Jae's Blog

Canmake blush in PW20! [[REVIEW]] [[VS MELLIESH AND CANDY DOLL]]

Posted in Candy Doll, Canmake, MELLIESH, Tsubasa Masuwaka, watsons, Yui Kanno by Jae on January 17, 2011

And as promised I’m bringing you more of Canmake’s lovely blushes. Today, we’ll be looking at Canmake’s Powder Cheek in PW20 and later, I will be comparing this blush with Melliesh in 02 and Candy Doll in Peach Pink.

-laughing- the brush is missing for this one because I took it out when I was swatching and tossed it into my boxes of canmake brushes. :3

On to the review proper now shall we? 😀

Warning:
This post is image intensive!

Voted number 1 on POPTEEN’s reader’s poll, the Canmake PW20 is a peachy pink blush that is widely used even among models like Mizukitty and Kumicky.

Known throughout Singapore and Japan for their fabulous prices and great quality, Canmake has delivered yet another good product that is not yet another repeat of another brand’s colour.

Let’s take a look at what I mean, shall we?

Now, in case you’re wondering why I only compared PW20 against these two: I was curious as to why the POPTEEN blush ranking ran like this:
1) Canmake PW 20 [101 votes]
2) Candy Doll Strawberry Pink [80 votes]
3) Melliesh 02 [54 votes]
.
.
.
.

So on and so forth (the Candy Doll blush I have up there in the comparison image ranked number five).

At first,  I thought that maybe they shared some similarities but then I saw the difference in the number of votes and the distinct difference when I placed the blushes side to side.

In this image, we’ve got Canmake PW20 on the left and Melliesh’s 02 on the right. Notice how Canmake has a slightly more peachy tone to it?

Over here, we have Canmake on the left and Candy Doll’s Peachy Pink on the right and Canmake looks a lot stronger in terms of colour.

And the swatches just further reinforced their differences – each swatch (except for the Candy Doll highlighter that took me three-four) took me two swipes of the pan.

PW20 carries an ever so slight peachy tone to its pink with obvious little flecks of glitter that’s perfect for those who’d like a little more definition (-wagging finger- Light reflecting particles!)

Compared to Melliesh, that leans a little to the almost purplish-pinkish side and the Candy Doll Highlighter, that’s a lot “whiter” in a sense, the PW20 may be said to have been the only true “colour” blush. This blush is definitely no highlight colour.

In fact, I do think that Candy Doll’s Peachy Pink would work as the perfect highlighter for Canmake PW20.

It’s a great blush if you are looking for a cute look! 😀

Watsons is having a 20% off sale right now so go and grab a piece of this blush while you can! >_<

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bones said, on January 17, 2011 at 11:07 am

    i didn’t grab it the moment this range of blushers came out coz i wasn’t sure which colour i wanted.
    they all looked really really good!

    then i saw that it was no.1 on the ranking in popteen, so i immediately went and grab PW20 the next time i was out of the house. LOL!
    awesome pigmentation, awesome colour.

  2. Jess said, on January 17, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I bought the Canmake PW20 right aft reading the ranking on Popteen too! LOL. Haven’t had a chance to try it. But it looks rly pretty when I swatch it at Watson. ^.^

    • Jae said, on January 18, 2011 at 10:02 am

      Hey Jess!
      😀 Try try try! It’s reallyyyyyy gorgeous! Let me know how you go with it after you’ve tried it out kay! ❤

      • Jess said, on January 19, 2011 at 4:01 pm

        Finally got a chance to try out the colour. IMO, it’s rather sheer, good for days when I just wan a natural sweet look. But i think it can be build up to a more intense pink.

        I was comparing w a Red Earth duo-tone blusher I bot years ago (Who uses Red Earth still? *shy*). This is similar to the lighter pink & works great w the the darker tone of Red Earth’s. Together w the Canmake highlight 01, these trios is perfect for following your previous highlighting tutorial! ^.^

      • Jae said, on January 20, 2011 at 9:18 am

        Hey Jess!
        Ah~~~~ Most definitely dearie! Hehe!
        And XD don’t worry sweety, I think I have a few friends who do and besides, I think Haru from Rouge Deluxe does from time to time as well? 😀

        Awesome! I think a trip down to SASA is in order now :3

  3. jodie said, on January 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    maaan i wanna get some canmake cream cheek now 😛
    okay i totally went out of topic /facepalm

    • Jae said, on January 18, 2011 at 10:03 am

      Jodie!!!
      XDDD Don’t worry dear, I might finally be opening my cream blushes up to try over the next few days too XD
      I bought two pans of those blushes but never got round to using them so they’ve been sitting pretty in my vanity box for over a year now :3 Whoops!

      Haha, which colour are you looking to try dearie? 😀

      • jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 2:18 am

        LOL FINALLY!! tsktsk been buying so much huh

        i like vitamin orange, sweet apricot and nut cream! 😀 (apparently even tho its brown.. ok idk i just find it fascinating and it might be of use somewhere else? LOL i dont even know)

      • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:16 am

        XD Yeah! I’ve been buying TOO much actually… >_< i just blew another 68 bucks on more yesterday! I need to stop soon! T_T
        And haha, Vitamin Orange!!! Ahhh, I want that one to try too! XD The brown one… Maybe for contouring? :3

      • jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 2:20 am

        wait actually they are pretty glittery tho 😦 i dont rly like glittery stufffff on my face
        if only they were matte xD
        but they are still super duper cool *v*

      • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:17 am

        XD Believe me dear, you’d want to try one of these out for yourself at Watsons!
        It’s a really pretty blush… T_T I wondered if I should get backups but then I was like “Aiyo, I’ll be getting so many other blushes after this…” XDD
        Super cute colour, it’s actually one of my personal favourites!

  4. j said, on January 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    nice review 😀 i used to have one of this but it shattered into pieces on the floor ><

    • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:11 am

      Hey J!!!
      Oh no! >_< Did you toss it?! I heard some girls mentioning that they continued to use it by putting everything into a small container and using it like Guerlain's Meteorites :3
      Hehe!

  5. Rosely said, on January 19, 2011 at 3:04 am

    Hi jae. Thanks for the informative post! I’m sort of a makeup newbie, esp to these brands since i’m in the us. Can you explain for me what a highlighter is used for bc you mentioned it could be used w this blush but i’ve never used one before. Thanks so much!

    • Jae said, on January 19, 2011 at 8:23 am

      Hello Rosely!
      ^^ The highlighter is meant to bring out your cheekbones!
      I’ve actually got a post dedicated specially to highlighting! Do check it out dear!

  6. jodie said, on January 19, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I did try.. so pigmented me likey
    LOL yeah im pretty sure you have an overload of blushes already!!!

    • Jae said, on January 20, 2011 at 9:47 am

      XD Waaaay overload, babe. I’ve actually got a box just for blushes now cause they can’t fit in my train case. -laughing-
      I should post pictures of my makeup area man, it’s overloaded right now!

      • jodie said, on January 20, 2011 at 12:26 pm

        LOL! Gotta control!!

      • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

        XD MUST!
        GANBATTE! XDDD

  7. faye lu said, on February 17, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    love the melliesh blushes – will definitely have to try the canmake powder brushes too. great reviews and comparisons x

    • Jae said, on February 17, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      Hey love!
      😀 Haha, they’re really great, aren’t they?!
      And yes, do try them out, they’ve got really awesome pigmentation! :3


Leave a Reply

