Jae's Blog

Dolly Wink Eye Shadow in Sweet Dolly [Brown] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Dolly Wink, Jill Stuart, Product Launch, Tsubasa Masuwaka, watsons by Jae on March 3, 2011

So you and I both know that Watsons brought the range in and marked it up by round about 6 dollars per palette. -pauses- I shall not comment on that lest I get a letter for libel.

In any case, I promised a review asap about their products so you’ll be able to gauge if you’d like to give their stuff a shot and I’m a girl of my word so I’m back today with a review of the Dolly Wink Eye Shadow in Sweet Dolly by Tsubasa Masuwaka.

Now, the packaging is similar to the one for their cream eyeshadow.

1) It unfolds like a book.
2) It contains tips on using the product from Tsu-chan inside.
3) The “book” is a pain in the behind to open. I half ripped the one from my cream eyeshadow.

The main product packaging has a clear window like a heart revealing the four shade palette inside.

It also has the brand name across the window.

On the casing, there are raised patterns on the black bits and this reminds me of Anna Sui. :3

Once again, no indication of the amount of product in the palette. It does tell us that it’s from Japan though.

The product opens as a ordinary snap-open-closed product would and is super small and light. In fact, it borders on cheap (again).

It comes with a puny sponge applicator that most people who cry foul at using – I used my eyeshadow brush cause I’m going to have to return this palette to cubby after I’m done (-sends love to her-) The applicator is absolutely tiny, I really don’t think I would have used it either way.

The palette comes with four shades, a rather orangey gold, gold, milk chocolate brown and dark chocolate brown. -laughing- Has anyone else described colours like that before?!

The milk chocolate brown one reminds me of MAC’s Tempting and the dark chocolate brown reminds me of MAC’s Buckwheat, with better pigmentation in both cases though.

The colours are complementary and you can’t really go wrong with them seeing that they’re all just neutrals.

The quality of the shadows however, is where this product stands a chance of shining. It’s buttery and has relatively good pigmentation, which I wasn’t very surprised to find.

It took me just one swipe of the pan to get this intensity and that really is something, I really liked that rather than large glitter particles, it had micro shimmers instead so I didn’t have to worry about looking like a disco ball.

In fact, I didn’t experience any fall out at all – this, I was surprised at.

I wore the colours out to USS over my Jill Stuart jelly eyeshadow and they held fast till past 9, but seeing that I was wearing a base, I don’t suppose we could say much for the staying power of the product.

Oh, but without a base, one wipe from my tissue was all it took for the lighter colours to completely disappear.

Over here I used four colours: the dark chocolate brown on my outer corner, the milk chocolate brown for 1/4 of the way, and the orangey gold on my inner corner, blended with the gold. Then I blended everything out. XD

So there you have it!

♡♡♡ Dolly Wink Eye Shadow in Sweet Dolly [Brown] ♡♡♡

✔ Product Quality: 8.5/10 [It dies without a base but has good pigmentation.]
✔ Staying Power: 4/10 [Used it over my jelly eyeshadow, it wouldn’t have been a problem either way but without a  base, poof, the lighter colours would disappear with one wipe.]
✔ Scent: 0/10 [No scent whatsoever]
✔ Packaging: 4.5/10 [I gave a 7 to my Jill Stuart palette and that one had a decent applicator and a mirror.]
Price: Too expensive [If you’re buying it here in Singapore, it’s 32.90 or something like that according readers. In my opinion? So not worth it]

Verdict:
Seeing that I’ve been a Jill Stuart and MAC user for a long time, I have no need for this palette. The colours are ordinary and are close to what I already have.

Check your stash for similar colours and don’t buy into the hype over the product, it’s definitely pricey and you won’t be missing anything with the packaging cause honestly, it feels cheap and looks like an Anna Sui wannabe.

I don’t think I’ve ever slammed a product so hard before but with the price tag on it right now and us not knowing how much product it contains, I’m not sure if it’s really value for money; I’ll leave that to you, babe. ❤

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sugar sugar said, on March 3, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    i always end up buying products you review on you blog jae! LOL! x) it’s not a bad thing though because i am always satisfied with my purchases.

    i wonder how many neutral eyeshadows you own? :p you probably have many.

    this quad is sooooo pretty! must not be tempted! :p

    • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:37 pm

      HEY SUGAR!!!
      So sorry for the late reply doll and hahahaha, thank you so much for reading, girl~~!!!!!

      Omg, neutral shadows… I think I’ve given most of the ones that I don’t use anymore away but I used to have tonnes of them XDDDD
      Ahhhh!!!! And it’s also suuuuuper expensive dear! >_< So not worth it to buy in Singapore, I tell you… T_T

  2. jodie said, on March 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    i can be a rubbish bin. just saying.
    :B

    but oh well! im not surprised its not that good. but well its cute.. 🙂

    • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm

      XD You’re adorable, Jodie.
      And hahaha, it’s okay la… But just so-so if you’ve already got a lot of browns XD

  3. Sylvia said, on March 3, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    You seem so unhappy with the price! 😦

    • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:40 pm

      T_T I just wish that we could all fly to Japan and buy it there, Sylvia babe.
      Damn the fact that the currency exchange is so horrible, I tell you!

  4. Cam said, on March 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks for the mention in the previous post hehe.

    I’m a fan of Tsubasa’s products and have always wanted this so I got it anyway (>.<) Am really liking it so far ^^

    Oh btw there's a shop in Cineleisure which periodically bring Melliesh products, which have the same price range as JL but it's more worth it to get from JL now cuz of the sale! On the other hand, the shop has Melliesh lashes, which JL doesnt have. The shop also brought in Diamond Lash Dark Pink tray recently but the price is a whooping S$26.90!!! (if I was not wrong). *shakes head* Too ridiculous…

    • sherhui said, on March 4, 2011 at 12:55 am

      oh my, JL = john little??
      sorry i barged into the conversation, which shop in john little sells melliesh??
      haha, never see them before, except from that shop in cineleisure.
      XD

      • Cam said, on March 4, 2011 at 4:29 pm

        *nods* Its like an extension by John Little named Stardust which stocks Japanese/ Korean make-up! Its at Level 3 at Plaza Sing and the 20% discount ends on Sunday! 😉 Very worth to get Melliesh from there now! 😉

      • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:47 pm

        Hey babe!!!
        It’s the one at Plaza Sing like Cam mentioned!!! ❤ Haha, they hid the entire range right at the bottom so it might take a little hunting to find the range XD

    • Jae said, on March 6, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Hey Cam!!!
      Haha, only right to credit you yo babe~!

      And XD it’s pretty pigmented so -nodding- yes, I suppose we could say it’s not bad!

      And TOTALLY BABE. SUCH A STEAL! You know, the glosses were 20+sgd after the discount and cause I signed up for the card during the sale, they had that extra coupon discount thing so I saved 6 bucks more. XD So awesome. ❤

      Yikes! 26.90?!?! That's WAY too much. It's only like, 18.00 plus and even after shipping it can't be that bad.

      • sherhui said, on March 6, 2011 at 11:40 pm

        thanks cam and jae for the information! 😀

      • Jae said, on March 7, 2011 at 11:14 am

        😀 You’re most welcome, Sherhui!!!

  5. debbie said, on March 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Hey!

    I bought same color from KL Sasa… Thinking it is safer than the other colors…
    I hvn tried it… price is about 30sgd… which i think is cheap as online and watson sells them at crazy prices… lol… but seriously watson has them too? sheesh i need to start going to watson more… lol..

    but i will be going to taiwan to get them instead… lol… XD

    would you like to hv some lashes from taiwan? lol… i dun mind getting them for you…

    anyway thanks for the review.. if you hv other colors, please review them too.. hopefully before i go taiwan…

    k ciao! 😀

    • Jae said, on March 10, 2011 at 10:46 am

      Hey Debbie!
      Totally right!? But Watsons usually raises the prices up by quite a bit… Sigh… haha, It’ll be SO much cheap in Taiwan dear, remember to check out Jill Stuart kay!!!! ❤
      And eeeeek!!! You're too kind dearie!!!! But ahhhh, I think I've got too many falsies for my own good right now so thank you so so much for the offer~~~ ❤ hehe!

      -nodding- unfortunately, I've only got the brown one at the moment… I'll see if I can find a way to review the others okay dear? 😀
      I really hope you'll enjoy your trip to Taiwan!

  6. Emily said, on March 29, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I bought the other 3 colours… I also find this palette too normal for me to spend $32.90 on it…

    • Jae said, on March 30, 2011 at 11:37 am

      Hey Emily dear!!!
      >_< -nodding- Ah, I thought tsu-chan could have done something more with the colours… T_T

  7. madie said, on May 3, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    i admire your honesty and thorough review of this product. does sound like something alot of makeup fans will already have, but still you went through all the details so well (fine shimmery vs. chunky, packaging infor etc). thanks much. what holds me back in buying this is the hype and the price…..though i’d like to own a neutral e/s palette.

    • Jae said, on May 6, 2011 at 11:53 pm

      Hey Madie!
      😀 Thank you for dropping by! And -nodding- I hear you babe, hmm. A neutral palette… Perhaps you’d like to try KATE instead? 😀
      They’ve got a number of excellent palettes with good pigmentation as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

