posts for economical products, I’ve placed a ‘$’ sign up with the title, so do look for that sign to see which products are super cheap in Singapore! 😀 **

Now, I don’t have the orange highlighter with me at the moment but I do know that the Canmake highlighter ranks farther up the list. 😀

And for good reason because compared to the rest of the products on the list, the Canmake Highlighter is pretty much half the price! it’s only 577Yen in Japan, which roughly converts to about 9.00 SGD as compared to the 1200+ yen (20+ SGD) of Candy Doll and Melliesh 🙂 Now that it’s on sale, it’s even better for us!

Especially on a student’s budget, Canmake serves as a good alternative to the high end brands. The best part is that it’s available all around Japan.

I had to choose between this highlighter and the other pure white one actually, but I decided to go with this one since this would serve as a relatively more natural highlighter (and also cause the colour was just sitting pretty on the rack :3).

The compact is your classic snap open and close sort which can be quite a pain to open if you have long nails or if you’re like me and picked up a piece that’s got a particularly difficult clasp.

It also comes with a little synthetic brush that is quite soft and portable.

The bristle are long and the handle is quite short, which works for me as a touch up brush during photo shoots when I tap on colour but can be quite a pain because of control and colour distribution issues (if I can help it, I would just bring my full-sized Ecotools Blush Brush along with me.)

Some girls have mentioned that Canmake’s blushes shatter very easily but honestly, I think it holds up quite alright in my makeup pouch. I usually bring about 3 pouches with me (one for my brushes, one for my eye makeup and another for my face makeup, I hate having everything in one bag cause then things would just start falling out and that’s how things get broken – I’d rather spend a bit more time to pack everything nicely) and they’ve always come home safely. Well, I don’t usually place my bag at high areas or smash it to the ground so I suppose so long as you don’t plan to throw your bag around, it’s actually quite safe to bring this blush with you on-the-go.

And there we go, a swatch of the highlighter and this is with two swipes of my finger on the palette. In terms of pigmentation and glitter load, Canmake is a definite winner.

And for precisely the same reason, it is very possible to overdo it – go easy on this piece cause their palettes are extremely pigmented. and soft. I know I had to tap off a lot of product before I could use it without worrying about looking like someone took a silver crayon to my t-zone.

The difference here is unmistakable. While Candy Doll and Melliesh don’t quite show up, Canmake is just in-your-face silver.

In terms of glitter, it’s pretty much in the order shown in the swatch above. Canmake’s got the most glitter, followed by Candy Doll and finally, Melliesh, which quite frankly, can be said to be a matt product.

So there we have it, babe! 😀

That’s Canmake for you! I’m working double time, trying to find dupes for my Melliesh blushes by the way, so hang in there yeah? 😀

Final Verdict:
It’s worth the money and most definitely rebuy worthy cause of it’s low price. Grab one now while the sale is still on!

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bones said, on January 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    thanks! i’ve been hoping you’ll do highlighter reviews and you did!
    all of it! candy doll, mellish & canmake.
    thanks babe!

    i think canmake’s good to bring out for touch ups and it’s shimmer is just about right.

    you know which one’s really easy to over do? etude house’s pearl highlighter.
    i got one myself while i was in korea last august.
    i remember over-doing it the first time i tried it out. 2nd attempt was mmmmmmuch better. had better control so the shimmer turned out right on my face, instead of like some oil slick.

    hahahaha! XD

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Hey Bones!!!!
      Hehe! No problem sweety! I’m glad this one’s useful to you! _< I haven't quite tried anything from their store before because I don't really like the scent that comes along with their products… :3
      T_T I want to go to Korea too… The fashion there looks quite interesting and I want to have more kimchi… Is it nice there?
      >_< Aiyaya! Haha, don't worry dear, when I was trying this powder out, I overdid it too XD Had to use loose powder to blot out the effect, DOH! I hate it when that happens!

      XDDD We all have our days XDDD

      • bones said, on January 13, 2011 at 1:27 pm

        it’s called experimenting. XD

        korea is WONDERFUL darling!
        it’s just dynamic as japan i believe… of coz, japan’s more out there you know..
        more outrageous in fashion. korea’s more subtle.. classy in a way.

        etude house’s bb creams are pretty good!
        my all time favourite from them is the pearl mineral bb cream ^^
        my couz and i are using it, #21 for moi, #23 for her. LOL!
        the smell isn’t too bad. very subtle.
        the ones that smell really strong is the… peach range of cosmetics i believe.

      • Jae said, on January 14, 2011 at 9:03 pm

        XDDD Most definitely, doll. _< Oh man, now I need to save up for both countries… T_T
        -looking at empty wallet- Uwah! T_T I think I'd like to shop for clothes in Korea then…
        I heard that the winters are really bad? :3

        And BONESSSSSS, you've making my hands very itchy to try things now T_T

      • bones said, on January 15, 2011 at 9:18 pm

        hehe!

        yeah! winter’s really cold.
        i went during the hottest time of summer, but actually it was really bearable.
        i think it’s coz it’s not as humid as singapore. so though you perspire, you don’t sweat buckets. ^^

        clothes, shoes etc…. are expensive in korea. that’s one of the similar things about korea and japan.
        in about middle of august, myeong-dong, seoul’s got a “grand seoul sale”.
        i bought like 1 nike high cut sneaker and 2 pairs of heels. the heels there are love!
        soft and cushiony + excellent quality. makes walking in them a breeze. i ran in them too! LOL!

      • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:02 pm

        BONESSS XD
        OMG, that sounds like Melbourne T_T I really don’t like the humidity levels in Singapore – thankfully, it’s been pretty good these couple of weeks…
        I’m hoping it’ll continue for some time before all hell breaks loose in March.

        AHH! And they’ve got dunks too??? If they have Nike Dunks, I’ll be over there in a heartbeat! >_<

      • bones said, on January 17, 2011 at 11:14 am

        this weather is good coz it’s cool, but a little too cool for my liking coz my finger tips and toes keep freezing up.
        it’s during this kind of period that i gotta be careful of having my calves suddenly cramping up in the middle of the night due to the cold. LOL! XD

        yup, they’ve got dunks babe!
        mine was a hot pink, bright orange with midnight purple + pink glitter & white marks one.
        all i can say is that Sg stocks the more unique looking ones that are kinda masculine and when it comes to high cut sneakers, there’s already an element of masculinity in it, so i had a hard time trying to look for a girly pair, not to mention pink too… so i found them in seoul! hehe! XD
        i’ve been thinking of getting another pair, just not sure what colour yet. maybe a black or silver or gold one. ^^

      • Jae said, on January 18, 2011 at 10:01 am

        >_< Oh no… Perhaps try wear socks at night dear? I know I wear fuwa-fuwa socks from Daiso to sleep every night cause my toes cramp up too :3 They're so comfy, you've got to try them. XD

        And T.T THAT'S IT. WHEN I GO THERE, I'M GOING TO BECOME BROKE! Ahh!!!! I so want a pink pair! T_T And yup, haha, I've got a feeling it's cause they think the girls here won't wear dunks but damn, they couldn't be more wrong. And the funny part is, I had to get my full black pair from Tokyo =_=||| I couldn't find fully black ones anywhere. =_=|||

        Haha, silver sounds good dear!

  2. Michelle said, on January 12, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I have their blush/highlighter duo and I definitely can’t live without it! The color is bright but natural looking at the same time. There also is the right amount of shimmer so it gives my cheeks a nice subtle glow! Anyway, I love your reviews and I can’t wait to read more 🙂

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Hey Michelle!
      Their products are definitely worth it, aren’t they?! 😀
      I haven’t tried their duos but maybe I will now XD Thanks for the tip!
      And ahhhh! -bowbow- Thank you very much for dropping by dearie! ❤ Hehe!

  3. Clare said, on January 12, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Hi there,
    Asking a really noob question but is highlighter used on the bridge of your nose and the cheeks area? OFT, but do you have any recommendations for foundations that give that dewy look, not that kind of ah lian thick foundation look? and that is affordable?

    Clare

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Hey Clare!
      That’s not a noob question at all yo! I’ve actually made a little tutorial picture for reference for my newest post so do check it out okay? 😀

      And for foundations, -laughing- well, if you’re looking for a dewy look, you might want to try out some BB creams instead – the one I recommended previously was the Missha BB cream but that one retails for about 54 SGD? ^^ A little bit steep but if you join a spree for GMarket, you might be able to get it for less!

      And well, usually, if we use a little lesser foundation, it would look as cakey (some girls pile on the foundation because they think it’ll give them a smoother base and then on top of that, they’ll add loose powder, so it’ll just look really thick) XD But if you’re set on looking for foundation, perhaps you’d like to try the ZA two way cake? Some girls have raved about it cause it’s supposed to work well to cover pores and the works but I’ve never tried ZA before so I can’t say for certain… I’m so sorry I can’t be of much help dear >_<

  4. robinvalentine♥ said, on January 12, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    i love canmake! i have shading powder from it too, it’s my fav. cheap brand <3!

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 11:05 am

      Hey Robin!
      XD You and me both! ❤ It's reallyyyy awesome!
      And ahh.. Hmm… Maybe I should try the shading powder from them too… -thinking- Hmm. Haha, thank you for the idea dear! ❤

  5. jodie said, on January 13, 2011 at 12:33 am

    i have the white highlighter that came with the blush =m= so white and glittery…… i rather get melliesh orzzz
    but the brush is nice to touch hehehe!

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Jodie! ❤
      Haha, Melliesh is awesome! I'm actually saving up to get the rest of the blushes so let's save together! :3 Hehe!
      And yes, the Canmake brush is really soft! ❤ I wish the other companies would have bristles like that =_=|||

      • jodie said, on January 15, 2011 at 11:43 pm

        hoho yes!!! 🙂 yeah, i agree 😛 hahaha

  6. fenuabeaute said, on January 13, 2011 at 2:28 am

    This is the first brush that looks quite good o_O I hate those sponge applicator brushes Guerlain & co. put into their palettes

    • Jae said, on January 13, 2011 at 11:12 am

      Hey Anna!!!!
      And haha, I know right – super comfy on the skin but darn the fact that it’s so small! =_=|||
      XD I’ve never actually tried the stuff from Guerlain but I heard their meteorites thing is pretty good? :X

  7. […] Now, this blush is meant to be a highlighter so I figured that I’d do a bit of a comparison with one of my other favourite blushes that I thought would run rather close to the shade, here’s Canmake’s Highlighter in Baby Peach. […]


Leave a Reply

