Jae's Blog

NARS Blush in Angelika [Featured in EGG BEAUTY] [[REVIEW]]

Posted in MAC, MELLIESH, NARS by Jae on April 2, 2011

So we’ve all been reading EGG Beauty religiously and the latest issue contained pages featuring one of my favourite models, Kanako and makeup tips from her.

One of the products that she used in her makeup tutorial was a NARS product.

So just for you, today’s all about NARS Angelika!

ALSO IN TODAY’S POST:
Comparison between NARS, Melliesh and MAC

That’s right, if you’d refer to the bottom left hand corner of the page you’d find a piece of NARS Angelika!

She mixed it with another NARS blush that reads 4003n but when I went to the NARS website, I couldn’t find a 4003… In fact, there wasn’t a 4003 at all.

It looks like Orgasm from here but I can’t be too sure so if you know which blush NARS 4003N is, drop me a line! ❤

So my piece came in the classic NARS box, complete with the sticker stating the name of the blush plus the code.

Every NARS blush comes in a snap open-close packaging that is matt and slightly rubbery. This extra traction is great for clumsy people like me but some girls have complained about the casing becoming sticky after a while.

I’ve got another NARS blush (Orgasm) that I have been using for well over a year but have yet to experience a sticky case though I would put that down to the fact that:
1) I always use it with dry hands
2) It’s only been a year +
3) The compact gets knocked around my bag with my loose powder a lot

The blush comes with a plastic insert with the brand name printed on it.
*The S is actually solid but the reflection makes it look like a dotted line instead 🙂

Note that there are fakes out there and the fakes:
1) May not come with a plastic insert
2) May come with a plastic insert without the brand name printed
3) May come with the brand name stamped directly on the blush

Frankly, my best advice for avoiding fakes is to only buy direct from retailers such as Sephora.com and Beauty.com – just avoid eBay as much as you can.

The blush looks really intimidating in the pan and rightly so because it is very pigmented.

The swatch below was after just one swipe of the pan.

Notice how there are little sparkles; the blush is matt save for the glitter bits so if you don’t like very distinct glitter particles, you might want to swatch before you buy.

Oh, but the glitter particles will all drop off after a while so -laughing- it wouldn’t be much of a problem after a while, I think.

I personally feel that it’s a slightly more matured pink that would be perfect for days you want a strong cheek colour.

And now comes the part you’re been waiting for, the comparison between my other blushes.

The difference is so obvious, it’s impossible to mistake. From left to right, Melliesh is the sweetest and frostiest pink out of the trio, followed by NARS Angelika which actually is a deep bubblegum pink and finally, Tippy which actually leans purple.

But wait, the swatches above are only to show the difference between the colours, I understand that NARS Angelika might appear rather peachy in that picture but it’s actually a deeper pink as shown in the individual swatch yeah?

So there you have it, NARS Angelika. It’s a unique addition to my collection but I’ve heard of dupes from NYX for this. I haven’t got anything with me right now that would come anywhere close though, so I’m pleased.

One final note, it definitely is possible to overdo this blush, so use a light hand. 🙂 Hope this helped!

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. berries said, on April 2, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Aha! Angelika has been on my wishlist for a while :3
    And I found out that the 4003 blush is called Ninotchka, but I think it’s been discontinued for a while now. *sniff
    The Melliesh one is really cute, lol now I really want to go and try out Yui’s makeup, too bad they don’t sell any here ):

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:44 am

      OMG, you SO NEED ONE BABE!
      T_T How about buying online bb? I think one of the shops labellepiece ships international? >_<

  2. Claudia U said, on April 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Hey just wondering, previously you bought a few NYX lipstick right? Which website did you buy?

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Hey Claudia!
      Mine were from cherryculture! 😀

  3. Anna Crystal said, on April 2, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Oh what a classy pink, really adorable!

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Hey Anna!!!
      Hahha, indeed it is! I’m really liking it!

  4. sundrenched said, on April 2, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Ahhh NARS! Another not-in-Singapore brand 😦 can you believe it, just as I was getting into makeup, I decided to explore sephora at ion and their Mac and benefit counters are so limited! Like I can’t find quite a few paint pots that I saw on YouTube and the benefit counter didn’t even have the purple eyeshadow/liners that I love. All they had was the more neutral colours. *pouts* plus the markup is so high…

    Btw Jae, I’m heading to HK later this month. Any must get items from there? Is there a good place to get Japanese makeup stuff? I’ll definitely pay the nars counter a visit 😀

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:41 am

      SUNDRENCHED!
      Hahaha, T_T YOU HAVE TO CHECK OUT JILL STUART MY DEAR! I hope this message catches you in time, love!!!
      And if you’re into masking, the My Beauty Diary masks are heck loads cheaper there than here so stock up if you can yeah?!

  5. berries said, on April 2, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    hey this blush has been on my wishlist for awhile!
    I found out that the 4003 blush is called Ninotchka. it’s been discontinued for awhile.
    Japan MAC also has a lot of different shades of lipstick. So I suppose its just in Japan now? I’d really love to get some of the lipstick they use in popteen and popsister, but I can’t seem to find them on the US MAC website T_T Should have gotten some when I was in japan D:

    Thanks for the swatching ❤ ^_^

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Hey berries!!!!
      T_T Meh!!! I wish we lived there! T_T

  6. sugar sugar said, on April 3, 2011 at 2:51 am

    very pretty! i need to check this blush out. =)

    • Jae said, on April 7, 2011 at 10:40 am

      SUGAR!!!
      Heheh, I’m really glad you like the blush too~~!


Leave a Reply

