Jae's Blog

Daiso Daily Cross Type A Lashes [DUP 902] X Select Transparent Cil #10 [DIAMOND LASH 小悪魔EYE] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Daiso, Diamond Lash, DUP by Jae on February 12, 2011

So I promised you I’d be back with a review after my dental appointment and well, I’m late :3 To make it up to you, I’ve made this an I-kid-you-not-this-is-huge super jumbo sized review with two reviews in one to make it worth your wait. -winks-

I’ve found a possible dupe for DUP 902, which is the base of Mizukitty’s look.

That’s right, today, I’m doing reviews on both Daiso Daily Cross Type A Lashes and (also from Daiso) Select Transparent Cil #10!

WARNING: THIS POST IS VERY INTENSIVE AND LONG.

I recently put myself on a mission to find dupes for whatever products I can cause I love a good deal and I found TWO.

You already know that I’m a huge fan of Mizukitty and she’s a big fan of:

DUP 902 小悪魔

and

Diamond Lash 小悪魔eye half lashes

(No, really, those are their real model names, it’s twice the ageha -laughing-)

So I went out and found a product that look relatively similar to DUP 902.

The first one Daiso Daily Cross Type A Lashes is incredibly similar to DUP 902 小悪魔. Check it out.

It’s almost dead on but when I thought they’d be relatively easy to deal with, boy was I wrong. It took me a grand total of four tries over three different days to get the result I wanted.

The spine for these lashes is not transparent and is definitely thick, so any misalignment will show up like a red flag. It’s also just stiff enough so that it will “spring” back to it’s original curvature from out of the tray.

The length of the lash band was good for me and I didn’t have to trim it down to fit my eye length.

The fibers here are relatively stiffer – think Diamond Lash ドーリーeye when straight out of the packet but it’s acceptable.

The design of the lashes is such that there are long bits and then little crosses in between them. I do believe this is to add volume but in this case, most of the illusion will come from the lash band being so black. And yes, it’s got graduated length as well, but I found the starting length a little too long.

The ends of the points taper and this gives a rather spiky look so if you’re like me and do not like to have your lashes too pointy at the ends, do take note.

The length of the lashes was alright but these definitely are not ‘natural’ looking lashes, it will be super obvious that you’re wearing falsies.

JAE’S TIP:
1) When working your eyeliner, make sure that it is a thicker that you would usually have it.
2) Make sure you tightline. These lashes are not forgiving to eyes that have not been tightlined.

Glue removal was great for this one because of how thick the lash band was… I wasn’t worried about it dying at all.

♡♡♡ Daiso Daily Cross Type A Lashes ♡♡♡

✔ Length: 9/10 [They are rather long]
✔ Volume: 5.5/10 [Most of it came from the spine, but it’s volume nonetheless]
✔ Ease of application: 3/10 [It took me many tries, it might take you less though <3]
✔ Reusable? For sure, the spine’s thick!
✔ Economical? Definitely, seeing that they are close to DUP 902.

Verdict:
I might rebuy if I ran out only because Mizukitty uses them but otherwise, I could do without the hassle of them. My Diamond Lash ones work a lot better somehow.

=============================================================================

Inspired by Mizukitty’s look, I decided to try out Select Transparent Cil #10 which I used in place of Diamond Lash’s 小悪魔EYE.

As always, these came with a plastic cover as well (like my one from VOV) so it was quite nice.

This one comes with two pairs in the package – one short and one longer. For this look, I used the longer one.

Notice here that the lash band is transparent and a lot thicker.

The design here is a simple criss-cross, nothing too fancy. 🙂

Once again, I did say that I’m using these in place of Diamond Lash’s 小悪魔EYE because they are DIFFERENT, so please take note of this before purchasing.

Notice the instant volume up and softening of the spiky look at the ends?

I liked this look a lot, honestly and the partial lashes were easy to work with because I used tweezers.

The length of the lashes was just right for my other Daiso pair so I’m not complaining. These are my first criss cross partial lashes as well, so yes, I am pleased with them.

♡♡♡ Select Transparent Cil #10 ♡♡♡

✔ Length: 9/10 [Rather long, but just right for the ones I used]
✔ Volume: 5/10 [Gave instant volume up]
✔ Ease of application: 10/10 [Super easy to deal with]
✔ Reusable? Yup, if they don’t die on me soon, that is.
✔ Economical? Definitely, seeing that there are two pairs.

Verdict:
Would I rebuy? Well, they kind of look similar to any old Model21 lashes that I can cut up, save for the fact that the lash is transparent so I might rebuy but if I can help it, nope.

==============================================================================

Jae, why on earth are you doing so many reviews on Daiso…
^^||| I went to Daiso last week and 10 pairs of lashes fell into my basket :3 I don’t know how they got there… They just… Appeared when I headed to the checkout.

Kidding. It’s cause their lashes are cheap and I’m here to provide you with dupes for lashes that are super ex and can “only be bought in Japan”.

********************** SKIP THIS PART IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ THROUGH A RANT *********************

[RANT]If you read my tweet, you’d know that I recently found sites that jack up prices of Japanese products sky high, making these products seem so out of reach.

I’m fine with people raising the prices up by a little online (I emphasize ONLINE because I understand physical stores have to cover their overheads and everything but that’s a totally different thing altogether so I don’t plan to go there.) , they need to cover the shipping fee and make a profit too but I disapprove of people selling items for too much of a premium (too much to me is more than 50% of the original price in yen. I think I’m being very fair here).[/RANT]

 

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karin said, on February 12, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Jae, I agree with your rant 100%, the prices are always the reason I’m reluctant to buy Japanese/Korean cosmetics online no matter how much I want the stuff >>. Unfortunately for me, the closest Daiso I have in my country is on the east coast or in the Seattle area (I live on the west coast of the US, and in the South, too :/)

    I prefer natural looking lashes over dramatic because of it’s practical usefulness (I go to school on weekdays and I’m stuck at home on weekends), so I guess I’ll stay clear of these then :D. Anyways, I just want to say that I really love your blog ❤

    • Jae said, on February 14, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Hey Karin!!!!
      Yes, the US online shops tend to raise the prices up by a lot more… >__<
      XD Most definitely, perhaps you'd like to try out some of the MODEL21 lashes as well then dear! Those are really affordable and most are extremely natural! 😀
      And haha, babe? You totally just made my day. Thank you so so much for you support!!! ❤

  2. Claire/eclecticsatire said, on February 12, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Which Daiso did you get these lashes from? 🙂

    • Jae said, on February 14, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Hey Claire!
      These were from the one at Plaza Singapura! 😀

  3. kelly said, on February 13, 2011 at 2:35 am

    i got this!! but it looks really weird on me..

    it’s very nice on you though!!
    doesn’t look like daiso lashes!! <33

    • Jae said, on February 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Hey Kelly!
      Welcome to my blog! 😀
      >_< These are really hard to work with right?! I got so irritated with them I wanted to throw them out…
      And thank you very much~ Haha, I know right?! Totally worth the price but damn, the effort required!


Leave a Reply

