Jae's Blog

Melliesh Lip Gloss ベイビードール 02 [Baby Pink] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in MELLIESH by Jae on March 17, 2011

And I’m back with a review today but not before reminding you that there’ll be an event today at BluJaz Cafe at Bali Lane from 6PM to 1AM in support of the Japan quake victims!

I’ll probably hit the place past 10 and be in and out to donate cause I’ve got another appointment but I’ll tweet pictures when I get there.

Alrighty, now to the review you’re here for, I’m talking about one of the top ranked glosses for 2010 today: Melliesh Lip Gloss ベイビードール 02 !

So I got this during John Little’s 20% sale a couple of weeks back and trust me, nothing gets better than getting Japanese products at a sale. (And this means yes, you can officially get the full range of Melliesh products in Singapore! It’s great that they actually heard about the range! Looks like our retailers are finally catching on.)

The retail price of the gloss is 25.90 SGD but I paid a grand total of 18.40 SGD for this cause I had an extra 6 SGD coupon from spending more than 80 SGD.

Just cause I can, I’m going to go through all the parts of the gloss all over again cause my last Melliesh gloss review was a long time ago.

Melliesh is a makeup line created by Yui Kanno (my favourite model of all time) and includes false lashes, glosses, blushes, eyelid tape, (a) brush and eyeliner.

So far, I’ve only tried the false lashes, glosses and blushes. ❤

Each tube is made in Japan and comes with 5g of product.

Notice that the barrel is pretty much equivalent to the length of the handle, this makes for increased control when applying the product.

The applicator is a doe-foot… Umm… Kind of cloth-ish material that isn’t too ticklish when running across the lip. It’s relatively shorter than the other applicators I’m used to but deposits a good amount of product with every swipe so it definitely works for me.

All Melliesh glosses are relatively sticky, making for pretty good wear time, it also does a good job of concealing our lip’s natural colour.

In this case, 02 appears to be a rather dark pink in the tube and when swatched but check this out

On the lips, it’s a super sweet light pink. I found that really strange at first but hey, I can definitely live with that!

It’s an incredibly sweet colour that’s perfect for the days you need light lips. And yes, it’s one of my favourite colours right now and when I stood next to my window for a shot:

Baby pink lips.

Points to note though:
1) If and only if you are fussy (like me), this settles into lip lines, -pointing at the image before- but it’s not very noticeable from afar, so top it off with some shimmery clear gloss and you’ll be good to go.

2) This is not a shimmery gloss. It’s shiny, but not shimmery so if you like shimmer, you could put some on top when you’re done applying this.

3) If you suffer from dry lips (like me), try petroleum jelly the night before applying this, don’t bother using PJ right before because it’ll just gunk up.

4) It’ll catch on dead skin, so exfoliate!

I think it’s 100% on my rebuy list right now. I might run out later for another tube. Or two. :3

Hope this review helped you darling! ❤

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sephiria said, on March 17, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    oo! this is a gorgeous gloss =D

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:35 am

      Hey Sephiria!!!
      I’m really glad you like it too!

  2. Sylvia said, on March 17, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I wonder how you manage the perfect pictures of your lips… XD

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

      SYLVIAAAAAAAAAA~~~~
      Hahahahah, not perfect laaaaa but XDDDD it’s lots of tries and lots of luck. HAHAHAHA.

  3. bones said, on March 17, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    zomggggg!!!!!!!!

    ok, i’m so gonna try her glosses now.
    esp after seeing how positively CUTE this baby pink is! XD

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

      BONES!
      Go go go go!
      And try her blushes out while you’re at it doll! 😀
      WOO~! GO YUI!

      • bones said, on March 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

        *touches jae forehead*
        babe, u ok? >_< hahahahaha!

        from you and magazines, i know her blushers have got good reviews coz it's really pigmented.
        but bit expensive la.. LOL! i'll stick to canmake XD

        BUT i'll give her lashes a try though (:
        coz it's so natural, good for days when you want to look a little more presentable without looking OTT.
        *big grins* YUI YUI LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!

      • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:36 pm

        XDDD -nodding- well, canmake’s definitely fab for its price!!!

        And hahaha, definitely, got to love her lower lashes as well…

        YUI ROCKS ROCKS ROCKS!

  4. Magda said, on March 17, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Looks perfect 🙂

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:38 am

      HEY MAGDA!!!
      Hehe, thank you dearie!!!!!

  5. Eunice said, on March 17, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    OMG! Thanks so much for this review. After reading your review, I am sorely tempted to buy this lip gloss. Btw, is John Little still selling it and which branch did you get it from? Thanks so much ^^

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Hey Eunice!!!
      No worries darling~! So sorry for the late reply T_T
      Yes, Plaza Singapura’s branch of John Little is still selling this~! Do head down soon to grab it okay?! 😀

  6. Claudia U said, on March 18, 2011 at 12:30 am

    How do you exfoliate your lips? I have tried several methods like, using toothbrush to brush your lips and olive oil + sugar, then swipe it on the lips. Kind of ridiculous though … none of them worked ==

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Hey Claudia!
      Well I usually use the wet toothbrush method the night before and then moisturize right after that with petroleum jelly so that everything gets locked in…
      This method’s the only one’s that’s worked for me so far T_T

      Some girls have recommended Philosophy’s Lip Scrub though… (And temptalia’s Christine uses that as well…)
      Would you like to give that a shot? 😀 Hope this helps, dear!

  7. sundrenched said, on March 18, 2011 at 2:16 am

    Just read through a few websites. I found out that tsubasa almost definitely did surgery before, yui might have done it too (or maybe it was puberty and weight-loss…) and kumicky talks openly on her blog about getting BOTOX!

    Illusion shattered 😦 but they are still so pretty to me!

    • Rina said, on March 20, 2011 at 6:46 pm

      sundreneched, get a grip. welcome to the japanese society where getting plastic surgery is as common as getting braces for your teeth and coloring your hair. so it is right to fix your teeth but wrong to fix your nose? flip through any fashion magazine, inlcuding Popteen, and there are tons of plastic surgery ads. this is THE REAL japanese society. what illusion are you talking about?

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:51 am

      Hey Sundrenched!!!
      Haha… Yeah.. Well, Tsu-chan actually had surgery done on her nose… I do believe that Yui did on her nose as well… ^^|||
      -laughing- Well, I suppose we all need a little help sometimes yeah? T_T Some girls find it in the non-surgical methods and others prefer the plastic surgery route… I do know that a lot of other artistes have had surgery done before but well, haha, it all boils down to personal choice, I suppose…

      >_< Don't shoot me but I think Tsu-chan is just drop dead beautiful now…

      -hugs- Haha, I totally agree that they're still gorgeous girls, babe!!! Hehe, let's continue to support them~!!!!!!

      • sundrenched said, on March 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm

        Hmmm I supposed I just believed in the power of makeup, weightloss and good natural features? ;P at least it wasn’t like a huge transformation like that Korean 200 pound beauty movie, now that is a crazy dedication to beauty! I suppose braces don’t really count to me because a) it’s common b) it’s not noticeable unless you stare at someone’s mouth like you’re gonna kiss them c) it doesn’t really change much (in my opinion and I did have braces) but I suppose reason a) is interesting to think about. Like will our society ever become like brazil where plastic surgery is openly admitted and talked about! Maybe I’m just slightly envious since I have a relatively big head face Ang no plastic surgery is going to fix that! *laughs*

        I agree that Tsubasa is soooooo pretty and Yui is so sweet! I don’t really know how tsubasa does it, like she looks good in almost every photo, except her promo pic for dollywink eyeshadow cream. Yes I took the promotion pamphlet from watsons and yes I am a stalker 😀

      • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:41 pm

        -nodding- Actually, we all need a good base to begin with so you’re right about weight loss and natural features, love…
        And mmmm… I’ve heard quite a bit about that Korean show… I think I should really go catch it soon… Love the theme song though! 😀
        Haha, I suppose for some people, it’s a… Rather embarrassing or even shameful topic though, really, I feel that so long as it genuinely makes them happier, it’s fine. I mean.. Yes, we should embrace our natural beauty but… If it’s making people miserable then why not do something about it. 🙂

        And yes!!! T_T Well, haha, I’ll justify her gorgeousness with one statement. It’s Tsu-chan. HAHAHAHA.
        She’s just awesome like that… T_T And we all have a long long way to go… T_T

  8. faye lu said, on March 18, 2011 at 5:40 am

    fantastic review!!! i recently picked up a couple of melliesh glosses. swatched on the hands i found that the color was very vibrant and pigmented but on the lips quite sheer. mind you my natural lips are a little taned than i would like. nevertheless, this color looks gorgeous on you!!! x

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Hey Faye!!!!
      Thank you so much dearie!
      And oh dear… Hmm… Maybe a lip concealer, babe? 😀

      And thank you so much love!!!!!!!! Hehehe!

  9. sundrenched said, on March 18, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Btw Jae, John little is having at 20% sale till 20 march according to John little! *twirls* *stares at bank account and cries*

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:53 am

      OMG
      SUNDRENCHED, I MISSED THE SALE!!! ARGHHHHH!!!!!!
      Did you get anything did you get anything?!?!?! OMG I MISSED IT! NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

      • sundrenched said, on March 21, 2011 at 2:17 pm

        I got 2 blushes! Number 3 and the highlighting one! I don’t like too much shimmer on my face so I went with melliesh instead of canmake!

        Sign up for great deal sgp, they email you when there are deals on… which just make me spend more money ;(

      • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:37 pm

        Sundrenched!!!
        Oh you lucky girl!!! Thanks for the tip babe!!!

  10. Sylvia said, on March 18, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Ok I couldnt wait 😀
    Did you see the new Melliesh range?!?!?!
    Ah yayayayaya so cute 😀
    http://shop.galspop.jp/shop/c/c10000026/
    !!!! 😀

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:54 am

      SYLVIA!
      I know right?!?!?! I’m going to post scans from POPSISTER tomorrow too, they’ve got a few more pictures of the upcoming stuff too!!!!
      Hang in there kay!!!! ❤

      -sending hugs and cookies and chocolates-

      • Sylvia said, on March 21, 2011 at 11:10 pm

        Are you going to buy them? XD *broke.. BROKE!*

      • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:53 pm

        SYLVIA DEAR!!!
        T_T I wish I could darling but my wallet’s literally BLEEDING now!!! T_T
        Money money, why can’t you drop from the sky…

  11. jodie said, on March 19, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    Y SO PRETTYYYYY

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:57 am

      JODIE BABY!
      Hahahahahah, EH, I GOT NEW NICKNAME FOR YOU AND IT RHYMES!!!
      Haha, it’s nice right!? T_T I want another tube now…

      • jodie said, on March 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

        LOL!!! then you can be like… jaejae LOLOLOLOL reminds me of jackjack
        BABY JACKJACK
        ok nvm random LOL!
        kekeke well you can UMMMM UMM UMM- well idk
        ToT
        pray that you can fly to jp tomorrow.

      • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:47 pm

        HAHAHAHAHAHA!
        JAEJAE?! Okay, that sounds cute luh.
        I wish I could too babe… Man… Sigh, if only if only.

  12. Sze Min said, on March 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    this gloss is soooo gorgeous! now i have to go buy it to try it out. 😦

    • Jae said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:59 am

      SZE MIN!!!
      XDDD Did you manage to get a tube babe?!?!?!?

  13. debi said, on March 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

    >_< this makes me want to go to john little soon!

    • Jae said, on March 23, 2011 at 9:35 am

      Hey debi!!!
      Oh do head down soon yeah!!! 😀
      Hehe, tell me if you grab anything!!!

  14. Huijuan said, on March 22, 2011 at 11:04 am

    omg, i’m going to go john little soon! isit available in all john llittle branches?

    • Jae said, on March 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm

      Hey Huijuan!!!
      I’m not sure if it’s at all john little branches but I do know that it’s available at Plaza Sing! 😀 Hope this helps!

      • Huijuan said, on March 23, 2011 at 5:56 pm

        Melliesh is oso avail. at jurong point’s JL ! i just bought a lipgloss there hahaa

      • Jae said, on March 24, 2011 at 1:07 pm

        😀 Thanks for the heads up babe!!!

  15. jodie said, on March 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    OK JAEJAE FROM NOW ON U ARE JAEJAE!!!!!

    • Jae said, on March 30, 2011 at 11:39 am

      JODIE!!!
      HAHAHAHA! HEY JODIE BABY!


Leave a Reply

