Jae's Blog

Daiso Volume Long Straight Type D x Tanako Style [[REVIEW + TUTORIAL]]

Posted in Daiso, Dolly Wink, Takano Style by Jae on February 3, 2011

It’s been so long since my last lash review, hasn’t it?!

-grinning- I’m back with a lash review today babe, right in time for the New Year – just a little entertainment for you while you’re out visiting.

Ready? Let’s go!

So I’m going to talk about Daiso’s Volume Long Straight Type D lashes and the first thing you’ll notice would probably be how unassuming they look in the tray but trust me, the length that they give is really something.

The design alternates between long and short lashes so give a slightly more natural feeling but honestly, I think the design could do with an update, more on this later.

The spines for these lashes run on the moderately stiff side so if you’re still starting out and you don’t want to have to work with flimsy lashes, then these may be a good starter pair. I did experience some poking at the corners though, so it would be wise to not only be careful but also trim the ends so that they don’t irritate the eyes as much.

Notice also that the lash bands are not transparent. I personally do not really like black lash bands because mistakes will show up very obviously on the eyes (it’ll look like the eyeliner’s been drawn out of alignment) but it’s a good way to train one’s hands to be stable -wink-

Ta-da!

I think they turned out just okay in the pictures but it didn’t look very nice in real life… And I’m not a fan of this type of this spikey look, so my itchy hands had to do something about that.

To add depth, I added on a piece of Takano Style #11 lashes to get this!

Now, to show the real difference:

Notice that the eye on the right has more definition now as compared to the left?

Layering of falsies is an excellent way of giving the eyes not only more volume but also more depth.

Now! To get my look, here is what you have to do!

Pick up a pair of Takano Style #11 or Dolly Wink #4 and place the piece somewhere close to the ends of your eyes, but not quite, check out the image below.

If the lash is placed right at the ends, the eye would look very weighted down so make sure you add it just before the ends – yes, I’ve got a clearer picture. -winks- I love you too. XD

♡♡♡ Daiso Volume Long Straight Type D ♡♡♡
✔ Length: 9/10 [Too long for my liking :3]
✔ Volume: 3/10 [It’s definitely for length rather than volume]
✔ Ease of application: The spines are stiff enough to work with without worrying much, just that the ends might have to be trimmed down.
✔ Reusable? Yup!
✔ Economical? It’s two bucks a pair!

Verdict:
Not too much volume so it’s not overly dramatic… I wouldn’t rebuy it because it’s not really my type of lashes, but if you’re just starting out and would like to experiment, then these might do you well!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sugar sugar said, on February 3, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    pretty eyes jae! 🙂 i also don’t like lashes with black bands. :/ missha has one with a clear band. ^-^

    ohhhhh could you possibly make a list of lashes with clear bands? i’ve been looking for those too. i think it’ll really be helpful. 🙂

    • Jae said, on February 4, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Sugar!!!
      Haha, thank you so much dear! And Missha…. Hmm… Maybe I’ll give that one a try!
      And a list of lashes with clear bands… I suppose I could do that for my next post, love! 😀 I’ll go dig through my stash in the meantime yeah? Hang in there! XDDD

  2. jodie said, on February 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    looks good considering its like, 2 bucks keke!

    • Jae said, on February 4, 2011 at 10:55 am

      XD I KNOW RIGHT.
      HEY JODIE!!!! ❤

  3. Alanna said, on February 3, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    They looked good before but i like them alot more after you’ve added the other lashes,really does add depth:D

    • Jae said, on February 4, 2011 at 10:58 am

      Hey Alanna!
      Thank you~~ ❤ I'm really glad you like it!

  4. sherhui said, on February 5, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    wow, nice customization!
    anyway i just popped by plaza singapura daiso yesterday, and was surprised to see there are more different types of eyelashes now… got some with lotsa volume in the middle of the lash… etc.
    they have those eyemazing no.1 imitation lashes, but its in transparent band and the length is shorter..
    Just wanna share with you this information haha.
    I have added you in FB!! hope you accept soon!

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:06 am

      Hey Sherhui!
      So sorry for the late reply and thank you so much!
      And haha, definitely, Daiso’s come a very long way since they first reached our shores… I’m really thankful for that place, there’s just so much variety! :3
      Ahhhh!!!! And thanks for the heads up! Looks like I’ll need to head down to check the place out again soon XD

      Accepted your request on FB by the way!!! You’re such a pretty girl! ❤

  5. Rosely said, on February 6, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    Hi jae i’ve never worn falsies but i’m about to try some soon. A girlfriend of mines ordered boxes of model21 brand lashes and asked if i wanted a box. I know nothing about falsies, is that a good brand? She said something about what they’re made of makes them good quality but i just shrugged my shoulders lol. You are seriously like my falsie guru lol. If you know about them give me an opinion thanks!

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Hey Rosely!
      Model21 is a great brand to try especially if you’re just starting out because of how cheap they are! Over here in Singapore, a whole box of them could go for just SGD 7.00 -8.00! They’ve got decent lash bands and the quality is quite compared to lashes from Daiso (Daiso is a Japanese store in Singapore that stocks a variety of items for just SGD 2.00. It’s one of my favourite places to go to for false lashes because of the price!)

      I’ve actually done some reviews on Model21 lashes and they can be found here! ^^ Scroll down and you’ll be able to find all my past reviews on the range. -laughing- I’ve got too many from the brand, actually!

      And awwwwwwww!!!! You’re too kind, babe!!! >//_//< haha, I'm just glad to be of some help to you!


Leave a Reply

