Jae's Blog

CHACOTT Finishing Powder [CLEAR] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Candy Doll, Chacott, MELLIESH by Jae on January 27, 2011

And I’m back with the follow up review for Chacott’s clear Finishing Powder.

So you might be wondering, hey, it’s a clear powder, what’s there to review, well, you and I both know that there are many type of “finishing powders” on the market at the moment.

There are those that are absolutely and unapologetically matt and then there are others that have just that bit of shimmer to make one’s skin look like it’s glowing and then there are those that are fortified with this and that.

Chacott is completely matt; with no fuss and no frills, it’s a powder that does what it says it will do. Give your makeup the round-the-clock matt finish that it needs.

For those who wear blush and contouring powder etc, we would most likely need a clear powder that will not interfere with the colour on our faces – this is the right powder for that.

Each tub comes with a full 30G worth of product which, for me, is enough to last for roughly a year even when used on a daily basis.

The screw top jar is secure because the lid has a long track before coming undone so the chances of accidental spillage is significantly reduced.

One problem would probably be that if you do not place your puff in the tub when you travel around, you might find yourself having to slowly tap the excess back into the lid when you next open the tub. Most of the product would be above the sifter because of the large holes and bumping around.

As with all Chacott Finishing Powders, each jar does not come with a puff – they have to be bought separately.

In spite of being touted as a ‘clear’ powder, this does not mean that it does not have to patted and blended down, so doing makeup in the dark with this (or anything else for that matter) would not be a good idea.

After patting it out however, the result is my original skin colour so it’s great for touchups. And since the powder is extremely fine, it would not weigh as heavily on the skin.

Having said that, if you plan to use this as a touch up powder, my advise would be to bring your highlight powder out with you.

I usually do touchups on my nose and that’s where my highlight powder is but with this on top, the shimmer from my highlight powder gets matted out, so I’ll need my arsenal of brushes, shading powder and highlight powder to put the emphasis back on my t-zone.

So there you go! My favourite loose powder of all-time: Chacott Finishing Powder!

If you missed my previous reviews on this powder, hit the links below!

The Original Review

The War of the Loose Powders

Shade 764 VS 766 (+ FAQ)

I hope you found this helpful, doll and remember, my next Chacott spree will be after Chinese New Year on 14th February!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jodie said, on January 27, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    why after cny TwT i wont be here!!! ayayayayaaaa

    what a nice powder tho~ ovo

    • Jae said, on January 28, 2011 at 9:24 am

      T_T Aiyo you!!!!
      And haha, yes it is! It’s really great!

  2. Charmaine said, on January 27, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks for the review!!! ❤ I really feel like trying but I just bought Chanel's loose powder soooo.. 😦

    • Jae said, on January 28, 2011 at 9:26 am

      Hey Charmaine!!
      Oh dear… >_< Well I might organize another spree after this one so in the meantime, you can finish up your Chanel first! 😀 Hehe!

  3. Anna Crystal said, on January 27, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I definitely need a new finishing powder. I still use a Canmake finishing, that I got in Japan for 800yen, but it’s almost gone, lol

    • Jae said, on January 28, 2011 at 9:26 am

      XD -nudge- Chacott FTW.
      Haha, Canmake good too man… I love Canmake! Cheap and effective!

      • Anna Crystal said, on January 28, 2011 at 2:10 pm

        Not really cheap when I’d import it, LOL

      • Jae said, on January 29, 2011 at 8:41 am

        XDDDD!
        I know right. It’s always the shipping, the product itself in terms of price and quality is WOOTS. But thennnnn they’ve GOT to come over and charge like twice the price of the main item for shipping =_=||| Rubbish people! And customs! God, I HATE customs!

  4. Alanna said, on January 28, 2011 at 5:13 am

    Love your reviews:D Im wishing I’d gone with my instinct and brought this finishing powder now instead of my MAC one:(

    • Jae said, on January 28, 2011 at 9:28 am

      Hey Alanna!!
      Ahhh, thank you thank you dearie!!! _< But it's okay dear… You can try this one too! 😀


Leave a Reply

