Jae's Blog

JAE’S 3D FACE CHART! [CONTOUR VERSION] [[Tutorial using KATE Eyebrow Powder in EX-4]]

Posted in Jae, KATE, MELLIESH, watsons, Yui Kanno by Jae on January 15, 2011

That’s right, after a one day break, I’m back and this time I’ll be telling you about contouring!

Please note that today’s tutorial will be dedicated solely to contouring, if you’re interested in highlighting, please refer to THIS POST.

Before I jump into the tutorial proper, let me tell you about the product that I usually use for contouring my nose.

This is the KATE Eyebrow Powder in EX-4 – that’s right, you heard me right, I use eyebrow powder for contouring and the best part is that KATE is now available at most Watsons stores around Singapore [Think Ngee Ann City, City Hall and Bugis Junction 🙂].

-laughing- No, it doesn’t come with that heart shaped sticker, I stuck it on because I was worried that it would get lost among the other girls’ stuff.

I bought this powder back when I was in Japan about half a year ago and still haven’t run out of it because for each use, only a small amount is required.

The product comes with a trio of browns and a double ended brush, complete with a mirror inside and I have to say that it’s incredibly portable. It’s so tiny and the pan is definitely too small for say, my MAC 168SE – that’s why I usually just use the brush that came along with the box.

The bristles are definitely not soft but that’s better for me because the last thing i would want is a floppy brush that gets contouring powder all over my face.

I usually only use the bottom two browns for contouring my nose.

I understand that the common perception is that contouring powder needs to be dark brown or a more obvious brown perhaps, but I believe that the most important thing about contouring powder is that it has to be matt to needs to stop light from reflecting off that area of the face. That’s precisely what this powder does.

You probably won’t be able to see it too well on this picture because well, that kind of is the point -laughs- Can you imagine if someone had a dark brown strip running down their nose? :3 That wouldn’t be a pretty sight.

The powder serves to allow the areas that you highlighted to stand out from the rest and with that, our nose would have most dimension and by highlighting and contouring the right areas, we can create the illusion of a sharper, higher nose.


As you can see in the image above, I’ve marked out three key areas:

a: The sides of our noses, extending up to our eyebrow area (KATE EYEBROW POWDER)
Don’t be afraid to work upwards! It’ll help with making the nose look a lot sharper!

b: The nostril area (KATE EYEBROW POWDER)
I do mean that crease, doll 🙂 I try to avoid putting powder on round part of the nostrils because it would flatten the nose.

c: The jawline and the sides of the face (MELLIESH CONTOUR POWDER)
See where the three circles overlap? It’s supposed to be a continuous line going down the jawline! Now, refer to the right side of the picture, see how I broke off the brown circles where the magazine’s red circle is? That’s on purpose.

I personally have got a heart shaped face and while i know that most makeup artists would try to turn my face into an oval, I’m quite proud of my natural face shape and try to play it up. By breaking at the corner of the jaw to continue into the side of the face, I allow for light to hit that corner of my face, making my face shape more obvious. Of course, this is what I do for my own face but you may draw a continuous line upwards for an oval!

=========================================================

Jae, you mentioned that you use the KATE powder only for the sides of your nose?
Yup! I use my Melliesh powder for the sides of my face!

What is contouring exactly? I still don’t get it.
Remember in my previous tutorial, I mentioned that highlighting is to play up parts we want to draw attention to? Well, you can see contouring as the supporting factor – as we want light to hit certain parts, we have to help with light not reflecting off the other parts. Contouring powder is a matt powder to help with that.

I don’t do contouring like that!
Well dear, remember that contouring is a very personal thing – you may choose to play up or down certain other parts of your face and different people have vastly different methods of contouring [I’m aware that some girls contouring up their hairline as well] If my chart doesn’t work for you, as I always say, experimentation is the key!

Will contouring instantly make my face smaller? I really want my face to look smaller…
Hmm. Contouring might help with this aspect but there are a variety of other things that we can do to make our faces smaller in addition to makeup, love. I’ll be covering that in a new section pretty soon (been trying our some products and methods), so hang in there for a bit yeah? 🙂

Are there any other products we can use for contouring?
Oh plenty, love. Canmake does a really great contouring powder (get the one in 01) and I used to use MAC’s Sincere blush but I like my Melliesh better now so -laughing- ❤ Do feel free to let me know what you usually use for your contouring in the comments section though!

Can you do a review on the Canmake Contouring Powder next? =P
-winks- You bet.

 

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jinny said, on January 15, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    thanks babe! this was very helpful! i too have a heart shaped face and it’s nice to know how to accentuate a small jaw. ^^

    • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 10:50 pm

      Hey Jinny!
      😀 it’s my pleasure dear, I’m really glad you found the guide useful! ❤

  2. jodie said, on January 15, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Awesome!!! 😀 ewe hopefully money will fall from the sky and i can buy those two prods

    • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 10:53 pm

      Hey Jodie!!!!! ❤
      Hahaha, I'm hoping that that will happen toooo~~~~ T_T
      I'm waiting to get to a Watsons soon…. T_T sigh

      • jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 2:21 am

        yeah! in some place some person flew on a helicopter and threw money down before! *___* WHY DOESNT IT HAPPEN IN SINGAPORE???

        hahaha i live literally next to a mall and aka literally next to a watsons store 8{D
        y’know, compass heights.. next to compass point, at sengkang.

      • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:19 am

        XD omg, charity!
        Come come, donate to the Jae fund! XD Mannnn, then you get to go over like, everyday! I live pretty far away from the next proper Watsons so I have to like, bus there?!
        It sucks especially when I want to just grab something and go home! T_T

  3. Anna said, on January 15, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    I’d love to see a before and after pic of you though 😦

    • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      Hey Anna!!!
      Mmm… Haha, so sorry about that… Maybe I’ll post one up next time? :3
      Haha, I’ll see what I can do yeah!

  4. karayuquex said, on January 15, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Thank you very much for this post! Looking forward to the post to make our faces smaller~! ;D By the way, is there any particular reason why you use KATE for the nose and not just Melliesh for both? =3

    PS: This is my first comment but have to say that I love your blog and have been following it since I found it around two months ago! XD I’m tempted to get some Melliesh products after reading your reviews!

    • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm

      Hey karayuquex!
      Welcome to SMUB!!! ❤

      And haha, well this is because the Melliesh product is quite an obvious brown as compared to the KATE powder, which is more of a muted super light khaki, so the chances of me overdoing it and the powder showing up very obviously is significantly lower! 😀

      ** Thank you so so much dear!!! Hehe, I'm really really glad to hear that… Must continue to support kayyyy. XDDD
      ❤ Do let me know if you do grab any Melliesh items by the way!!! 😀

  5. wynray said, on January 15, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Wow, this is really helpful. I’ve never bothered to contour so thanks!

    • Jae said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Hey wynray!
      😀 I’m glad you found this helpful dear! ❤

  6. miwitch said, on January 16, 2011 at 11:57 pm

    Wow, nice tutorial n explanation. ^_^ But hv u tried the product on eyebrows yet? I wonder how it is on the eyebrow.
    Good? Or powdery? I thinking i might be getting it during my jap tour so its more worth it perhaps..? =p

    • Jae said, on January 17, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Hey Miwitch!!!
      Thank you! Haha, and well, I’ve tried it once before but then I got lazy and just used my eyebrow mascara – it was a moderately powdery product that had moderate staying power because I used my eyebrow fixer coat on top of it so it stayed pretty well. I have to stay that it doesn’t take some work to build up the colour though… So it’s not easy to overdo! 😀

      Hmm… I’m don’t really remember the exact price of it in Singapore but it’s 1260 Yen in Japan which is roughly about 19.50 – 20.00 SGD… It’s a little bit cheaper over there, I think! Hehe! Hope this helps you dear! 😉

  7. jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    YES CHARITY!!! *^* sorry donated everything to the jodieissuperpoor fund
    man!! try to find a route home that passes by watsons HAHAHA

    • Jae said, on January 20, 2011 at 9:47 am

      HAHAHA! Yes yes! It’s the perfect excuse to man! >_<
      Sigh! Watsons, why are so far away from meeeeeeee

      • jodie said, on January 20, 2011 at 12:31 pm

        Hahaha! Go email watsons tell them make one near your house!

      • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:39 am

        GOOD PLAN! XDDD
        I think I’ll raid the place man!

  8. jodie said, on January 21, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    HOHOHO yes!!!
    8D 8D watsons <33333

  9. Weekly Lovely « Chaudie.net said, on April 27, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    […] of glitz and glamour decorating her page like Michi or Keikk . So why should I bother? Two words: Contouring & Highlighting. Jae has created a very lovely tutorial of how she does her makeup according to […]

  10. […] Kate Eyebrow Powder (in EX4) I use this for contouring and because I powder my nose from time to time when I’m […]


Leave a Reply

