Jae's Blog

EYEMAZING Cosmeline Cheek Color in Shell Pink [[REVIEW]]

Posted in Candy Doll, EYEMAZING, MELLIESH by Jae on April 7, 2011

I’m so sorry I was away for so long, my pretties, this girl was down with food poisoning (I love Twitter and I hate seafood chowder) and couldn’t quite move around at all till yesterday.

So i figured okay, have to make it worth you wait and I do believe this review is -grinning-

We’ve heard a lot about Jun’s false lashes line but she’s also come up with a makeup line – a spin-off from her original EYEMAZING lashes.

Today will be about EYEMAZING Cosmeline Cheek Color in Shell Pink!

So when I first got my hands on this product (shoutout going out to bestie, cubby, for this), I felt the packaging looked wastefully like takeout food because the pan is absolutely tiny.

With only 3g of product and a retail price of 1260 Yen (about 19 SGD), I felt a little ripped off but then I remembered my Candy Doll blushes and not even knowing how much product’s in there.

The tab box opens up…

To reveal the pan within.

I’m not going to lie. I am not a fan of the packaging at all – the exterior packaging is too much and the actual pan is just lackluster so in terms of packaging, Diamond Blush does better. The pan is light though, so it’s easy to tote around.

To me, it border on feeling cheap but this is really up to individual taste.

It comes in our ordinary snap open-close casing but the top is not very round so it might make for some space saving options (stacking not one of them because it’s still slightly curved)

Now for swatches.

In terms of pigmentation, it’s comparable to Candy Doll’s highlighters; decent but only as a highlighter.

Surprisingly, it’s not at all chalky on my skin. I’m actually very happy with texture of the product, it’s very smooth and silky.

I didn’t spot any huge chunk of glitter but it does have a pearly sheen that I love, so if you like having frosty cheeks, this works.

It’s definitely a cool-toned blush with a slight bluish tinge to it..

And I also appreciate that it’s a unique colour within my stash.

From left to right, Melliesh 02, Melliesh 06, EYEMAZING Shell Pink and Candy Doll Peach Pink.

These are my highlighters in my stash and none of them come close.

I originally thought that it would be close to Candy Doll but Candy Doll’s a true peach so it’s definitely out.

Notice how Melliesh 02 is a true pink, Melliesh 06 is slightly purple, EYEMAZING Shell Pink is a blue tinged pink and Candy Doll is a peachy pink.

So there we have it! My new addition to my collection and a very pretty pink indeed. I have no complaints about the actual product except for maybe, the amount that came in the pan but I just wish that Jun had done something more with the actual pan like Tsu-chan did with Candy Doll. Hmm.

Hope this review was helpful, dear! 😀

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Emily said, on April 7, 2011 at 11:53 am

    I still like Melliesh 02 better… 🙂

    • Jae said, on April 11, 2011 at 11:43 am

      Hey dearie!
      So sorry for the late reply and hahaha, yupppp. I do think that Jun was aiming for a different direction but mmm… I’m not sure if I’ll reach for this very often…

  2. Rei said, on April 7, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Hmm i’d like to ask your opinion on how japanese make and facial products would be affected by the radiation? Like if its still safe to buy or if there are certain brands to avoid..? It’s a little worrying! Haha thanks 🙂

    • Jae said, on April 11, 2011 at 11:45 am

      Hey Rei!
      Unfortunately, I’m not very sure what measures the makeup production companies are taking at the moment but the Japanese government has claimed that products that are landmade should be exempt from contamination… I can’t really be absolutely sure about this though.. So sorry I can’t be of much help in this aspect.. >_<

      I do know that I'll continue to purchase Japanese makeup though! ^^ From what I have heard, levels have been low enough to not cause trouble for 300 years. 😀 Hope this helps!

  3. sundrenched said, on April 7, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Hey Jae, food poisoning sucks ;( you should totally complain to MOH about the place that served you clam chowder! That place is probably like a minefield for customers! Take care and rest well!

    Thanks for the advice, I’m totally gonna hunt down Jill Stuart stuff though their stuff are so pricey ;( any recommendation? Hahaha I’m totally into skincare so definitely getting some masks from there 😀

    • Jae said, on April 11, 2011 at 11:47 am

      Hey Sundrenched!!!
      You’re most welcome! 😀 And hmm… I actually really like their eyeshadow palette and have hit the pan on it XD I think it’s Golden Brocade that I’m currently using!
      And yes, their jelly eyeshadow in gold is absolutely lovely if you like glitter 😀

      No worries dearie!!! I really hope you’ll enjoy your trip there!!!

  4. sugar sugar said, on April 8, 2011 at 12:10 am

    IMY jae. i agree with you on the packaging… =/ it doesn’t look very appealing. 😦

    • Jae said, on April 11, 2011 at 11:49 am

      -hugs- hey sugarrrrr…
      Missed youuuu tooooo!!!
      And haha, yup. It’s total overkill, really!!!

  5. jodie said, on April 9, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Yup.. the pan is not all that pretty..
    And I don’t really like the colour 😦
    But that’s personal preference la! Not bad I guess 😛
    And whee my friend gave me this silver fairy drop mascara today owo

    • Jae said, on April 11, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      HEY JODIEEEE!!!
      Eh eh eh, how’s the mascara?!

  6. Sylvia said, on April 9, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Yeahhhh! It does look cheap.. :O Candydoll is just so much more appealing. XD And, are you getting the Candydoll base makeup line? 😀

    Posted from my iPhone.


Leave a Reply

