Jae's Blog

Dolly Wink Cream Eye Shadow [Nudy Glamorous] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Dolly Wink, Jill Stuart by Jae on February 23, 2011

And so I’ve gone through a few other brands so let’s make a little detour and face one we’re familiar with, DOLLY WINK!

That’s right, I’m reviewing Dolly Wink Cream Eye Shadow [Nudy Glamorous] today~~~!

PS: THANK YOU CUBBY! ❤

Let me first start by saying that I adore the main packaging. It’s so cute because it’s a mini book that you can open up to read Tsubasa’s tips for getting her looks (pictures coming soon~ this girl’s been under the weather a lot recently)

Now, the packaging for the actual product, I’m not so sure about. It’s very slim and is made of plastic so you won’t have to worry about shattering it (quite unlike my Jill Stuart Jelly Eyeshadow).

The casing is rather thick but it is plastic after all so it does feel a tad cheap? I was a little bit disappointed in it but the front of the product looks really cute with the classic polka dots and logo.

Now, it says here that the product was made in Japan, states the product name and has a warning but it doesn’t say how much product is in the case, which is something I’ve always wondered about.

In a snap case, I didn’t have any trouble opening the product at all, which is plus because I hate wrestling with packaging.

Now on to the main product, I have to say that I like it a lot because unlike my Jill Stuart Jelly Eyeshadow, the glitter particles are a lot finer here so I don’t have to worry about overdoing it and looking like a disco ball.

A few things to note though, when using the product, it did feel a little gritty so if you have very sensitive skin, you might want to sample this before buying.

Secondly, it’s a little tacky but it works for me because I use it as an eyeshadow base so if you’re just looking for an eyeshadow, this might be a pass. Oh, but it dries a lot quicker than my Jill Stuart one does.

It made my eye makeup last the whole day which is commendable but do note that my lids are not very oily so I’m not sure how this would work on oily lids.

It gives a nice golden, shimmery sheen that is not very overpowering so I wouldn’t worry too much about it affecting the colour of shadows 🙂

♡♡♡ Dolly Wink Cream Eye Shadow [Nudy Glamorous] ♡♡♡

✔ Product Quality: 9/10 [Tempted to give it more but it’s gritty.]
✔ Staying Power: 10/10 [Pretty darn good stuff]
✔ Scent: 2/10 [I didn’t detect much of a scent :3]
✔ Packaging: 5/10 [It disappointed me to be honest :3]

Verdict:
I like how fine it is and would be happy to switch to this once my Jill Stuart Jelly Eyeshadow runs out but in the meantime, I’m sticking to my Jill Stuart cause that one doesn’t feel like I’m rubbing fine sand on my lids. ^^|||

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Magda said, on February 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    IF it’s gritty I think it deserves a couple less points, but oh well! Too bad, I was curious about those cream shadows, but now I think I’m not getting it. Canmake gel glitter eyeshadows seem to be very similar to those! 😀

    • Jae said, on February 24, 2011 at 11:38 am

      -nodding-
      haha, I’m planning to compare this with one of the Canmake soon darling!
      And by the way, thank you so so much for recommending my site on your blog babe~~!!! ❤

  2. Sylvia said, on February 23, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    This sounds disappointing 😦

    • Jae said, on February 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Hey Sylvia!
      ^^||| Hmm… Well, I personally felt that the packaging definitely was and seeing that we’ve already seen what Jill Stuart can do… XD A little disappointing perhaps?

  3. sugar sugar said, on February 24, 2011 at 4:18 am

    awww this seems like a let down. i know you still have more dolly wink review coming up doll hahaha! i can feel it. x)

    • Jae said, on February 24, 2011 at 11:43 am

      HEY SUGAR!
      -laughing- You must be psychic, love. ❤ hahahahaha.

  4. […] My last review of a product from the range was the cream eyeshadow and I did say that it felt a little gritty on my eyes. Do check out the review HERE. […]

  5. deanda said, on February 20, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    i must get this one! the review looks good…thanks 🙂

    • Jae said, on April 29, 2012 at 2:16 am

      Hey Deanda!
      Glad to have you onboard here at smashedmakeupbag and I’m really happy to hear the review came in handy! 😀


Leave a Reply

