Jae's Blog

Sunplay SPF80 PA++ UV Body Mist Sunblock [[REVIEW]]

Posted in sunplay, the sample store by Jae on April 13, 2011

So this claims to be the No. 1 sunscreen in Japan and according to the their press release, Hong Kong too.

This will be a super content heavy post!

Today’s all about Sunplay SPF80 PA++ UV Body Mist Sunblock!

*** Product in this post were sponsored by THE SAMPLE STORE but does not affect the integrity of the review. Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions :) ***

I’m first going to cover a bit about sun protection in general.

When we go into the sun, we are exposed to two rays: UVA and UVB.

  • UVA:
    Penetrates deeper through pretty much anything and everything (yes, even if you’re in a building) into the skin and is responsible for all the nasty skin damage like tanning, aging and such. So when you hit the tanning salons, it’s hello UVA. Might wanna think twice about that next booking now, hey?
  • UVB:
    Responsible for your sun burns. So tyour skin flaking and the peeling is the work of UVB.
  • BOTH can be responsible for skin cancer.

When we talk about SPF, it’s actually protection we receive from UVB rays.

SPF… The higher the better?
Some are under the impression that the higher the SPF, the higher the protection and this is well, true. But the difference between, let’s say, an SPF 30 and SPF 50 is a 1% increase in UVB spectrum protection.

According to WebMD, SPF 45 offers protection against 98% of rays but I suppose higher would be better because we’re talking about long term damage here.

And oh, SPF is not an indication of how long you can stay out in the sun. So just because you applied sunscreen, it doesn’t mean you’re good to go the whole day.

================================================

So what about UVA protection?!
According to the US Skin Cancer Foundation, we should look for high SPF “plus some combination of the following UVA-screening ingredients: stabilized a avobenzone, ecamsule (a.k.a. Mexoryl™), oxybenzone, titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide“. And Helioplex, I gathered.

Additionally, keep your eyes peeled for PA+++ sunscreens.

This rating of PA+, PA++ and PA+++ is the Japanese system of indicating how much protection you have against UVA.

According to SUN1:

  • PA+: some UVA protective effect. PPD 2-4
  • PA++: moderate UVA protective effect. PPD 4-8
  • PA+++: good UVA protective effect. PPD 8+ [Nora80]

So there you have it, now on to the product. 🙂

===============================================

What we have here is an SPF80, PA++ product in a lightweight metal can that, at a little under 16 cm in height, is really portable and not to mention, cute.

I love what appears to be a leopard on the front of the can – it’s just adorable.

The product comes in a spray can that releases the product in short and rather shocking cold bursts but hey, the spray is touted to give a “cooling sensation”. But yes, brace yourself before pressing that nozzle cause the primary ingredient in this spray is alcohol. 🙂

The nozzle itself is easy to work with and since the canister is rather slim, I had a good grip around it.

I can’t quite place the scent of the product but it’s somewhere between hairspray and my epilating cream and is relatively bearableAfter a while, smells metallic, like your typical epilating cream (i’m not a fan).

love how it doesn’t require me to use my hands but hate the fact that I don’t know if my skin is adequately covered with the mist for maximum protection cause the product is clear so I end up spraying on a lot more.

Oh, they state on the can that it’s safe for use on the face but I didn’t try that bit out cause I prefer to use low-no alcohol content products on my face 🙂

And yes, careful with that spray because the residue that falls to the ground makes the floor slippery.

About it not being an oil slick? Definitely, but I’m a little more sensitive so I did feel that it was a touch oily, but nothing bearable. I’m going to put that down to my blasting a lot of product on my skin though.

It’s an alright product in terms of feel but since it’s sun damage that we’re talking about and the damage is often not detectable till very much later, I cannot attest to the effectiveness of the product.

Oh yes, and for those who are interested in the ingredients list for Sunplay SPF80 PA++ UV Body Mist Sunblock, here it is!

There you go! All about the body mist version!

I’ll be back again soon with a review of the liquid form so hang in there my dears!

And oh, if you’re interested in picking up a sample to try out, head on down to their facebook page HERE to grab one!

*** Products in this post were sponsored by THE SAMPLE STORE but does not affect the integrity of the review. Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions :) ***

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sugar sugar said, on April 13, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    i have their liquid sunblock but haven’t gotten around to using it. =) i’m curious about this mist hmm… i don’t think i’ve seen it around in my country yet.

    • Jae said, on April 15, 2011 at 7:30 am

      Hey SUGARRRR!
      XD I hope they put testers out for you to try it out!!! >_< The smell of the mist is really quite bizarre…

  2. Naomi said, on April 13, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I’ve seen a lot of sponsered posts about Sunplay but yours was the best- honest and more informative 🙂
    Thankyou~ Im actually gonna buy this next time I see it!

    • Jae said, on April 15, 2011 at 8:19 am

      Hey Naomi!
      Thank you so much for dropping by and I’m really glad you found this post useful! 😀

  3. […] I reviewed the spray mist version the other time and this time, I’m back with a review on the liquid […]

  4. […] I don’t get the SPF thing… Is there a difference? There certainly is! Swing by THIS post for a little more info on SPF and the works, […]


Leave a Reply

