Jae's Blog

VOV False Lashes 215 [[REVIEW]] [[SUPER IMAGE INTENSIVE]] + JAE IS ON FACEBOOK!

Posted in GMarket, VOV by Jae on February 5, 2011

My best friend, Cubby, came back from Korea recently bearing gifts she knew would make me happy. XD [Thank you, Cubby!] She said that I’ve been doing a lot of dramatic looks and wanted me to try these out cause this was the last one left on the rack for this model.

Figured that it would make sense for me to opt for a much more natural look this Chinese New Year (Yes, only because at my last family gathering, half of my relatives couldn’t recognise me. -laughing- They thought I was someone’s girlfriend and kept asking where my ‘boyfriend’ was)!

I did a little poking around and these lashes are apparently from the VOV Celebrity Lash series.

There are many other designs in the range but these look the most natural -laughing- I wonder why. XD

Alrighty! These are my second pair of Korean lashes, to be honest, my very first pair was from Darkness and I hated them because of how stiff the lash band was.

Here they are in the tray! I really like the packaging of these lashes, I have to say. It’s almost like a mask so it’s really classy and the best part is that they come with a lid over the original lashes, so I didn’t have to worry about crushing them when I brought them out.

Each box comes with two sets of lashes that are secured to the tray with two bits of glue but quite unlike Daiso, the layer of glue is extremely thin, making it quite hard to remove (the glue from the lash band, that is) before using.

These lashes are not self-adhesive by the way, so don’t forget your glue.

The lash bands were moderately stiff so it was relatively easy to work with especially on a moving car (I did my makeup in the car cause we were running late). They held their form pretty well and the fibers were a lot softer than the ones from Daiso.

My only peeve would be, as always, that the lash bands are not transparent and are very visible (Sugar asked if I could compile a list of falsies that had transparent bands and that’s work in progress!) so I couldn’t/can’t get away with sloppy application. You’ll soon see what I mean.

Now, to show how natural these lashes are, I decided to do another ‘Before and After’ sort of thing.

The eye on the left doesn’t have any falsies on and the one on the right does!

I was feeling adventurous so I tried out my Milani Liquif Eyeliner (review coming soon~ ❤).

-winks- we all need a little help sometimes!

Notice how the lashes kind of stick out in single lashes? I normally would hate that but in the images below, I’ll show you a very different side of these lashes.

They add quite a bit of volume at the base, I must say and that’s always a good thing and it’s all about application technique. Check out the image below.

No more single lashes sticking out – these really are pretty lashes and quite frankly, I would be quite happy to use them again.

And now to show you why I won’t do my lashes one eye at a time anymore:

It really is in the placement of the lashes.

-laughing- Needless to say, I redid them later on but damn! Let that be a lesson to me to always do lashes two eyes at a time and on a non-moving platform!

♡♡♡ VOV False Lashes 215 ♡♡♡
✔ Length: 4/10 [Just right for me]
✔ Volume: 5/10 [It’s extremely natural!]
✔ Ease of application: Relatively easy – I would say that anyone could work with this spine but practice practice practice makes perfect.
✔ Reusable? Most definitely – in fact, because they came in their own case with the curved raised bits, it will help keep form. -winks-
✔ Economical? It’s supposedly w2490 WON and that’s about…2.80-3.00SGD? It’s really quite afforable. The problem would probably be importing the product itself because to my knowledge, a lot of online shops sell them for more than twice the price.

A search pulled up this seller on gmart though: http://english.gmarket.co.kr/challenge/neo_goods/goods.asp?goodscode=150101138

Hope this helps, doll! ❤

Verdict:
Would I rebuy? Well, if they’re about the same price as what my friend got them for in Korea then maybe but anything more and… Hmm. I might consider seeing that I don’t usually do super natural looks.

These lashes would be perfect for you if you’re planning to wear them to work though. Just the right amount of oomph.

==================================================

Jae, are these available in Singapore?
^^||| I’m so sorry doll but I really have no idea… I have found a few online sellers but their prices are like 8.90 per box so the mark up is extremely high… Do check out the GMarket link I posted above though!  And if you happen to know of sellers who sell VOV lashes at good prices, do share!

Hmm… What is GMarket?
It’s actually kind of like a Korean version of China’s taobao or even Yahoo Auctions (well, kind of)! It’s a gathering of a lot of individual sellers/wholesalers in one site so when you browse, you’ll be able to cast a wider net and reign in more hits at lower prices.

How do I order from there?
I know the girls from livejournal communities such as _spreee and spreesgalore do sprees from GMarket quite often so you can ride on their orders! 😀

How long does it take to get here?
Hmm… To be entirely honest, I have no idea, dear… ^^||| I haven’t ordered from GMarket before but it would be a good idea to check with the spree organizer!

What is a spree?
A collective order, love! ^^ Some times, sprees are organized to save on shipping charges because they are divided among more girls. Other times, it’s to hit free shipping/get discounts and that’s a win-win situation for everyone!

Hope this helps you dear!

============================================

News from Jae!

That’s right! I’m now on facebook as well! [-nudging Jodie- kept my word! XD]

So if you’re on fb too, add me or drop me a line and I’ll add you~! ❤

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. chai said, on February 5, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    I have to try some fake lashes this year!
    I’ve been staying that for a while now =3 hehe
    I saw these lashes on Gmarket, but I was to lazy to buy them. How regret it TT-TT haha
    Thanks for all the fake lash reviews~!

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:07 am

      HEY CHAI!
      Haha! Yes yes! Try falsies soon!!! They’re so addictive~!
      Ahhh~ Do let me know if you manage to grab any of them off GMarket yeah?! ❤
      You're most welcome darling, -laughing- it's my pleasure!

  2. jodie said, on February 5, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    gooo facebook!! 😀 oh yess you sure did keep your word ovo
    and my sis has vov lashes too! cousin gave it to her but she doesnt wear makeup anyway orzzz wasted~
    i love gmarket! cept im in aus now so… =________________________=|

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:08 am

      WHOOTS!
      HAHA, alamak you, Jodie!
      Ask her to send some to you in Aus? :3 Man, it’s so inconvenient over there…
      Is the weather still bad? :3

  3. Serene said, on February 5, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    u make me want it! I’m into natural lashes!

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:10 am

      SERENE!
      -tempts tempts tempts-
      heheh, buy buy buy, these are really quite pretty!!!

      • serene said, on February 8, 2011 at 12:39 pm

        hard to get them leh,you wanna sell me the other pair that comes with the set? LOLX! =p

      • Jae said, on February 9, 2011 at 8:49 am

        Hey Serene!!!
        Haha, eh eh, got better one~~~ The one from Decorative Eyelash leh… I’ve got lots of spares for that one! :3

  4. Tina said, on February 6, 2011 at 3:35 am

    These are soooo nice! Very natural, i like 🙂
    Hmm, speaking about those livejournal people-do you guys know any other people similar to them but in the U.S?

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:13 am

      Hey Tina!!!
      >_< Unfortunately, I'm not sure about that… But I do suppose that some of the livejournal girls could do international shipping?
      I'll scout around to see if there are any US based GMarket spree-ers in the meantime but I do believe that ordering directly from GMarket might be possible because there is an English translated version of the Korean site so it's would be less complicated to navigate! Hope this helps, dear!

  5. sugar sugar said, on February 6, 2011 at 4:22 am

    I added you on Facebook dear. 🙂

    These seem like good lashes but the lash band is quite thick and I’m quite afraid that I am not that good in applying lashes hahaha! Eyeliner always helps but the ones with clear bands are always a better option..

    Thank you for the special mention, btw! =)

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:15 am

      Hey Sugar!!!!!
      😀 Haha, yup, I caught your request~! You’re so pretty!
      And actually, the lash band is really obvious, yes, so you’re right about clear bands, haha, they really are easier to work with!
      No worries doll~! ❤

  6. j said, on February 6, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    harajuku is like a constant reminder of you. Anyway, the lashes look awesome! Diamond-lash shopping tonight. Not shibuya though. In Shinjuku.

    • Jae said, on February 7, 2011 at 9:16 am

      🙂 Hey J!
      Enjoy yourself there and come home soon! ❤
      Keiko, Kiro and I miss you!

  7. Keita said, on February 8, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Hmm its does look really nicely natural but alittle too natural :X like no effect dont you think? lol~ It looks quite nice though just not enough effects.

    Anyway, I finished buying all the stuff for your package Xp I just need time to pack it up and send you. LOL~~~~ I have to travel to expo these days just for my course that my company send me =.=||||

    • Jae said, on February 8, 2011 at 10:00 am

      KEITA!!!!
      it’s been a while babe! And haha, -nodding- it definitely it extremely natural, i wasn’t very used to it at first either but then I figured, ah what the heck. -laughing- I needed people to recognize me! XD

      And ahhhhh!!!! No problem dear~~~ I was planning on mailing your package out tomorrow 😀 hehe! >_< Oh no.. Expo is so far!!!!

      • Keita said, on February 9, 2011 at 12:06 am

        Yea !!! considering I live at Khatib =.=||| going there is such a chore for me :/

        Hehe. but sometimes I wonder where you got all these false lashes from 0.o very unique lol~~~Well youre right about the packaging it sure is nice though :/

      • Jae said, on February 9, 2011 at 8:51 am

        O.O KHATIB?!
        You poor thing, dearie!!!! And haha, these were from a friend… My other ones are random things I picked up either on my trip to Japan or when I’m out and about roaming around with nothing to do. XD I like to walk into random shops to find things sometimes… And I’m quite the avid online shopper so I’ll buy up a storm pretty much everywhere I go XD

      • Keita said, on February 10, 2011 at 2:03 am

        yea khatib =.=||| thanks for feeling my pain and being understanding T.T

        Yea sometimes shopping in a random shop will lead to surprise findings 😀

        I saw the new tokidoki spring collection in sephora website >.< now keep thinking dont know want to buy or not.

      • Jae said, on February 10, 2011 at 8:24 am

        >_< Aiyo… And haha, no worries dear, when I worked in melbourne last time, there was a period when I had to work a merchant show like, 10 tram stops away from the city. Haha.

        Yesssss Hehe! I love shopping~~~ And ooo… The Sodashop range is it? XD You're so cute, I see your wallet opening already XD

      • Keita said, on February 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm

        yea soda range. Heard the material for this collection of the pouches is better. Wah I cant catch up with ur blog posts le 0.o

      • Jae said, on February 14, 2011 at 11:48 pm

        XD hopefully!
        Haha, why why~~~~ >_<


Leave a Reply

