Jae's Blog

Canmake Shading Powder 02 [[REVIEW]] (VS Melliesh 05 Contouring Powder)

Posted in Canmake, MELLIESH, Mizuki Nishikawa, POPSISTER, POPTEEN by Jae on January 20, 2011

So I talked about the importance of contouring our faces a couple of posts ago and I mentioned that there are a number of products we can use.

-pointing at the picture above- Today, I’ll be reviewing the ranking number one shading powder on the POPTEEN list. [POPSISTER’s already out, btw!] The Canmake Shading Powder in 02.

That’s right, retailing at 22.90 SGD at your local Watsons, this is one heck of an expensive Canmake product but now that there’s that 20% off sale, it’s only 18.32 SGD. It’s a little less than the Melliesh contour powder but frankly, the powders are worlds apart.

You might be wondering why I chose this shade instead of 01 well, that’s cause I swatched 01 on my skin and that didn’t go too well – it turned up almost blackish-brown on me. I toyed with the idea of buying it to try it out but then I saw the difference in my swatches here. Stay with me, I’m getting there.

The brush that comes with this shading powder is also a lot larger than the one which comes with the blushes. I kind of think that this one would work better as a blush brush.

Now for an actual comparison between the two shading powders.

Canmake’s on the left and Melliesh is on the right. Straight away, we can see the difference in the shade. While Canmake’s is a definitely reddish brown, Melliesh is actually a lot more subtle.

And to add on, the one from Canmake is a flat matt product too.

See what I mean? Each swatch took me two to three swipes of the pan and to be entirely honest, I was quite scared of the 02 powder so I only use it on the sides of my face when I use my darker foundation for the healthy GAL look.

The GAL look can be broken down into a few different categories.

There’s the sweet type (like Kumicky), the cool type (like Wei Son), the active type (like Nana) and the casual type (like Mizukitty?). I’ll use the contouring powder for the casual and active type because the colour of foundation I’ll use will be different as well 🙂

The powder is EXTREMELY pigmented so if you do choose to go with this powder, please be very careful with the amount that you use because it’s very easy to overdo it with this product.

That’s right! See the stark difference? And look at the swatch from Melliesh, I’m actually pretty sure that Canmake’s Shading Powder in 01 would not come anywhere close to it because of how dark it is. I will say though, that 01 might work well for the hairline area. 🙂

I have to say though, that the powder texture that comes from Canmake is just buttery soft and in my opinion, it’s more buttery than the one from Melliesh. So perhaps this would be something else for you to consider when you choose the product you buy, dear 😀

And that’s all I have for you today, sweets! I hope this review helped~

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jodie said, on January 20, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Ooh!! Want! But… rather super strong colours eh :\
    i kinda want melliesh more naoooo TT_TT

    • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Hey Jodie!!!!!
      XD Haha, buy Mellliesh~~~~~ But this one also not bad leh actually. Hmm. >_<

      • jodie said, on January 21, 2011 at 12:35 pm

        me wants melliesh tooooo
        this one not as awesome as mellish mah ahahahahha *D*
        oh btw i made the online store but its so stupid and overpriced ToT

      • Jae said, on January 22, 2011 at 9:14 am

        -laughing- Oh yeah! What’s the url?! :3

  2. sugar sugar said, on January 20, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Jae you’re NC30 right? I think canmake can still be a god contour powder with those with darker skin tones. 🙂

    • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Hey Sugar!
      😀 Yes I am and mmm… -nodding- I’ll have to agree with you dearie! It would work for those girls!

  3. Anna Crystal said, on January 20, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Ah it looks so delicious, just like a chocolate bar

    • Jae said, on January 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

      HEY ANNA!
      -laughing- Totally! It’s so good too!

  4. bones said, on January 21, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    i think the mellish one is like what you said – more subtle.

    canmake’s one seems more “severe”.
    i’m thinking…. kogyaru and gaguro.

    have you tried the body shop’s brush on bronze? the little balls one…
    coz i’m kinda confused babe… shading powders are matte with little to no shine/shimmer/pearl.
    bronzers have that shine to it. supposedly for a “healthy sun-kissed glow” look right? but then again, some girls use it for shading?
    i’m lost~ T^T

    • Jae said, on January 22, 2011 at 9:19 am

      XD -nodding-
      I haven’t tried the one from Body Shop yet babe…
      Well, because the bronzing powder is relatively darker than our natural skin tone, so some girls prefer it to having to purchase a new product.
      For example, some girls use the Canmake Bronzer for their shading and while it does contain a small amount of shimmer, it’s relatively matt so it works as well 😀
      So it kind of depends, I would think, on the type of bronzer used! 😀

      • bones said, on January 22, 2011 at 1:00 pm

        hmmmm… i think what you’re getting on about.
        i agree with you though.. lols!

  5. jodie said, on January 22, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    http://www.legitmagic.miyoc.com 😛
    i kinda screwed up the shipping corner LOLOLOLOLOLOL idk what to do T_T
    cus i was reading australia post’s postage stuff then i read and read then i got lost cus i had no idea wth they were talking 😦
    too chimmm my brain die liao LOL

    • Jae said, on January 24, 2011 at 9:25 am

      XD It’s quite cute what!
      And haha, australia’s postage rules are extremely strict but mostly for items that are coming into Aus… Mostly things like seeds, pollen, dried flowers and organic materials.
      I remember my partner sent me a stuffed toy once and the package got ripped at customs because they thought that it contained seeds.
      They’re very protective of their native species… Almost overprotective but I really don’t blame them. XDDD

      They prohibit a lot of other things too like meat and all that… But ah well, aiya, haha, I think the sending of clothes is fine dear!

      • jodie said, on January 25, 2011 at 5:00 pm

        haha but aiya no one buy one la TT_TT
        yeah, aus post is soo messy!!
        it was so funny tho, the other day i put on twitter “AUSTRALIA POST Y U SO COMPLICATED!”
        who knew australia post had twitter and replied me whats wrong lololol so guilty laaa

      • Jae said, on January 26, 2011 at 9:05 am

        XD You’ll never know, you know babe!
        And haha, I hate those post people. Seriously.
        I wanted to send a lot things to partner here in SG when I was in Melbourne and postage was always so expensive.
        I was like “Dude, it’s a six hour flight away man, does it have to cost 20 bucks?!”
        Ridiculous prices! And they don’t do post after 5pm! WHAT RUBBISH IS THIS.


Leave a Reply

