Jae's Blog

Dolly Wink Pencil Sharpener [[REVIEW]] [IMAGE INTENSIVE]

Posted in Dolly Wink by Jae on March 13, 2011

No, your eyes are not deceiving you~ I’m back blogging on a SUNDAY and that really is a Dolly Wink Pencil Sharpener you see up there.

-grinning- Ready?! Let’s go!

Now, before we begin, let me just rave about the cute packaging of Tsu-chan.

It’s super simple, just pink, white and black, just so sweet and incredibly cute. XD

Retailing at 420 Yen (roughly 7.00 SGD), this super compact sharpener does what it’s supposed to: Look cute and sharpen your pencils.

The sharpener came in a packet that had double backing and I was very pleased to realize that Tsu-chan put a lot of thought into this. By having a long second panel, it’ll lower the possibility of the sharpener falling out during shipment or when on display.

The main sharpener is a tiny plastic heart that’s got the trademark printed across – it’s simple and adorable and did I already mention tiny? Super portable, I would think.

It’s a nice break from the usual rectangular sharpeners.

The back is plain pink and smooth, nothing special here.

One of the other things that sets this apart is the indication of when to stop.

That’s right, it actually says “STOP Perfect Point” on the sharpener and this has got to be my first time seeing instructions like that printed directly on a sharpener’s body.

-laughing- I’m learning too and think it’s a really sweet touch to the piece.

And there is ample space for the sharpness of the point to fit.

My other sharpeners from Dior and Stage cause my points to become a flat top. My pencil tips always hit the area marked out in the picture below and trust me, it’s got nothing to do with over-sharpening.

Needless to say, when lining my eyes, a flat top would mean my drawn lines are just slightly thicker.

With Dolly Wink, I got a perfect point. Not too long, not too short, definitely sharp and I’m very pleased with that.

Now, I do have to state that this is just me being sensitive about my pencil points.

I understand that some people prefer their lines to be a little thicker and some don’t even like liners but either way, I personally like my pencils to have their points sharpso it’ll make the lines thinner.

Note: Yes, that is the state of my eyeliner right now.

Sharpening was nothing special but a major downside would probably be that the sharpener does not come with a compartment to store the pencil shavings so you’ll have to have a container on hand .

This would probably be a problem if you plan to bring it out, so I would not recommend this for people who are always on-the-go.

Also, because the logo was printed on, it might rub off after a while -grinning- only time will tell!

As far as I know, my eyeliners from Milani and MAC can fit into it but of course, if you’re talking about the NYX Jumbo Pencils, not a chance.

Overall, sharpening wasn’t difficult at all. In fact, it was nothing particularly spectacular but I loved the point indication thing!

Is it worth the money?
In my case, it was a gift (-sends love to cubby-) and I love it for the perfect point it gives me. And yes, the packaging as well XD

Anything you’d want us to take note of?
There is no compartment to catch shavings, so do keep this in mind before you purchase it.

Available in Singapore?
To my knowledge… Not that the time of publication of this post ❤

====================================================

So there you have it darling! 😀 Hehe, a super quick review of the Dolly Wink Sharpener!

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sylvia said, on March 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    CUTE! 😀
    I want one too 😛
    Perfect Point sounds.. original. XD

    • Jae said, on March 14, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      SYLVIA DEAR!
      Hahaha, it sounds a little strange yeah? XDDD
      the way you said the last line’s hilarious, girl. XDDD hahahahahah.

  2. Anna Crystal said, on March 13, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Oh I didn’t know Tsu-chan had her own pencil sharpener as well, I haven’t seen it online yet… and now I want it cuz it’s the cutest sharpener in the world!

    • Jae said, on March 14, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Hey Anna!!!
      Hahaha, pretty awesome huh?! It’s so adorable T_T

  3. sundrenched said, on March 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Hey Jae I’m a sucker for discounts so I bought the avene toner anyway! ;D this sharpener looks so so cute, that I just wanna grab it but I don’t even use pencil eyeliner!

    Btw babe, do you take any collagen powder or drink? I wonder if the popteens or popsister models take them! Oh I flipped through happie nuts and the style is so mature and different from popteen! I like some of their clothes but you really need to be stick thin to pull off their style. They have a lot of models who have full Japanese names but look a bit mixed…

    • Jae said, on March 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Sundrenched!!! ❤
      Hey darling! Hahaha, you're so cute!!!

      And ahhh, I've been meaning to try some but there was an article in The Japan Times Online back in 2009 that said it might not exactly be effective… >__< I'm not sure if they're really mixed.. The only girl I know about is Hiromi and she's actually Filipino… Research time for me!

  4. Jia said, on March 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    ….you’ve gotta be kidding me.

    a pencil-sharpener… REALLY?

    when the whole world is in a somber phase, this is what you think that’s important to you?

    Wow.

    Unbelievable.

    • Jae said, on March 15, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      Hello Jia!
      Firstly, thank you for dropping by my blog!

      I do believe you’re referring to me not mentioning the Japanese earthquake in my post? 🙂

      The quake victims do matter to me, love, and I’ve been collecting information on ways to help rather than reporting on the event that’s everywhere on the news right now 😉 We all know what’s happening in Japan thanks to the media and the flood of tweets and my personal aim is to try to find ways we can help yeah?

      Speaking of which, we’ve been collecting donations and will be sending everything off to Mercyrelief at the #GJSin (do save their hashtag search!) event at Haji Lane this Thursday at 6PM and I’s like to encourage you to do the same if you’re with us here in Singapore! Here’s the link to their facebook page and tweet me if you plan on going too yeah!

      If you won’t be able to join us, do head down to the site I mentioned on twitter on Sunday Mercycorps – up to 88% of their received donations and resources have gone out towards their projects however, their dealing currency is USD so heads up! 😀

      Do donate generously to the cause, I sincerely hope to see you on Thursday with us and thanks again for swinging by! ^^

  5. faye lu said, on March 15, 2011 at 6:11 am

    ooohhhh i haven’t seen this before. it’s too cute!! everything DW makes is so darn cute. thanks for sharing xo

    • Jae said, on March 15, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      Hey Faye!!!!
      😀 I’m really glad you like it~! ❤

  6. jodie said, on March 16, 2011 at 7:51 am

    OMGHAHAHAHA YOUR EYELINER HAHAHAHAHA xD
    gahhh want want want
    not rly the sharpener that much lah, i am a poor kid who actually used the oxford school one to sharpen LOLOLOLOLOL
    but arghhh the brown eyeliner!! always sold out!! must get hands on itttt

    • Jae said, on March 16, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      JODIE!
      HAHAHAHA. I KNOW RIGHT. I REFUSE to throw it away because it’s still got some left la! OMG, I sound so cheapskate. hahahah
      And XD AIYO! eh eh, the stage pencil sharpener is pretty good leh… 5-6 bucks sing. come back and get kay ❤

      THE LINER ROCKS. I swear, it's the one thing that hasn't changed in my routine since I started using it. I've changed mascara, changed contact lenses, change hair colour, change change change but this one never change. XD

  7. Jia said, on March 16, 2011 at 10:14 am

    No no, you completely got me wrong. whether you mention about the earthquakes in your blog is completely your prerogative, I don’t demand contents from people.

    It’s the matter of reviewing a pencil-sharpener. A PENCIL-SHARPENER!

    Of all things out there.

    But again, it’s your prerogative, so go wild.

    • Jae said, on March 16, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      -laughing- cheers, love.

    • blanknegatives said, on March 16, 2011 at 2:52 pm

      It’s her blog, she posts what she wants, Not happy? Leave.

      • Jia said, on March 17, 2011 at 6:00 pm

        no, I’ll comment, and then leave. Not happy? Leave.

      • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:40 am

        Hey Jia,
        🙂 I do respect your opinions, but this is meant to be a positive space for everyone yeah?
        Thank you for coming by once again! 🙂

  8. sk said, on March 17, 2011 at 12:17 am

    hey,
    im just curious but where do you buy all this products & magazines.
    i dont usually see them sold often around singapore O:
    maybe im not looking hard enough XD

    • Jae said, on March 17, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      Hey sk!
      Some of my products are actually only available in Japan… ^^||| Haha, and some of them are hard to find even in Singapore. XDDD
      Canmake and Dolly Wink are both at Watsons and the rest.. Well, my friends usually buy them for me when they travel ^^|||
      The magazines are mostly from Kinokuniya at Ngee Ann City and Bugis though! 😀

      Hope this helps dear!!!

  9. […] other sharpeners smashedmakeupbag.com […]


Leave a Reply

