Jae's Blog

Daiso’s Eye Brow Coat [$] x KATE Eyebrow Mascara in LB-1 [[Two in one REVIEW]]

Posted in Daiso, KATE, Kumicky, Palty, POPTEEN, Yui Kanno by Jae on January 22, 2011

Our brows are a very important part of our makeup routine (except that I’m so lazy I usually neglect it and hope that no one notices :3) especially when we dye our hair because most of us don’t dye our eyebrows along with it. One way to get around that is by using eyebrow mascara or eyebrow pencils or even powder.

I am a very very lazy person, so I just use eyebrow mascara.

Today’s review will be on two products! KATE’s Eyebrow Mascara in LB-1 and Daiso’s Eye Brow Coat!

I first got to know about this mascara through POPTEEN’s Kumicky about two years back but could never quite try it out because it wasn’t in Singapore at that time. Thank god we’ve got the brand at Watsons now :3

Also used by many other Japanese models, this mascara is a quick way to mask our brow’s natural colour.

I really like how the tube is so compact so it fits into my makeup case really well and I don’t have to worry about touch-ups and stuff because of my eyebrow coat (I’ll cover that later in this post ๐Ÿ™‚)

Each tube comes with about 7g of product and retails for 850 Yen (about 13.00 SGD) in Japan.ย I bought mine on my trip there last year and I haven’t run out yet because I only use a small amount of product each time.

I’m not exactly sure how much it goes for in Singaporeย but it’s really quite economical compared to say, MAC which is 8g for 15.00 USD which is about 19.00 SGD? And that’s taking the US price though I haven’t quite tried MAC out yet, so I can’t quite compare between the both ๐Ÿ™‚

This comes in two shades LB-1 (the one shown here) and LB-2 (which I will review in later post -winks-). Now, compared to LB-2, which is a more golden shade, this one works the best for me because my hair colour is closer to Yui Kanno’s colour.

:3 If you have relatively more golden hair, like Kumicky, for example, then LB-2 would probably work better for you.

As you can see, the wand is actually like a standard mascara wand, except that it’s a little shorter for better control. Just two swipes is enough for me to cover my natural brow colour ๐Ÿ™‚

One thing to note though, the product may actually clump if too much is applied at one shot, so if you plan to use more than one coat of mascara on your brows, make sure you give it some time to dry before applying a second coat.

So Jae, is this the only eyebrow correcting tool in the market?
Nope! We’ve got other products out there like eyebrow powders and pencils!

Is this the only brand that makes eyebrow mascaras?
Definitely not dearie! There are also other brands that make eyebrow mascaras, like Palty for example. ๐Ÿ™‚

How about eyebrow powders?
Canmake recently released an eyebrow powder dear! Haha, I’ve to try it out actually… ๐Ÿ˜€

I don’t like to use mascara on my brows…
And that’s alright, love! XD Different people have different methods, I’m just very lazy, so I prefer this mascara โค You could try using pencils and powders as well!

How should I apply it? :3
I usually just follow my natural brow line… And I kind of flick the ends outwards so it gives the illusion of it being quite thin at the ends? It’s a cheater’s method of making brows look defined. ๐Ÿ˜€

=======================================

Now comes Daiso’s Eye Brow Coat.

It’s only two bucks and trust me, it works.

It’s like a nail polish thing that it dries clear so it will keep your mascara/pencil/whatever in place for the whole day. I can totally vouch for it because I’ve tried using it for varying numbers of hours and it’s never once failed me.

This image was from a photo shoot took place under the hot sun. Eight hours later, it didn’t melt at all – that’s what I call staying power!

If there’s bad one thing I have to say about the Daiso Brow Coat? It’ll be that the bottle is actually glass so it may not be a good idea to throw one’s bag about with this in tow. :3

Is it sticky?
Well… It’ll be a little tacky at first, but it will soon dry up to form a layer over your brows so that the colour cannot get rubbed off.

Does it smell? >_<
Hmm. I just took a whiff of it directly out of the bottle and it smelt a little bit like cough syrup ย :3 But once it dries, there won’t be a scent.

How do I remove it, Jae?!
I usually use my Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil, love! But I’ve also used my Clinique’s Take The Day Odd Eye Makeup Remover on it before and that worked fine as well!

===================================

So that’s all I have for you today, darling! ๐Ÿ˜€ Haha, hope this was useful! โค

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. j said, on January 22, 2011 at 11:57 am

    hey! where did u dye your hair?

    • Jae said, on January 23, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Hey dear!
      I’ve been using Palty Hair Dye recently! XD The one called namacaramel latte!
      It took me two rounds of dyeing to achieve the colour because I have very dark hair ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. jodie said, on January 22, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ my hair is like kumicky.. cept im planning to dye it red and i dont really care bout my eyebrows ~_~ LOL
    whoohoo your beautiful winking eyes hohohoho!! (I SOUND LIKE A PEDO OMG HAHA)

    • Jae said, on January 24, 2011 at 9:21 am

      Ahhh!!! You know, I asked my friends and all of them said I’d never be able to pull of kumicky’s hair cause of my skin colour T_T
      SIGH! You lucky lucky girl! Whoa red?! Deep red? ๐Ÿ˜€
      And hahaha, โค โค โค Not a pedo laaaa! โค

      • jodie said, on January 25, 2011 at 4:54 pm

        thats a lie im sure u can ๐Ÿ˜€
        haha yeah! but my mum doesnt allow me to dye it red she told me to keep my colour -.-
        oh well~

      • Jae said, on January 26, 2011 at 9:02 am

        XD no seriously!!!
        And ahhhh! Why?! You’re already heading to Perth! :3 I remember I got my hair hot tong-ed when I went to melbourne :3 My mom didn’t like me doing things with my hair at first… Then I turned 20 and she finally let me dye my hair. XD It’s been brown ever since. -laughing- I’ve been tempted to try a lighter brown like Mizukitty’s but but… T_T Then I’ll have to do intensive treatments all the time and -lazyyyyy-

  3. bones said, on January 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    babe you know what?
    you totally read my mind! i wanted to ask you to review this!

    i don’t know about you, but i’ve found a cheap and easy way to colour my hair – liese.
    i’m a chestnut brown now… any idea which shade i should use?
    coz i read that one of the shades is meant for more red-brown hair and the other’s for more gold-browns, right?

    omg…. babe, just bring me go shopping la! >_<"

    • Jae said, on January 23, 2011 at 8:56 am

      XD โค -waves arms-

      Hmm… Chestnut brown… I did a google search on the colour and from what I'm seeing online… Most definitely LB-1 dear!
      ๐Ÿ˜€ And hahahaha, I know right?! But but but, I'm saving up for Japan T_T

      • bones said, on January 23, 2011 at 2:24 pm

        okie! thanks! ^^

        oh yaaaaaaa… you’re long awaited trip! LOL!!!
        then you should be the one that should stop buying things~

      • Jae said, on January 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

        No worries dear!
        And haha, T_T I know right?! But I just can’t help my itchy fingers sometimes… And there always are so many sales in Singapore T_T
        Garh! And Canmake’s still on sale! :3 I think I’m about to buy up their entire line of blushes… STOP MEH!!! T_T

      • bones said, on January 24, 2011 at 6:55 pm

        *pulls jae back with all my calcium’s might*

      • Jae said, on January 25, 2011 at 10:46 am

        -strains-
        HAHAHAHA! โค

      • bones said, on January 25, 2011 at 9:16 pm

        babe, you pull some more and my bones are really gonna dislocate!!!

      • Jae said, on January 26, 2011 at 9:08 am

        HAHAHAHA.
        -fixes a bunch of splints for you- :3

      • bones said, on January 27, 2011 at 9:47 pm

        awww.. so cute!

        i just bought the LB-1 today! ^^ works really well~ (as expected)

      • Jae said, on January 28, 2011 at 9:27 am

        XD I’m glad it worked for you Bonessssss~~~! โค

      • bones said, on January 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm

        yeah! but i found a little too reddish-brown…
        i’m thinking of either passing it to my cousin or keep it so that when i wanna go red, at least i’ve got it on hand.

        i tried LB-2’s tester once, i thought it was quite alright.

        ok you know what?
        i’m just gonna go ahead and get the other shade. LOL!
        at least when i change hair colour i have both colours to cover me… i mean my brow hairs. XD

        PS: babe… i’ve been thinking to go strawberry blonde but been hesitating coz of the bleaching process part.
        i’ve got like 2 friends who said i’d look good in it coz i’m pretty fair… 1 of them said i’ll look like a barbie doll lols!
        what do you think?

      • Jae said, on January 29, 2011 at 8:39 am

        Oh no… >_< -laughing- Well I kept both of the shades cause I use the gold one for when I do blonde cosplays. :3
        And haha! You're so cute, brow hairs. XDDDD

        And hmm… Strawberry blonde… Which shade are you in MAC foundation darling? ๐Ÿ˜€

      • bones said, on January 30, 2011 at 12:45 am

        babe… good question..
        I DUNNO!!! XD

        i never got my skin matched to MAC’s foundation…
        i’m using Za though… according to the true white 2-way foundation, i’m a no. 21 for starters, or OC-1 for maybelline’s mineral power foundation ^^
        so i’m guessing maybe a NC20 or 25? (ok, i anyhow whack *confession*)

        also, do you think it’ll be alright if i were to not bleach and just slather on the strawberry blonde?
        it’ll be darker of coz… but at least not too damaging and expensive as bleaching it.
        i could also just lighten up my hair colour by going up the colour chart right?

      • Jae said, on January 30, 2011 at 11:03 am

        BONES!
        Hmm… Is OC-1 the lightest colour?
        I wouldn’t suggest not bleaching leh dear… Especially if your original hair colour is not very light to begin with cause your hair wouldn’t be able to absorb the colour pigments.. >__<

    • bones said, on January 30, 2011 at 4:39 pm

      OC-1’s the lightest for the OC chart.
      then there’s the PO chart… i think the PO ones tend to look darker.

      yeah i really don’t wanna go through bleaching too..
      apparently i heard it really stings the scalp pretty bad. though bearable.

      i was thinking of lightening my hair colour by colouring it lighter in stages.
      before slathering on strawberry blonde.
      i actually like light hair colours coz i think it makes the whole look more fun and adventurous. albeit might wash out our asian skin… that’s why i’ve been sticking to dark browns and reds for the longest time. LOL! XD

      • Jae said, on January 31, 2011 at 11:40 am

        Hmm… I think bleaching is kind of like waxing? :3 But it feels like a lot of little needles pricking at the skin for a while… It does wear off when they wash it off though!

        And XD totally dear! I’m just wondering if your hair would be able to absorb the dye pigments though… >__<

        Hoping your colour will turn out great dearie! โค ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. sugar sugar said, on January 24, 2011 at 12:25 am

    jae you are very pretty! i wish you’d also do FOTDs. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jae said, on January 24, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Hey Sugar!!!
      [>///_///_< Thank you babe!!!! Haha, I might do some in future!
      And ๐Ÿ˜€ you're the pretty one dearie! I swung by your blog a bunch of times and saw your pictures! Love the latest look you did!

  5. suki.luna said, on January 24, 2011 at 11:00 am

    i actually bought the daiso brow setting liquid before, and it didn’t really work well with me. ):

    *p.s. imma tempted to try the brow mascara. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Jae said, on January 25, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Hey dearie!
      >_< Oh no… I hope you've managed to find another product that works though… And haha, yes yes, try the brow mascara~~~ I'm going to review the other colour soon! โค


Leave a Reply

